We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Timeshare.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Channel Island Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Timeshare.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My fiance and I own a timeshare at Channel Island Shores and we use it at least once a year. We are very happy with the overall experience! There have been some small issues in the past such as Wi-fi Internet access being spotty and this most recent time one of the office helpers seemed to have lost record of our reservation, so that really frustrated us.

Other than that, the timeshare facilities, location, and upkeep are pretty high scoring.

Facilities: For the actual staying quarters, all kitchen and bathroom essentials are included (minus toothbrush and food-bring your own). From cookware to dishsoap/dishwasher soap, to handsoap to shampoo/conditioner in the shower, hair dryer, you most likely will have what you need for the duration of the stay. Need to wash laundry? There is a clothes washer and dryer provided as well (but no laundry detergent). All furniture is in good shape and is comfy. The main TV is still the old fashioned style (not flat screen), but who cares? You should be doing stuff outdoors anyway ;P

I love that there are 1.25 bathrooms! (one with bath/shower/toilet/sink and the other just with toilet/sink)

In the master bedroom (connected to full bathroom) there is a flat screen TV which is nice. Usually plenty of drawer space as well. Some of the rooms even come with a window nook area (my favorite). The secondary bedroom or sometimes just a den area is not accompanied by a TV unfortunately (but again, not important).

In addition, a jacuzzi is almost always provided and this provides very nice relaxation. A BBQ is also available.

Location: Located one block from the beach... you can hear the waves from your window! Perfect non-tourist trap location! It is also right down the street from the Marina where a lot of recreational activities can be found like kayaking, boating, etc. Food places galore and so much to do!

Upkeep: Since the resort has become more "eco-friendly" housekeeping is now limited, but if you place the towel basket outside, they will always tend to it without having to interfere with your "home for the week/weekend". I like this less intrusive style!

Extras: The main office has a list of on-site events and ideas of what to do around the area. They also provide reading materials, movies, games, beach chairs/boogie boards and free coffee, hot chocolate, and popcorn. If you really wanted to stay there and not venture out, you probably could and be perfectly content!

The last time we went (in Nov 2013), it seemed the internet issue was resolved, so hopefully no more issues with that (especially for those who bring work with them). Overall, really really awesome resort/timeshare. I would recommend it to people of all ages/families/etc.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hi Felicia D.,
Thank you for reviewing Channel Island Shores. We're thrilled to learn of you and your fiancé's recent trip to our property. It's so wonderful to know that you continue to enjoy your visits. We appreciate your detailed review, as we're sure many of our future guests will enjoy as well. We appreciate your constant recommendations and look forward to your return!


Kind regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    40
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
36
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a wonderful experience at the Channel Island Shores resort in Oxnard, Ca. We were looking for an easy, comfortable scenic get away not too far from home because we were only going from Fri.-Mon., and we found it at this resort. You literally walk out to the parking area behind the resort walk across the street & you're at the beach. It was so beautiful! The inside of the resort was very charming w/it's modern light oak furniture/beige cozy couches and beachy designs. We had two levels. Downstairs was a comfortable rm w/flatscreen HD TV (Beautiful pic), off the living rm was a wonderful kitchen where we did all our cooking (Cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner although, we were close to restaurants if we wanted to go), they had everything we needed for cooking. Off the kitchen was a jacuzzi in the backyard that we almost spent all our time in. Upstairs there were 2 bedrooms. Our master-bedrm was gorgeous w/ Big mirrored closets a huge dark oak dresser w/nightstands & lamps and another wonderful flat scrn HD TV and the bed and pillows were so comfortable, we wanted to take them home. My son's rm was a good size too overlooking the downstairs. He loved his loft. We all looked at eachother several times during our trip & said, we could easily live here in this cozy beachfront home. Oh, I forgot to mention the cutest part, they decorate the towels and toiletries by turning them into animals like,(The washcloths were crabs, the towels were topped w/bows as was the tissues and the toilet paper ended in a bouquet of flowers. How adorable was that! We just loved our stay and couldn't have been happier. My husband & son even did a lot of bike riding with all the nice bike paths in & around the building & along the beach. We walked around fisherman's wharf & went to the Farmers Market on Sun. They have it every Sun. We had a fabulous time! Thanks Channel Islands! Your front desk girl and Maintenance man were so welcoming & friendly in taking care of our needs & keeping our jacuzzi clean. We hope to come back during the Spring or Summer.

Room Tip: Get the one w/the two floors. It was very roomy and comfortable! The rooms on the south side were qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcdonaldmichelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi mcdonaldmichelle68,
Thanks for posting on TripAdvisor! We're so proud to know your recent experience at our resort was wonderful. It sounds like you had an amazing time with your family bike riding and walking along the beach. We love knowing we've provided our guests with a memorable vacation and we hope we've done so in your case. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!


Kind Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Amazing! Loved the beach. Great place to kayak and surrey (bike).

The room had its own awesome hot tub on the back patio.

Tina was really helpful and made us a little Thanksgiving basket. She also taught me how to make a towel monkey.

Will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzzzz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Hi Lizzzzz4,
We're thrilled we could host you for an amazing Thanksgiving break this year. We're glad you enjoyed the hot tub on the back patio and your Thanksgiving basket. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Great place. Had my kiddos and felt like home away from home. Very close to the beach but still close to grocery.a out an hour and a half (depending on traffic) from downtown L.A. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi kkfun,
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent getaway. We are glad our staff was friendly and you found our location convenient. We hope to welcome you back again soon!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We come every year at this time. We love the quite time to relax. We visit with family go to our favorite places to eat. Tina has always been very helpful and friendly to us, as we have been going for years. It was a pleasure to meet Jennifer this year, very outgoing person and she has an infectious laugh...
We are glad to hear that they are coming up with new and exciting activities for all who stay. My favorite is the King size bed.....

Room Tip: We like rooms on bottom level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Bill D,
We're thrilled to continue welcoming you back year after year for an amazing stay. It's wonderful to hear how helpful out staff is throughout your visits. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Channel Island Shores. The units are large and very comfortable and have everything one would need. The condos are in a residential area and you feel like you're part of the community and you're 1 block from the Pacific Ocean! The location is great for day trips to Santa Barbara,Ojai and Malibu. Ventura is minutes away. There are many great restaurants in the area. Fantastic seafood right off the boats. The staff could not have been more helpful. Tina and Michael were just great. We really enjoyed our stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Hi Michael L,
Welcome back to Channel Island Shores! It's great to hear how wonderful your recent stay was. We're glad you had fun taking some day trips to a few of the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Kind Regards,
Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Rooms are a little outdated but it's steps to the beach! Quaint resort in a beautiful area. Great for families! Beautiful grassy park walking distance to the beach! Close to resteraunts and shopping! Only about a 3 1/2 hour drive from San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummiof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jmores01, General Manager at Channel Island Shores, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Hi Mummiof2,
Thank you for reviewing your experience at Channel Island Shores. We're so glad you enjoyed being close to the beach, as well as, some of the amazing restaurants and shops in the area. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!


Kind regards,

Jennifer Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
4.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel Island Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel Island Shores

Property: Channel Island Shores
Address: 1311 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-1965
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Channel Island Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channel Island Shores is quaint destination for vacationers wanting a relaxing seaside escape in a quiet residential setting. Located half a block from the beach and with views of the Channel Islands, this charming resort with a beach house feel is within steps of white, sandy beaches and refreshing ocean surf. This Oxnard beach vacation resort features amenities such as private patios, many with Jacuzzi Spas and Barbeques, spectacular ocean views, and fully-stocked kitchens. Guests may enjoy a multitude of nearby water activities including boating, kayaking, surfing and fishing. Explore the National Park, take side trips to Magic Mountain, Santa Barbara, Malibu Beach, Los Angeles, Universal Studios, Hearst Castle, or enjoy the famous Channel Island Harbor and Marina. Minimum check-in age is 21. Please note that air conditioning is not offered at this property. Please note there is a USD 15.00 daily resort fee due at booking which includes internet, parking, and phone calls. Please note the resort does not provide extra beds/cots or cribs, however guests may bring a crib. Weekly housekeeping is available; we do not have daily housekeeping. Guests must have photo ID and credit card to put on hold for incidentals. Please contact the resort prior to 6pm if arriving after hours and you will be provided with a lockbox code and parking instructions. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Channel Island Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channel Island Shores Hotel Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing