We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Had hight expectations from reading trip advisor. It was as charming as expected. Didn't agree with some complaints of small staircase etc (it's a small, old house, what can you expect?) We were a family of 5 staying in the Balcony room and the room opposite (cannot remember the name). Staff (cannot remember name) made dinner reservation for us in the evening. Ate an adequate breakfast with the wonderful view of the ocean right in front. Beds "so so". Too soft for our taste but would still choose to stay again. Love these quaint romantic places! Got a 15 dollar discount as the lock on one of the rooms didn't work. They offered to call a locksmith in the evening but we thought it unneccessary.

Room Tip: Most rooms share bathrooms but that was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10Chicogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

The good: The inn has a beautiful view, it is quaint, our room was very large, the evening cookies were delicious, the bed was comfortable and the water tasted good. The bad: 1)The rooms were not cleaned well (my biggest gripe). With dark furniture and dark carpet it was obvious that cleaning was done minimally as the carpets and furniture had a coating of dust. 2)The inn was in poor repair. It had peeling paint in the bathroom where it was falling off the ceiling. the "gold" plumbing fixtures had peeled completely of their finish so the raw metal was left. There was a plywood board screwed to the shower ceiling covering, what I assume, was a hole. The carpet was splitting at the seams, the plastic mini blinds were cut too short and didn't cover the windows. 2)The breakfast buffet was very skimpy the first day. There were few choices and the choices they had were small. For example, they brought out four pieces of bacon at a time. I'm uncertain if it was to prevent waste or keep guests from gluttony. However the second day was much better with choices and normal sized amounts. We only stayed two nights so I am uncertain which offering is typical.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmm6014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Green Gables for a long weekend and, although the sun decided to peek in only when we were leaving, we had a WONDERFUL time. This is the perfect place to relax and pretend that you actually live here in the style to which you would like to become accustomed. The atmosphere is homey and sweet, but not cloying. The views from some of the rooms (particularly downstairs) are spectacular. It's only minutes away from Cannery Row and downtown Pacific Grove, and the 17-mile drive and Carmel are an easy drive away. The breakfasts were excellent, as were the wine-and-appetizers in late afternoon and cookies and coffee in the evening. Honey was gracious, accommodating, and helpful and suggested great places to eat. We will return!!

Room Tip: LOVED Jennifer's Room and the Chapel Room looked interesting, although it did not have a bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Having stayed at 4 other B&B on our journey, Green Gables was outstanding.
Welcome was excellent, maybe White Jasmine at Santa Barbara would benefit by seeing how it ought to be done.
Room, large and clean. Breakfast good. Evening cheese and wine good. Again White Jasmine This is how you do it !1

Evening Turn Down service lovely

Could not fault anything.

DONT LOOK, JUST BOOK

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Everything is perfect. Location, rooms, view, service and ambiance. It's a must.

It's not for children do.

Room #2 is the best. Beautiful and with an amazing view of the ocean.

And does not have a TV, as Bed and Breakfast hotels should be.

Coffee is great by the way.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgsolomong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

As previously said, a stately old home overlooking the ocean. Staff all very friendly. This is the second four sisters inn that we've stayed in. I would have to say the first in the Sonoma valley was more to our taste decor wise. This is very much the patterned carpet, wallpaper and frills and teddy bears every where! Although we enjoyed our two night stay, would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This lovely old house sits overlooking the sea. we stayed in 'Jennifer' a spacious room on the first floor (UK) 2nd floor (US). It had a wonderful set of windows that made it light and airy, if you sit on the window seat you can peek at the sea. At night with the windows open you could hear the surf breaking on the rocks. The linens were excellent and the towels soft and fluffy, bathrobes were provided. the bathroom was functional and had a shower and jacuzzi bath tub, the toiletries were of good quality.

The drawing and dining rooms had wonderful views and clusters of seating areas, we sat watching sea otters which was thrilling.

Afternoon nibbles are served in the dining room which was a nice touch and in the evening fresh baked cookies and sherry is available. Breakfast was served buffet style and consisted of cereal, fruit, baked goods and a lovely quiche the morning of our visit.

Each member of the team we met were courteous, efficient and friendly- a great combination.

We loved staying here and wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
597 reviews
0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 301 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2958
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £157 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing