We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is going to sound like heresy but...”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“This is going to sound like heresy but...”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I booked this hotel for our last night stay at the end of our two week Californian trip. I wanted a hotel with a view and something impressive so I picked Seven Gables and one of their premium rooms - Fairmont. The price for this was well above anything I'd paid for the rest of the trip so my expectations were high. These were expectations that weren't fulfilled unfortunately.

I have to say that I can see why this place has its fans - the place is decorated to a very high standard - fully renovated and quite sumptuous. The service was also excellent - we met the Operations Manager, Mr. Wheelwright who, after a short chat, provided us with some itinerary options for our final day - good ones as it turned out. It was a pleasure to meet him.

Many of the guests had clearly stayed more than once before and absolutely love the place - the impression I got was that the grandness of the public spaces and the quality of the personal attention they received is what endears them to the place.

So why was I disappointed? Basically because of the room - it did have a nice view and a comfortable large bed but it kind of ended there. The room wasn't that big - just about room for a couple of chairs alongside the bed. There was no closet or wardrobe - merely a small hanging rail. We couldn't have used that for more than a night. Neither was there a bath - it had a shower. There is no air conditioning - probably not such a big deal in a town that doesn't get overly warm. There's no TV in the room (but I did know that when I booked it). Finally there's no tea or coffee making facility - that is available from early morning but in a completely diffferent building.

If I'd been paying about $200, say, for this I would have been somewhat happy (or at least reconciled) but it cost way, way more than that and it makes me think I'll maybe save my pennies and research more carefully next time.

Don't get me wrong, it's a very nice place and I can see how it attracts a following (mainly of more mature guests) but it wasn't our style and it's not what I would shell out good money for again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    51
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
431
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Yes the Seven Gables deserves all the superlative reviews.....it is perfectly located and immaculate. However It was the most expensive accommodation in our recent USA trip and given the price found it lacked the services of the 5 star hotels and didn't quite match the personal touch of the other inns where we stayed. While the wine and cheese was exceptional the breakfast had a limited choice and service. There is no TV in the room and our room was quite small. While overall Seven Gables is lovely I don't think it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthOperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a nearly perfect place to stay. We spent 2 nights and wished it had been more. The Inn is kept immaculate and the staff is excellent. The breakfast and the wine and cheese gathering were both outstanding. We stayed in the Breakers Room and it was great! I highly recommend this property for couples.

Room Tip: If you are taller than 5'10 the Breakers room bathroom could be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgatoblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Wow! What a place and what a view. We stayed in the Cypress room for two nights mid-week in September. The Cypress room is the largest at the Inn and provides stunning views. The room is very classy and well done. No one below you and no one above you. The Inn is beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and the common areas are spotless, clean and well decorated. The breakfast in the morning is awesome and is served in a room with stunning view of Monterey Bay. The staff at the Inn may be the best part of the stay. All are very professional, polite and friendly. Not a bad walk to the Cannery Row area or to the Pacific Ocean. Whenever we travel to the Monterey area, we will stay at this magnificent Inn.

Room Tip: Cyrpess is the way to go if you do not mind spending the money. It is the largest room by far at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLofCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua Kona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 45th anniversary 4-night stay here. The location in Pacific Grove is perfect. We were able to walk to evening dining spots in Pacific Grove. The view from our room (Julia) was exceptional. What a treat to watch the Harbor seals basking on the exposed rocks along the shore line right from our room. As many reviewers indicated the breakfast is wonderful. My husband appreciated being able to have some gluten free options. However, for us the wine and cheese in the afternoon was the best. The staff is very friendly and most accommodating. We would definitely stay at the Seven Gables Inn again and plan to.

Room Tip: WE enjoyed the view from the room from Julia. The bathroom fan was a bit noisy but that was a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiana59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Delightful and friendly, beautifully furnished, comfortable bed, quiet at night with windows open, views to die for, lots of freebies to include full breakfast, wine/snacks from 4 to 6 (as much as you want happy hour which many guests gather for), and cookies in the evening. Formal setting yet very casual. Many restaurants in walking distance as well as waterfront stroll in each direction for at least a mile and all the way to the wharf. We had a great time, exceeding our expectations. Thank you, we'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gable room. It is not as formal as some of the other rooms but quite spacious. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We arrived on Friday a few hours before check in and were warmly greeted by Donna, who gave us a tour of the inn. She was very nice and checked us in early. We decided to go into town for a late lunch prior to getting our room and Donna made several great suggestions. We arrived back at the inn around 3:40 pm and was shown to our room, the Ocean Mist. The room was very pleasing to the eye and was spacious and clean. The large window with the ocean view was spectacular. Over the next three days, we enjoyed the wonderfully prepared breakfast each morning. The wine and cheese get together in the afternoons were great with a great selection of different cheeses, crackers, wine, and fruit. Every night upon returning to our room, we were to find a few Dove Chocolates with our turn down service. They even printed out what the next days breakfast would be. They served cookies and milk in the evening. We have stayed in several Bed & Breakfast's all over the U.S., and the Seven Gables Inn is by far the best we have experienced. The entire staff was superb, the service was excellent, the inn was spectacular, and the food was fresh and delightful. We had such a cozy stay, we are planning to return in January or February next year. No complaints other then we didn't stay longer! Do not pass up this Inn, anyplace else won't compare. See you in 2014!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
3.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this comfortable, relaxing inn. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. Free on-street parking and free high speed wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing