We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Inn…”
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martine Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The sweetest staff, great breakfast, great and healthy goodies and wine in the evening…you could just stay here all day and never go out adventuring except to walk next to the bay a few feet away. I LOVE THID PLACE!! we stayed in the Captain's room for birthday weekend and it was absolutely charming. I cannot believe it took us 8 years to get back…what a perfect escape. So much better than Carmel Inns. Plus the Monterey Aquarium is within walking distance….and please know we are in our late 60's! And they gave us a road trip bag with banana bread with waters…lovely. We will be back next year. Please know that fall and winter months are a great time to go….some of the best weather in Monterey...

Room Tip: Captain's Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for coming to visit with us again. It is a pleasure to serve you. The great thing about being in the hospitality business is the chance to bring pleasure to others. It is very satisfying to hear that we were able to create a memorable moment for you. It is also wonderful to have a fabulous location, as you experienced. We appeciate the time you took to write about the Martine Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

lovely staff, feels like in victorian era, breakfast with silver sets of knives and forks adds to the experience.
very comfortable bed! you can even buy the sheets(incredibly soft)
And they gave us banana bread to go:)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nalunalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

We are trying to create victorian times, when service was thoughtful, most things were hand made, life held less pressure and one was not in a rush all the time. For instance, all our food is prepared by hand in our own kitchen by our chef of 27 years. We do not even have a microwave in the kitchen. Thank you for taking the time to review the Martinen Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wife and I had a great time at the Martine Inn. We were greeted from the start by very friendly staff welcoming us, giving a tour of the property, and escorting us to our room. Room was very cozy with a warm fireplace and a gift waiting from management. Appetizers and wine were served in a beautiful common room overlooking to the ocean. We left well rested with smiles and a gift bag.

Only small negative of the room was the heater had only one function, on or off so if the room was too warm you had to turn it off no auto temperature setting. The headboard was a little scary with large heavy dowel that was not secure. Easily removed though.

These were small issues to us and overall loved our experience and would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Your review of the Martine Inn is very much appreciated. Our goal is to greet you warmly, show you around the property so you know where everything is and then review the room with you. One type of heating system comes on and goes off depending on the temperature selected. Other systems go on and stay on and you set the temperature to be maintained. We have rooms with one or the other types of thermostats. All our headboards are hooked to the wall to prevent falling over. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This inn is very nice, clean room, good location with wonderful ocean view from breakfast room, antique car collection and greeting from the owner. Delicious free breakfast to those can take mexican twisted flavor. past semtember stay was more pleasant than five years ago. Because there was no obnoxious person i experienced last time. The inn allows two day in advance notice for cancellation with 25dollar charge. it sounds reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jae-Hyun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

We want to thank you particularly for returning and giving us a second chance at pleasing you. We have a great location but it takes a lot more to create a great inn. I am here almost every day, as I live on the property, to see that we give the utmost in service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have tried b and bs from all down the East Coast to the South and have always felt like we were staying with distant cousins. The Martine Inn was so much more comfortable and welcoming it made us promise to return very soon. The owner was warm and informative and there for his guests on Christmas Eve and morning. We played pool, piano and bathed in a footed bath that was in a huge bathroom right next to our fire place. The bed was excellent and the room was warm yet airy just like the Monterey area. We stayed in the Carriage room in the back of the inn and it was not only quiet, we had our own patio and garden for morning coffee. The food was excellent, plentiful and served elegantly with every attention to detail. All requests were met (I was allowed to buy some antique china to match my set at home) with constant smiles from the owners to the gardener. My husband loved watching the whales spouting during breakfast from our table. My favorite were the most delicious thumb print cookies I have ever eaten. I can't wait to return

Room Tip: I am sure the view rooms are great but the Carraige room is large and quiet great for sleeping and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review the Martine Inn. We try very hard to create a unique pleasurable experience and it is gratifying to see we suceded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Inn is badly in need of maintenance and cleaning. Draperies torn and water stained. DID not blackout light from adjacent property. Broken window mechanism that would not stay open, mold and dust everywhere. Not up to standard of similar, historic properties and certainly not a $180 per night property. Try Green Gables or Seven Gable Inn instead!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We offered you aniother room when it was obvious from the time you entered the room you were unhappy, and you said no. You complained about the heat and one window not opening yet we opened the other window with no problems and again we offered you another room and you chose to stay in the original room. We apologize for the drapery. We had already ordered new fabric and it is here ready to be made into new draperies. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a weekend stay here, using a TravelZoo voucher. Our room was lovely, although smaller than it looked in the pictures online. We loved that it was right on the water and had easy access to the rec trail. It was within walking distance of Lover's Point and the rec trail enabled me to have my morning workouts outdoors vs in a gym, which I love. When we arrived, a bottle of sparkling cider (vs an alcoholic beverage, per our request) and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us. Hot beverages and cookies were available in the lobby. The fresh fruit available any time was a nice touch, especially to fill in the gap between morning workout and breakfast.

Breakfast both mornings was yummy and the view from the dining room was amazing! Our server was very polite and attentive. When the heat wasn't working in our room the second night, the response to our call was prompt and the fix (a pilot light was out) was done quickly so we could get the room back to a comfortable temperature.

Overall we had a really lovely stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We try to accommodate our guests requests and anticipate their potential needs. We also want to fix any problems that might occur promptly and effectively. We are pleased you had a lovely stay. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.6 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £182 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvres. Complimentaty Wi-Fi. Library, Conference Room, Game Room with Billiards and Ping Pong Tables. Vintage MG Car disply. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing