We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fifth anniversery getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Keystone, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fifth anniversery getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Wonderful , quiet time to relax by the sea. Enjoyed the free bicycles we rode along the bike path. Breakfast quite good with a few hot items. Wine and cheese available in afternoon. Evening cookies were excellent.

Room Tip: Gables room best view with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank timothy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    46
    29
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
177
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My boyfriend and I saw this B&B on a previous trip and we knew we had to come back for a stay. We were upgraded to the Chapel room that has to have the BEST view. Across the street is the ocean and a great walking/running/biking path. Ivy was our host and she was so helpful! She gave us dinner recommendations and even called and put in a reservation. The food was scrumptious! Afternoon appetizers with wine, evening cookies with sherry and a yummy breakfast buffet. Plus, you get to eat breakfast in front of huge windows overlooking the coast. We felt so spoiled. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Our room had a shared bathroom. Don't be afraid, they are spacious and clean. Nothing like a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank redgreengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento, california, usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

First experience at a B&B and it was great. We stayed in the sandpiper room in the carriage house. A little pricey but the location, service and beds are top notch! The bathtubs are fabulous. We stayed two nights and got to take a peek at all the main house rooms during service, they are gorgeous. The staff is very friendly. Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room but the 3rd floor carriage house rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassie2u2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Had the occasion to visit Monterey for a long weekend, and opted to stay at Green Gables Inn. Definitely a good choice. We were in the Chapel Room on the second floor, which had a wonderful view over the bay from the built-in window seat. I also loved all of the exposed wood beams and trim. The bear on the bed was a nice touch, too. I was initially hesitant about the shared bathroom, but with two to choose from, we never had to wait to use one or encountered other guests wanting one at the same time we did. The innkeepers and staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful, tasty, and good quality. We had a selection of cold cereals, fruit, eggs, hot cereal, and breads to toast. Great way to start the day. Overall a much more relaxing option than a larger hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crewguydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Sonoma a few nights ago, which is a sister hotel to the green gables inn and are very different from each other. The inn has a lot of character and the staff was very accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the afternoon snacks and wine were great, all made in house! Notes to mention- no refrigerator in the room or public ice machine- there is a small tiny fridge in the main house that you can store some small items but is very inconvenient. We stayed in the carriage house, 2nd floor with a private bath. The room was very roomy and had a large sitting area. The only downfall was due to the age of the inn, 1800's, we could hear the people above us, every step and creak- which was annoying in the morning while we were trying to sleep. Also, you have to park on the street, no private lot.,., Great location though!

Room Tip: There are rooms with private & shared bathrooms- make sure you let the, know. 2nd floor was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I love this place. We generally stay in the Carriage House, which is located behind the main Inn but still offers a good view of Monterey Bay. You can hear the sound of the waves breaking on the shore all night long, which is a wonderfully relaxing way to pass a little time. And the sea breeze keeps the Inn cool and refreshing.

The staff could not be friendlier, and is very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and its attractions. The pointed us to several excellent local restaurants, several of which were inexpensive but still offered fine food. The happily shared their knowledge of local events of interest, and steered us towards attractions we otherwise might have missed.

The Inn itself is an older Victorian Era Home, beautifully maintained, located right across a small street from the Bay. The furnishings are wonderful, the decor interesting, the beds very comfortable. The Carriage House features a huge, deep wonderful tub more than big enough for two adults. There's a fireplace and the room is quiet and romantic. Breakfast in your room is available for a small extra charge if you don't care to attend the buffet in the main dining room. You might want to check out the buffet, however, as it is pretty wonderful in its own right.

You could walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium if you were so inclined, which is not a bad idea as parking around the Aquarium can be scarce. And you can easily stroll along the shore in the evenings, which is a great thing to do as there are many seals and sea otters playing in the surf within easy view of the shore.

This is a romantic, quiet, charming Inn, one you might wish to check out if you love the Sea and are fond of small romantic Inns. I do not think you could possibly go wrong with a weekend stay here. Or even a week long stay if you were so inclined!

Room Tip: Each room is unique, so you should check their websites to see what's being offered. Or ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManyMiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Green Gables Inn in Pacific Grove CA is a wonderful bed & breakfast inn very close to the ocean. My husband and I recently stayed there for three nights and immensely enjoyed our visit. We stayed in the Jennifer Room. I especially liked the windows and the window seat in the room and the bed was very comfortable. Everything was very clean and the breakfast was very good, especially the granola! Each afternoon there was wine and hors d'oeuvres and there were cookies available at night. We felt right at home at the Green Gables. The staff is fantastic - so helpful and friendly. We had trouble with our rental car and they (Ivy & Honey) went out of their way to assist us with phone calls/messages, moral support, etc. Before our visit, I was a little worried about the parking situation, since the inn does not have private parking. However, there was more than enough parking on the street in front of the inn. I would highly recommend the Green Gables Inn to anyone who enjoys a memorable bed & breakfast experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYSpike07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#3 of 8 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 301 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2958
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing