We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful B&B”
Review of Centrella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centrella Inn
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Cute, friendly, centrally located B&B on Monterrey peninsula. We stayed in one of the cottages which is a small suite. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are excellent. Overall: Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We strive to provide excellent customer service and a delicious breakfast to get you ready for your day. Your review encourages us to keep doing what we are doing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    151
    48
    23
    23
See reviews for
60
276
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and our previous B&B stays were in much smaller B&Bs - so this was a different experience, much more of a small hotel. We enjoyed our stay - we loved the small extras, wine and cheese/crackers at night, along with the chocolate chip cookies. The breakfasts were also enjoyable. It was a great location for our plans around the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamaraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review. I know Calgary is a long way from us, but please come see us again if you are ever in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montara, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The staff, food, location, and ambiance of the Centrella Inn is superb. You can step right out the door and are just a block away from Lover's Point and miles of hiking, biking, or running trails along the gorgeous Monterey Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
One of the greatest things about the Centrella is our location. Just steps from the beach at Lovers Point and a great running trail. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and we enjoyed very much. The location was only a few blocks from the ocean and walking distance from Monterrey Wharf. The Inn Keeper was so sweet and really made us feel at home. We woke up each morning to freshly baked quiches and fresh squeezed orange juice, plus tea and cookies every night. I was in room 21 with my hubbie and it had the perfect size for us. The front porch was so beautiful and charming with chairs and the flourish garden had tables and a hammock. I would absolutely recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Pacific Grove. We had a great time and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llaferraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you!

I know we are a long way from home for you, but if you are ever in our neighborhood, please make the Centrella you home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A really nice historic place...great location, lovely garden, hot and cold drinks available 24/7 and breakfast was yummy! Loved the clawfoot bath and our room was comfy and spacious! We received a warm welcome from Kent and all the other staff were great too. The breakfast room got a little crowded with some waiting time but apart from that it was all lovely!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
I love that you had a wonderful time with us at the Centrella Inn. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Moon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Unfortunately although the service was fantastic, the location was excellent and the staff (special mention to Kent ) were incredibly helpful...I did not get much rest..at all!! We kindly requested a quiet room, were given 108, very small, by the stair case and above the reception/breakfast/ social room. I could hear people talking, banging things and going to the bathroom through the walls. All night there were noises and heavy banging...My husband needed earplugs. I don't understand why! Then the breakfast noise and smell in the room at seven in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shut_up_donny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Kent is one of our newer employees but you can tell he loves what he does and where he lives. He is a joy to be around. Normally the rooms that are on the garden side of the house are the quieter rooms. I am sorry you didn't find that to be so during your stay. One of the blessings and curses of staying in a home built in 1889 is the lack of modern insulation. The cottages we have in our gardens and our Lovers lofts on the 3rd floor provide much more peace and quiet and sound like they would have been a better fit during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Mountain Club, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The upstairs room worked out - the better to view the gardens and courtyard and see the great, large tree! The breakfast was very nice (included) and wine and snacks in the afternoon most thoughtful. It is in a super location, near many stores, a museum, and restaurants.

Room Tip: The upstairs room worked out - the better to look over the garden and courtyard with a view of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honey G, Manager at Centrella Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The upper rooms do provide a view of our gardens as well as the historic home surrounding our house. We hope to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centrella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centrella Inn

Property: Centrella Inn
Address: 612 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2611
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centrella Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the Romance of Yesteryear at The Centrella Inn, awarded “The Best Lodging in Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula”. We have been the destination of choice for charm and romance since 1889. Enjoy our complimentary signature breakfast, freshly baked pastries daily and evening social hour, featuring hors d'oeuvres and cookies. Ideally located: stroll to Lover’s Point, beach, world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and historic Cannery Row. Close to Pebble Beach, Carmel and Big Sur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Centrella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrella Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing