We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wife and I had a great time at the Martine Inn. We were greeted from the start by very friendly staff welcoming us, giving a tour of the property, and escorting us to our room. Room was very cozy with a warm fireplace and a gift waiting from management. Appetizers and wine were served in a beautiful common room overlooking to the ocean. We left well rested with smiles and a gift bag.

Only small negative of the room was the heater had only one function, on or off so if the room was too warm you had to turn it off no auto temperature setting. The headboard was a little scary with large heavy dowel that was not secure. Easily removed though.

These were small issues to us and overall loved our experience and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Your review of the Martine Inn is very much appreciated. Our goal is to greet you warmly, show you around the property so you know where everything is and then review the room with you. One type of heating system comes on and goes off depending on the temperature selected. Other systems go on and stay on and you set the temperature to be maintained. We have rooms with one or the other types of thermostats. All our headboards are hooked to the wall to prevent falling over. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    94
    28
    23
    11
See reviews for
35
318
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This inn is very nice, clean room, good location with wonderful ocean view from breakfast room, antique car collection and greeting from the owner. Delicious free breakfast to those can take mexican twisted flavor. past semtember stay was more pleasant than five years ago. Because there was no obnoxious person i experienced last time. The inn allows two day in advance notice for cancellation with 25dollar charge. it sounds reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jae-Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
We want to thank you particularly for returning and giving us a second chance at pleasing you. We have a great location but it takes a lot more to create a great inn. I am here almost every day, as I live on the property, to see that we give the utmost in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have tried b and bs from all down the East Coast to the South and have always felt like we were staying with distant cousins. The Martine Inn was so much more comfortable and welcoming it made us promise to return very soon. The owner was warm and informative and there for his guests on Christmas Eve and morning. We played pool, piano and bathed in a footed bath that was in a huge bathroom right next to our fire place. The bed was excellent and the room was warm yet airy just like the Monterey area. We stayed in the Carriage room in the back of the inn and it was not only quiet, we had our own patio and garden for morning coffee. The food was excellent, plentiful and served elegantly with every attention to detail. All requests were met (I was allowed to buy some antique china to match my set at home) with constant smiles from the owners to the gardener. My husband loved watching the whales spouting during breakfast from our table. My favorite were the most delicious thumb print cookies I have ever eaten. I can't wait to return

Room Tip: I am sure the view rooms are great but the Carraige room is large and quiet great for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review the Martine Inn. We try very hard to create a unique pleasurable experience and it is gratifying to see we suceded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Inn is badly in need of maintenance and cleaning. Draperies torn and water stained. DID not blackout light from adjacent property. Broken window mechanism that would not stay open, mold and dust everywhere. Not up to standard of similar, historic properties and certainly not a $180 per night property. Try Green Gables or Seven Gable Inn instead!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We offered you aniother room when it was obvious from the time you entered the room you were unhappy, and you said no. You complained about the heat and one window not opening yet we opened the other window with no problems and again we offered you another room and you chose to stay in the original room. We apologize for the drapery. We had already ordered new fabric and it is here ready to be made into new draperies. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a weekend stay here, using a TravelZoo voucher. Our room was lovely, although smaller than it looked in the pictures online. We loved that it was right on the water and had easy access to the rec trail. It was within walking distance of Lover's Point and the rec trail enabled me to have my morning workouts outdoors vs in a gym, which I love. When we arrived, a bottle of sparkling cider (vs an alcoholic beverage, per our request) and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us. Hot beverages and cookies were available in the lobby. The fresh fruit available any time was a nice touch, especially to fill in the gap between morning workout and breakfast.

Breakfast both mornings was yummy and the view from the dining room was amazing! Our server was very polite and attentive. When the heat wasn't working in our room the second night, the response to our call was prompt and the fix (a pilot light was out) was done quickly so we could get the room back to a comfortable temperature.

Overall we had a really lovely stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We try to accommodate our guests requests and anticipate their potential needs. We also want to fix any problems that might occur promptly and effectively. We are pleased you had a lovely stay. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

On the plus side: great views of the bay from dining room and 2nd floor sitting room, fantastic food for breakfast and evening wine/hors d'oeuvres, 5 minute walk to Aquarium, warm and friendly staff, in-room massage available, pretty good bathrooms, real fireplace (some rooms). On the downside: it is an old house with worn drapes, carpets and noisy creaky plumbing/heating (avoid the Edith Head room). Bring your own bathroom amenities, earplugs, sleep mask and binoculars. Great place if you are going to spend a lot of time in the B&B and will use the library, game room, sitting room. It is a Victorian experience if that is your thing and full of history. Suggest one of the TravelZoo special packages to get the best value.

Room Tip: Decide in advance your preference for view of the bay? fireplace? quiet? There are more than 20 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frantic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Martine Inn. I am confused about some of your comments. We supply each room with French Milled Soap, Shampoo, Lotion, Conditioner, Shower Cap, Bathrobes, extra blankets, extra pillows and a hair dryer. What amenities did you need to bring. We even supply the binoculars you mention, in our common area. All the plumbing is new copper and the heating is a centralized hot water system and both are quiet and effective. In the last 2 years we have installed new carpet in 21 guest rooms, all 5 common area rooms, hallways and stairways. The Martine Inn does not suit all tastes. If however you like or are interested in authentic American furnishings and decor from 1800 to 1930 you will not find a finer example anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Exceeded all expectations.
Right on the Bay, Maybe a 10 minute walk to Cannery Row and the aquarium.
You could spend a day just exploring the house (It's really a mansion).
We stayed in the Mahogany Room. It was not part of the main building and the view was from the bathroom window but we could not have been happier. I think it was one of the larger rooms and was very private. Fireplace, of course.
The staff was great and helpful yet I felt like we had the run of the house. You never saw them until you needed something. Then all you needed to do was ring the bell!
Breakfast was a joy. Delicious and served on beautiful china. Some guests were asking for the recipe for the french toast. Awesome! Fresh fruit down the hall and coffee and tea at all times.
We could not have ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
And we could not have asked for more, than your comments in your review. 30 years ago when I decided to create the Martine Inn our main goal was to create a series of pleasant surprises that left you with wonderful memories. We are truly happy we succeded with your stay. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Property: Martine Inn
Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing