We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place to stay!”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 25 wedding anniversary Labor day weekend. We have driven by the inn many times. What a pleasant surprise when he booked for our anniversary. Upon arrival we were greeted and given a tour of the inn before being shown our room. Lots of windows very bright and extremely clean. We stayed in the garden room, which was right outside the back entrance. We were told since we were on the ground level with large windows, people do walk by. There were a lot of rooms like this. I would rather stay in these rooms then the upper level, it was like our very own cottage. The beds were so comfy! The sheets were available for purchase (why I didn't buy them, so soft!) Towels were soft. Turn down service with chocolates. And a full breakfast was yummy. 4 wines from the area were available each afternoon. At least 5-6 different cheeses, assortment of crackers, and vegetable and homemade dips. Cookies and milk in the evening. I suggest if you are too full from dinner, take a few cookies for the next day, oh my they are so good! fresh baked.
Lover's Point Park is across the street, on the weekends you can rent bikes. We biked to 17 mile Dr, what a beautiful ride! Restaurants are within a 20 min walk.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, we were warned about people walking by. It is on the ground level and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindys604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

We spent 4 nights at this beautiful ocean front B&B in August and couldn't have been happier. The period decor in the public spaces is unbelievably maintained, clean as a whistle, and fresh as a daisy! Our room, and all of them, overlook the Pacific at a peninsula near Monterey. The breakfasts were gourmet and "all you wanted." The staff, especially Beth on the main desk, were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very friendly. Centrally located to Monterey, the 17-mile drive, Carmel and this area's wine viinyards, you couldn't ask for a better combination of value, location and completeness.

Room Tip: They all have ocean views...all are excellent, with pillow top beds, fireplaces, great baths and ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robitod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been staying at Seven Gales Inn for over ten years and have seen it change, grow and get better and better. They have thought of every amenity and are attentive hosts aiming to please. Each room is decorated in a romantic victorian style with views of the bay from all different angles. The Inn is very clean and linens are the finest. Breakfasts are delicious, with hot entress, pastries and fruits (to name a few choices) that vary each day. Location can't be beat; within walking distance of Montery Bay Aquarium and downtown Pacific Grove. It is a wonderful escape from the stresses of daily urban life!

Room Tip: Each one is different; We ike the second floor location for better views and not too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyoneLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I agree with all the other rave reviews. This bed and breakfast deserves elaborate praise. It was the high point of our 9 day trip to California.

We stayed two nights in the Arbor room. The view was breathtaking--even the fog was picturesque and the evening views were also lovely. Given the abundance of windows, I suspect that the views from the other rooms were just as fantastic.

The location is perfect--you can walk to the restaurants and into Monterrey to the Aquarium. We didn't take advantage of the bike rental because we had been along the 17 mile drive the day before. But we DID take advantage of the afternoon wine tastings. There were different wines every day--2 red, 2 white, plus a sparkling cider to choose from.

Although it is not cheap, we felt this B&B was worth every penny. The next time we are in the area, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is the best B&B I've exerienced. The only drawback is the size; with 25 rooms one does not get the personal experience of hospitality that is part of a usual B&B stay. The staff is friendly and helpful. We were able to get a better deal on aquarium tickets from the concierge. The wine and cheese is fantastic. The breakfast is buffet style but still good. Cookies and milk at night, fresh tea and coffee all the time. Located across the street from the ocean and a bike/ped path that leads to the Monterey Bay Aquarium 1 mile away. Good restaraunts are also within walking distance. Sample menus and recommendations are available. The best comfy bed and sheets plus the ocean air make for a great night's sleep. Bring a make up mirror and there is no place to store toiletries in the bathroom. The decor is opulent yet comfortable. It is pricey but a very memorable place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

PRICE - $351 total per night, one room, queen comfortable bed, for weekday night in August. Our room was located in the “main house,” one of seven buildings on the property, and had a nice ocean view from our side of the building.

LOCATION – In a residential neighborhood, right at the bottom of a small hill immediately across the street from the Pacific Ocean in Pacific Grove, a four-minute walk to downtown and a thirty-second walk across the street to access the paved walking/biking path that runs along the ocean. Ample free parking on streets on either side of the property. Bike and kayak rental a three-minute walk at the ocean cove across the street. The coastal path is wonderful and extends many miles in both directions; about a mile north is Cannery Row, and about two miles north is the Monterey Pier.

ROOM – Bedroom and bathroom. Simple bedroom included bed, small table and comfortable sitting chairs – no TV in room, though one was available in the main/shared living room downstairs in the main house. I believe there are about 25 different rooms on the property, spread among the seven or so different buildings - of varying sizes and outside views.

STAFF – Very friendly and helpful.

OTHER – Free and full breakfast provided in a breakfast room in one of the other buildings on the property, with full ocean view. Only negative to breakfast during our visit was that on one day, the two “entrées” or cooked breakfast were both . . . [different kinds of] eggs (would have preferred an egg dish and then something totally different, like waffles, etc.).

Free wine and cheese provided in the beautiful sitting room area (with ocean view) from 4 to 6pm daily. Freshly baked cookies and milk provided nightly from 8-9pm in the same room (only one type of cookie served per night – would be better if they served two kinds in case you don’t like the one kind).

Room Tip: Room (ocean) views vary, so check the inn's website for specific room views if that is important...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasternUSA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Everything about the Seven Gables helped make our honeymoon a memorable experience.
We spent two nights here in the Crespi room, after much research into which would be the best room for us.
We parked easily in the car park and had tour from the lovely Donna who showed us round the house and to our room.
Crespi is a fabulous room, with two entrances: One from the main staircase in the Beach house and a seperate private entrance. Crespi is one of the rooms at the top of the Beach house, with huge picture windows that overlooked Monterey Bay. The bed was literally the comfiest we have ever slept it, a choice of pillows was provided and a turn down service everynight a long with a newsletter that detailed the breakfast menu the next day. along with the weather etc
The cheese and wine was one of our favourite experiences (local wines/cheeses) and we really enjoyed chatting to Julie, and looking through the photo album detailing the history of the house.
Breakfasts were nice and a large selection of different items provided.
Very short walk along the cliffs to Monterey Aquarium and Cannery Row and from our room we could see Sea Otters and Seals realxing on the rocks (Binoculars provided in the room)
You can also order packages at this B and B, which are excellent. I had ordered Sparkling wine, truffles and a note to be left for my husband, which was waiting for us in our room on arrival.
Cannot wait to come back next time we are in this area.

Room Tip: We chose Crespi, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
856 reviews
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £260 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing