We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, romantic venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've stayed twice in the Carriage House and had wonderful experiences each time. Green Gables Inn is a perfect place to hang out for a low stress trip, or to use as a home base to explore the greater Monterey area. The walking path across the street hugs the coast line, and provides an easy 10 minute walk to the Aquarium.
The bathroom was modern, WiFi worked well and the breakfast was delicious. The staff was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Explorer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently, my sister and I were able to book a night for our parents 60th Anniversary. Their room was clean and very well appointed. The bathroom was useable and just what we expected. There are various prices that can be booked. Each room appears to be unique and worth the rent. There are rooms with restrooms and some with shared facilities.

It is a beautiful spot. There is a walking path along the ocean front that winds both directions in across the street. It is an easy walk to Lover's Point and a long walk to the Fisherman's Wharf area. If you are a bicycle rider, this trail is perfect for seeing the area above and below Pacific Grove.

The people who run this inn are friendly and helpful. Our parents enjoyed their stay. It was well
worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdncd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have stayed here 3 times. Great location overlooking Pacific Ocean. Very quiet and charming. No tv in most rooms but they do have wifi. They serve a great breakfast that is included. Our room had windows that open looking out over water and you can sleep with windows open with such a wonderful breeze. Great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is my second time staying at the Green Gables Inn. Each time has been a great experience, the staff are helpful and happy to accommodate you as best they can. Location wise, it can't be beat, the place is right on the ocean and the building looks amazing. You can sit in the parlor sip wine and watch the waves crash all day. As for the rooms, they are large and comfortable with soft couches and chairs to sit in. The Inn serves a basic breakfast, bread and bagels with jam, juice and coffee, and hot and cold cereals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATravelerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Lovely place to stay. We've been there 3 times, in a different room each time. We loved all 3, including the big one downstairs right by the entrance, and upstairs the Jennifer room and our new favorite, the Chapel room.

Room Tip: The "Chapel" room is extraordinary. Its windows open and look right over Monterey Bay. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank lmarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Green Gables Inn is a place that my wife and I have wanted to stay because of its close proximity to the coast of Pacific Grove. The room we obtained had a fantastic view over the coast and the trail that hugs the shoreline. From our window we were able to watch sea otters and sea lions, and to also watch the joggers and walkers . Green Gables is tastefully decorated with many antiques with a large fireplace in the seating area. There was an afternoon wine and cheese time offered , and an award winning breakfast in the morning. Because it is truly a renovated Victorian mansion there were a couple of drawbacks to staying there. One was that the upstairs rooms that have such a nice view of the ocean have two shared bathrooms for five rooms. Also, there is no central air heating; so since we were quite cool the manager gave us a small heater for our room. However, our neighbors next door were in a similar situation; and when they plugged in their heater we blew the breakers and were in the dark for a little while. It was only a small inconvenience and what I would actually expect in 100+ year old home; but those two reasons were why I rated only an overall 4. Otherwise I would have loved to give a 6 for Green Gables Inn; because I absolutely loved staying there.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are the ones with the better views if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah J, Marketing Office at Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Dee,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Green Gables Inn. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and appreciated our location and the historic nature of the property. I would like to mention that our three upstairs bedrooms share two bathrooms as opposed to five bedrooms sharing two bathrooms. Once again, thank you for your kind comments and I very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Green Gables Inn.
Warmly,
Hannah Joseph, Four Sisters Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here in November over Veterans Day weekend and we loved the place. The location right on the water is excellent. The room was great, we got the one with the "secret room" up the ladder. It had a great view of the otters and sea lions right from the window. The food in the morning along with the afternoon snacks were delicious. We will definitely visit again when we come back to the peninsula.

Room Tip: the all look great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank u114193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.0 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
453 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 301 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2958
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £201 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently voted as one of the Top 50 Small Hotels in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler and perhaps the most beautiful and famous inn located in California, the Green Gables Inn is a historic gem with panoramic views of the Monterey Bay. Every detail in this exquisite Queen Anne Victorian, built in 1888, has been meticulously restored for your enjoyment. Make your reservation well in advance for a very special getaway.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Green Gables Inn, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Green Gables Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing