We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, dated facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The initial impression of this property is excellent. Common areas are relatively high-quality and appealing to the senses. The central courtyard pool and landscaping is very nice. The look of natural rocks, waterfalls, and native plants is quite nice. However, the sweets themselves and function rooms are quite dated. Carpets are thin, soiled, and moldy to my hyper active allergy senses. Furnishings are old and uncomfortable including all the chairs in dining room and function rooms.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank dmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear dmeade –
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are saddened to hear your challenges, this is very unfortunate and absolutely not our norm. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to discuss further.
Thank you,
Lisa Asdikian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 2,230 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were traveling from LA to San Francisco and back again and stayed here both ways because it was near a friends house.
On the way to San Fran- My husband is a Diamond member and they upgraded us to a suite. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL! I was so sad that we only had one night. Two bedrooms, three baths, LARGE living area that opened up to the pool area. The breakfast was excellent also!
We were so impressed with the property we decided to stay a second time.
On the way back from San Fran- The property was booked solid! The room we had was nice, bedroom and a front room, but the air conditioner was broke. When my husband looked at the filter, it was terrible! Sadly, no one could fix it and our sliding door, which we thought we could open up to get some ocean air, opened up to the elevator-no bueno. We heard people going in and out all night. They were so busy, we had to wait about 30-60 mins just to let the staff know what our issues were.
I would like to comment on the property-it was BEAUTIFUL! Right on the ocean and on a boardwalk where we could walk/bike.

Room Tip: If you are going to come here, splurge! It is worth the money to get the room you want/need. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ang126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear ang126 –
Thank you for leaving our resort such a positive review, we appreciate it. We absolutely do get booked solid during the months of June through September, however I am confident in my staff to deliver warm and friendly hospitality to our all guests even during these testing months! Please do come back soon!
Thank you,
Lisa Asdikian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Embassy Suites offers a great value and service for both couples and families. With beautiful beach and poolside options, games for kids, areas for couples to relax and walking trails you really dont even need to leave the property. If you decide on a day in Santa Barbara or surrounding cities very easy to access just minutes from the freeways.

Room Tip: Would request a room with ocean view on on the 1st floor in one of the many grassy areas if travelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank triptakero25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear triptakero25 –
Thank you for leaving our resort such a positive review, we appreciate it. We love hearing such wonderful stories like this. Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you,
Lisa Asdikian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had stayed here a few years ago and had a great time. Booked a family vacation with 3 rooms and held my breath after some of the bad reviews. We had the best time and some of my kids were not happy about going to Oxnard. Rooms were clean, pool was fun, dinner at the Coastal Grill was exceptional! We were in ocean view rooms and my 41 year old son and 34 year old son said "same time next year"! That means a lot!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank roadtripper610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear roadtripper610 –
Thank you for leaving our resort such a positive review, we appreciate it. We love hearing such wonderful stories like this. Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back and the boys back soon!
Thank you,
Lisa Asdikian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Poor service, First time I was planning on staying there I arrived and was told "Sorry we overbooked" even though I had reservations. I was forced to stay in a very low quality hotel and had to drive in the middle of the night with poor information. Manager tried to make it better by giving me a free night the following week that I arrived for business and to my surprise drains were not working properly. Imagine having to at work and not able to take a shower or showering in a full tub due to no drainage. Its a shame because the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Alba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Alva M –
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are deeply saddened by this response however, with that said please feel free to connect with directly at 805-760-9000.
Thank you,
Lisa Asdikian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is wonderful with its beach side property. The staff is friendly and helpful. The suite was very nice and clean. The only thing that could have improved was the dining experience at the restaurant. The food was not flavorful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Marion M –
Thank you for leaving our resort such a positive review, we appreciate it. To your point we do have a fantastic location however it’s truly our team members that make the world of difference! We will revisit our dining outlets and ensure they are providing the highest quality food and beverage at all times. Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you,
Lisa Asdikian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Embassy suites at Mandalay Bay is really nice. My friend stayed over night so we had an opportunity to see the grounds. They are lovely and they give you a nice breakfast and happy hour, which is included. The location is wonderful and on the beach. It's the only place to stay in that location. The rooms are dated and I noticed someone else commented on that. But the grounds and location is pretty terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. The sunsets are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasdikian, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Carole D –

Thank you for taking the time to leave our resort such a positive review. We are pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are excited about welcoming you back in the near future!

Thank you,

Lisa Asdikian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxnard
6.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Oxnard River Ridge
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
5 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort

Address: 2101 Mandalay Beach Rd, Oxnard, CA 93035-3638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxnard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Business Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range: £136 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guests are invited to join us as we offer complimentary cocktails during our daily Evening Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel And Resort
Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach Hotel Oxnard
Embassy Suites Oxnard
Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard
Oxnard Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Hotel Mandalay Beach Resort Oxnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing