We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bountiful food!”
Review of Gen Korean BBQ

Gen Korean BBQ
Ranked #19 of 305 Restaurants in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bountiful food!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of 7 often go here and is one of my nephew's favourite place to eat and he's a very picky eater! We usually go on a Saturday and is often very crowded and understandably so due to amount of food that you have available to you. And since there are no reservations, be prepared to wait at times. Please note, there is metered parking nearest the restaurant with a max of 2 hrs. If you are willing to walk a little, there is 'free' parking by the Target or by the Whole Foods nearby. Surprisingly, once you do get a seat, most dishes do not take that long to cook. The best for us are the beef dishes, seasoned very well. The longest to cook are the chicken and pork dishes, depending on the cut. For those non-red meat eaters there is also shrimp, squid, and even some veggie dishes. No one is rushed to eat their share and the servers are very pleasant and accommodating. Because it is an 'all you can eat' type of establishment it's better that you arrive there hungry so you can get your money's worth.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlipCAMAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“YELP wouldn't post this review! ha!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Food - Good Service - HORRIBLE

The service was sooo bad that I created a yelp account just to vent and create my frist official review of a restaurant and yelp wouldn't post it.....well haha im known on tripadvisor.

Clean restaurant and the food was tasty. The quality of the meat was very good. The noodles were amazing compared to mose AYCE places.

Lets get straight to the point. Our waitress started off great with the basic intro and recommendations. Then bam....down hill. The whole time I had to wait for her to come by to put in the next order or to refill their tiny portions of side dishes (ridiculously small). She would literally walk by and not stop to check on us every ten mins plus. The intervals were literally timed since i was waiting so long (avg 8 to 11 mins). And god forbid I ask another waiter/waitress to assist "oh i'll get your waitress for you". Gee thanks. The even more hilarious part of THIS so called korean place, the majority of their servers were non korean which is fine but the irony is all the evil looking (grumpy non smiling or unapproachable faces) food bringers were korean. The waiters/waitresses would take your order and speak proper english while the pple who brought your food to the table were these korean women who would throw the plates down on your table with the attitude of "make room for it otherwise im gonna knock stuff over" (knocked my lime out of my drink and onto the table (thank you korean lady). Oh and dont dare ask them anything...apparently they dont speak english or aren't allowed to speak to the customers.

It was sad.....it took forever to get an order in. It took forever to get more drinks, napkins, side dishes, attention etc.

Then to top it all off.....the last two "kick in the head" moments that inspired my review.
#1 - it was approximately 1010pm. We were just finishing and decided to get one more order to top off our dinner. The waitress took it and returned in 3 mins and said "oh last call was at 10pm sorry". We all laughed and in our little heads...wow would have been nice if you came at 10 and let us know you had a last call to give us a chance to order.

#2 - We had given the wait staff a cake to hide due to a b-day surprise. So as we finished our so called last call...the waitress comes and ask (while we were still eating) "do you want the birthday cake now?" My fiance lit up and said birthday cake??!!!! Me and my two girlfriends were like (palmface) and "oh no!! surprise is ruined".

Thanks Gen Korean ---- I hope you enjoyed the 200 bucks I spent, good thing im rich. I hope a deter thousands of bucks now with this review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank deadpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“You Cook it Fun Meal”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our first visit to a Korean barbeque. Sort of a cross between teppan and Mongolian barbeque with a more do it yourself nature. Gen is located in an open air mall in Oxnard close to the 101 freeway. Parking is but a few blocks away and ample. Take care on the weekends as parking can fill. The room is huge with many tables each with a gas grill in the center. The tables in the back have individual exhaust fans and a lower ceiling while the ones in front share as the ceiling is much higher. This is an all you can eat/grill program at $20 a person. The waiter, very personable, gives you a menu of raw items you can order to grill. He also brings side dishes like kimchi, pickled radish etc. The choices range from the simple; thinly sliced steak to the wild, large or small intestine. We ordered Marinated Pork Belly with Smoked Garlic, Thinly Sliced Marinated Angus Prime Rib Eye, Marinated Spicy Calamari w/ Onion and Rice Cake, Beef Bulgogi, Shrimp, Tongue, and Glass noodles. Each item is brought to you raw and you drop it on the grill and cook to your satisfaction. Everything was great. The meat is thinly slice and cooks quickly. Salt, pepper and dipping sauces are provided. It is kinda hard to stop.

This a very fun outing for a family or group. While not gourmet, the food was very good and plenty of it. You will smell like Korean Barbeque when you leave so plan accordingly with washable clothes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Very good Korean food at reasonable price”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were a group of 12 for dinner and had a fun time. It is 'work' to do some of your own cooking, but with a group, it is fun and everybody helps, and with good conversation, time passes quickly.
First, you are given a menu, from which you can give the server(s) a number. They will bring out, small portions, of that dish. You can order more as the meal progresses, but it's a good start. You then cook that dish, along with others that were ordered. While we did a bit of variety, we liked the Kobe Bulgogi (thin marinated beef) the best - very flavorful! And the glass noodles was a very close second. The spicy pork was very good, as was the calamari and shrimp (some said there wasn't a lot of flavor). We also had the ox intestine, as well as beef and pork belly (both tasted like bacon).

We did have to wait a while before they seated us (we arrived around 5:15 pm).

Other minor "complaints":
When you give the server what you want next, they do not bring it to you but always at one end; if you are sitting at the other end of the table, you may never get that dish! They should bring it to the side that ordered it.
Was a bit surprised that dessert wasn't included in the price, even if it was limited to only one item.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Korean BBQ I have had”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great experience while we were in California. Prices and quality compared to what we get in Canada is non comparable. Best Korean BBQ I have ever had. Server worked his butt off and was pleasant to deal with. Wish I didn't have to fly 3 hours to go again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gen Korean BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Gen Korean BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing