We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic? You betcha!”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Exceeded all expectations.
Right on the Bay, Maybe a 10 minute walk to Cannery Row and the aquarium.
You could spend a day just exploring the house (It's really a mansion).
We stayed in the Mahogany Room. It was not part of the main building and the view was from the bathroom window but we could not have been happier. I think it was one of the larger rooms and was very private. Fireplace, of course.
The staff was great and helpful yet I felt like we had the run of the house. You never saw them until you needed something. Then all you needed to do was ring the bell!
Breakfast was a joy. Delicious and served on beautiful china. Some guests were asking for the recipe for the french toast. Awesome! Fresh fruit down the hall and coffee and tea at all times.
We could not have ask for more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

And we could not have asked for more, than your comments in your review. 30 years ago when I decided to create the Martine Inn our main goal was to create a series of pleasant surprises that left you with wonderful memories. We are truly happy we succeded with your stay. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Not at all what I expected... The reviews I read were great, but I was less than impressed, and very dissapointed... The room we had (empire), had such a strong smell of smoke that my husband couldn't sleep through the night. I understand the rooms have a fireplace and in such small quarters there wil be the smell of smoke. Keeping that in mind the draperies and canopy should be cleaned regulary, you can tell they're not!

The bathroom ceiling is in need of repair. They've patched it with a board that doesn't quite meet, therefore each morning we were greeted by spiders in the bathroom, not my idea of fun.

From the parking area to the front door there are three different sets of stairs. The bottom one is lit beautifuly, the second two are not lit at all. There are solar lights along the way, NOT ONE OF THEM WORKED. With the late evening and early morning dampness on the steps it was very dangerous walking up them. I was the one who insisted on spending my 50th birthday there and I could tell my husband felt bad because he knew I wasn't enjoying myself. What this did do was get us off the property and out and about to visit the sights, it is a truly beautiful area. Being a Travel Agent, I should have researched it better, I didn't do my homework on my own reservation. I can promise you I won't do that again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

I am sorry you were not happy at the Martine Inn and I apologize for any smoke odor in the room. We try to deodorize our rooms. The bathroom has a drop ceiling with sheet rock resting on a frame. One of the pieces was ajar and a 3/8 inch crack resulted. We have a monthly pest control service and had them inspect and treat the area. The front stairs are lit by a large light on the front corner of the building above the stairs. The solar lights are for decoration only and during dark short days of fall do not light. We have removed the solar lights. We have an annual fire inspection and an annual insurance inspection and they determined the lighting on the stairs adequate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Well this spot really knocked our socks off! Our room had a terriffic view of the incomparable Pacific Grove coast and we had our best nights sleep in months becuz of the crashing of the waves outside our hotel. Whata wonderful lullaby! The staff was great and really went the extra mile. B'fast was delish and cooked to order! The antiques and beautiful old cars (the owner is a car buff) were a bonus...each room (i peeked) had it's own individual charm. Had dinners in two excellent restaurants, The "C" at the Clement and Bistro Moulin. A great stay. THANKS!!!

Room Tip: Well the view rooms up front are well worth it. But the fireplace rooms are all charming too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaSharita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We greatly appreciate your review of the Martine Inn. Your experience is exactly what our goal is for our guests. We try hard to aciieve this for every guest and it is gratifying to have you acknowledge it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a delightful B&B facing Monterey Bay. Our cozy room decorated in beautiful antiques came equipped wIth a supplied fireplace to take the nip out of the coastal fog. Chilled champagne iced down in a silver bucket with crystal flutes awaited our arrival. Sumptuous breakfast freshly prepared each morning and an afternoon happy hour with CA wines and light snacks. Easy walk along bay or to great local eateries. Owner has fine collection of vintage racing cars on site Landed a web special for weekday stay under $150 a night. A steal for this area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RayA435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

The Monterey Bay area has so much to offer and we are in the center of all the activities at the Martine Inn. Our breakfasts are unique recipies that our chef of 27 years and staff have developed to create a different experience for you. We are pleased you had a marvelous time and thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Love the Martine Inn. Stayed in a lovely room with the most comfortable bed and amazing linens. The dining room has to have one of the most beautiful views on the Monterey Peninsula. We were able to watch sea otters playing in the bay while enjoying a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend this inn to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smccaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Martine Inn and caring enough about us to return. We have many returning guests and look forward to seeing them again. Last week we had a guest who had stayed many times with us, tell other guests that their first stay was over 24 years ago. It feels very good to be able to please guests for over 24 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We checked in on Sunday evening and were welcomed nicely. Our room was decorated with antiques and had a nice ocean view. Breakfast was included with a different and unique type dish every day. Appetizers and wine were available in the main parlor and provide an opportunity to chat with other guests and compare restaurant notes etc.

On check out we were given a nice gift fro the "road"

Room Tip: The cottage room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Martineinn. We are pleased you enjoyed the creative breakfasts our chef prepared for you. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were warmly greeted and shown around the property upon arrival. The accommodations include, besides a fantastic room with wonderful views of the ocean (even saw whales from our window!) and the Coastal Range toward San Francisco, a lively waterfront pedestrian/cycle path right in front and Cannery Row and Aquarium a two minute walk away, fruit and coffee all day, complimentary wine and apps at 5:30 in the dining room, a working fireplace in our room with real wood! and a welcome package of champagne and chocolate coated strawberries in our room. Amazing! Did I mention the delicious breakfast, grand piano and sitting rooms? If you are anywhere in the area or are looking for a great escape, this is your place ... hands down.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "The Parke" room. Highly recommended. Faces north/northeast ... lots of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennisvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

It is always exciting to see whales from the windows of the Martine Inn. We want to be your place. We appreciate your time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.5 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £173 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing