We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE**2nd person to be accused of smoking in room... $250 fee charged **BEWARE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Oxnard Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Oxnard
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BEWARE**2nd person to be accused of smoking in room... $250 fee charged **BEWARE!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My story is identical to the one mentioned above. Neither me nor my girlfriend smoke AT ALL and 3.5 hours after we checked out, we get a call letting us know that they will be charging us an additional $250.

After raising hell, I then find out that they had ALREADY charged the card for the room PLUS the $250... I will be perusing this at Ventura county courthouse.

BEWARE AND DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I will be volunteering my day next time I am in the area to way a large sign in front of their check in area waring other travelers of their sceme.

I really feel like they thought they could get away with this because we were 400 miles away from home and checked out at 6am... letting them know that by the time they called, we would be a LONG ways away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank harrymaneuvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused by our smoking policies and procedures. The Oxnard Police Department was able to verify that the room had been smoked in and that is why we charged the smoking fee which is used to restore the room to a non-smoking room. This allows us to provide a smoke free experience to any guest that requests a non-smoking room. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please email us or call us using the information provided email sent to you on 5/9/2011 at 1:27PM.

Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Oxnard Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    129
    63
    26
    22
See reviews for
132
101
27
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Where do I begin? I have been staying here with absolutely no problem for months, maybe a year now. On my last visit, they accused me of smoking in the room and charged me $250 on a credit card I gave them 6 months ago.

I do not smoke, and I said let's go in the room and smell it together. They agreed, but when we got there then there was no smell. The they try to say "well it aired out by now". Really? Cigarette smell there then gone in a couple hours?! Ok then what's all this talk about how you can't rent the room for 3 days?

They offered a partial refund of $100. Why would I do this? I would inherently be confessing to something I didn't do. I've been stranded here (they ran my card over and I'm out of gas) stressed beyond belief right now, and what am I not doing? Smoking! If I smoke, wouldn't I be doing it now?

I will NEVER stay at a best western anywhere ever again. When I called corporate they said they are all individually owned. Thanks best western for turning my vacation into a hellish nightmare of false accusation.

Read the rest of the reviews here. The rooms STINK and you WILL be charged for it. I even had a police officer show up - smell the room, my close, and my car - and he couldn't smell anything. Yet, they wouldn't budge on giving me my money back!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cpayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, General Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Oxnard Inn. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have been caused due to our policies and procedures. We use all feedback to help improve on every guests' experience at the hotel. If you have any further questions or comments regarding your stay, you may contact us directly at 805-483-9581. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas,CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

This hotel was great for our training camp weekend. The only downside was the continental breakfast, they only served a few things and took them a long time to replenish the items. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiseguerreros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Oxnard Inn. We appreciate your feedback as it help us to improve every guests' experience regarding the continental breakfast offering and service. We look forward to having you at the hotel during your next trip to Oxnard, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura,ca
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet, and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamswight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Oxnard Inn. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to to your return the next time you are in Oxnard, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way up the west coast.
It was perfect for one night.
Good room, bathroom was fine and bed was comfy.

As it is an inn there are cars outside your room so you can get woken up by people opening/closing doors.

Complimentary breakfast always helps too!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutlanderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, General Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Oxnard Inn. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and use it to improve our service and product. We are also happy to hear that you had a comfy bed and you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in Oxnard, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Arrived at 1.30 in the morning, and the lady at check in was really sweet.
Room had been upgraded due to our honeymoon request.
The lady at the desk in the morning was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
There was a lot of choice for breakfast.
Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki_jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, General Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Oxnard Inn. We appreciate all your feedback regarding your experience and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the upgraded room. We hope you had a great honeymoon and looking forward to seeing you at the hotel during your next trip to Oxnard, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We just returned from a week's vacation in CA and stayed 2 nights at this location. Our room had a kitchenette (small stovetop, sink, microwave and frig and cabinet space).; which was a great touch. The bathroom was small, but not a problem. The bed was not as comfortable as I like, but comfortable enough. I slept with earplugs (thanks to a snoring husband); but there were no complaints from him about any street noise, even though we were next to a busy street. We always run the "fan" to drown out any noise anyway. The room was clean and the hotel staff very nice. I loved the Oxnard square and we were able to walk to a really good Mexican food restaurant; also a good restaurant (5th Street Steak and Seafood I think) that was recommended to us. Chose this location as it had good reviews and was in close proximity to our boat trip out of Ventura to the Channel Islands National Park (which I highly recommend). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWOxnardInn, General Manager at Best Western Oxnard Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2010
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Oxnard Inn. I am very happy that you had a good stay in our kitchenette room. We appreciate your feedback and we are using it to improve every guests experience at our hotel. We look forward to having you at our hotel the next time you are visiting Oxnard, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxnard hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn, Oxnard/Camarillo
3.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Mandalay Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Channel Islands Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
1.2 mi away
Inn at Oxnard
Inn at Oxnard
#10 of 14 in Oxnard
178 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Oxnard Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oxnard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oxnard Inn

Property: Best Western Oxnard Inn
Address: 1156 S Oxnard Blvd, Oxnard, CA 93030-7418
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oxnard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Oxnard
#5 Family Hotel in Oxnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Oxnard Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Oxnard Inn! Just because you’re traveling to one of the most desirable places in the country doesn’t mean you have to forego comfort and quiet. The Dallas Cowboys come to Oxnard, which is proof that our town is fit for the stars. Guests can enjoy four fun-filled festivals while in town, spend their days at the beautiful nearby beaches, or check out the intense agricultural scene. There’s a military Navy base nearby, and service men and women especially enjoy checking in to a comfortable, luxury hotel while off duty. Our recently renovated pool area is divine, and every room features a 42-inch flat screen TV. We’re close to the beach with competitive prices, so you can save a little extra of that vacation fund for a trip to Rodeo Drive. The central location of this Oxnard hotel means everything the region has to offer is only a short drive away. The Channel Islands are a mecca for hiking, fishing and kayaking enthusiasts. The Strawberry Festival, Salsa Festival, Banana Festival and Food Truck events are a foodies’ dream come true. Whether you’re in town to check out the Dallas Cowboys training camp or to peruse local beaches, you’ll easily find your groove. Some lucky business travelers are sent to our Oxnard hotel, but it feels more like pleasure than business when you’re so close to the beach. We welcome employees of Oxnard College, Cal State Channel Islands, UCSB, the City of Oxnard, the farming community and service men and women from the Navy bases. Convenient access to all local universities makes our hotel a top pick. Guests are able to access a wide variety of attractions nearby. Oxnard is a great place to shop while driving up the coast through California. There are great restaurants nearby, beautiful beaches and plenty to do in Oxnard. Add our famous, free breakfast to the mix and our Oxnard hotel is unbeatable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Oxnard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oxnard Hotel Oxnard
Oxnard Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing