We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself to a lovely stay!”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
pitt meadows
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Treat yourself to a lovely stay!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The location of the Inn can simply not be beat. Right at beautiful Lover's Point with a walking/running/biking trail going all along the water, you couldn't stay anywhere more central. Each night we were a 10 minute walk to fabulous restaurants and shops. A quick 5 minute drive to Cannery Row and only about 30 minutes to Carmel by the Sea. I came with my sisters and mom for a birthday weekend and rented the jewell cottage which was essentially our own house for the 3 nights. The atmosphere and level of customer service and attention to detail could not be beat. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious each morning, the wine and cheese happy hour was fabulous with great varieties of wine, cheeses and many other little appetizers. We especially enjoyed coming by the main house for fresh baked cookies and milk or coffee and tea. All the ladies took excellent care of us and ensured our stay was exceptional. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmacpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    52
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
436
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Not every hotel or Inn is for every person, of course, and this place while in a beautiful setting, was not for me. However, if you like over the top Victorian decor (some might see it as kitsch) then you are in the right place - seriously. My bed was comfortable, the room clean, the staff incredibly nice and helpful, the grounds manicured and gardened and, the setting, right on the Monterey Bay, incredible. Also it's proximity to town is wonderful - everything can be walked to.
Breakfast could have been better..why is the bread from grocery store plastic bags when there are such good local bakeries around. Why not feature organic eggs and milk and why oh why serve Coffee Mate? It was served beautifully but not up to contemporary expectations and standards of what quality food is these days. And one other thing; I forgot toothpaste and was told quite pointedly that that does not provide such things to guests. Period.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We appreciate the very positive comments that this guest gave Seven Gables for his stay for 2 nights in late Feb. in the Fairlawn Room. He booked on line directly through our website which has numerous, large, beautiful and accurate photos of our Lobby, Breakfast Room and every one of our 25 ocean view guest rooms. Seven Gables is furnished with quality antiques mixed with new and modern items for guest comfort. The antiques are mostly museum quality, as opposed to just old furniture and things, which are shared with our guests in the lobby as well as in the individual guest rooms. We realize that our Inn is not everyone’s taste but we are confident our website represents exactly what we offer. Our guest, however, did not mention any problem with the room or Inn during his entire stay with us. If a guest decides that the room or accommodations are not to their liking for some reason we offer a full and immediate refund.

We receive consistent rave reviews on our breakfast offerings and service. We use only fresh, high quality ingredients for all of our food offerings for breakfast, for our wine and cheese from 4-6pm each day and our homemade cookies and milk each evening. Our ingredients are locally sourced with most coming from the Salinas Valley just 10 miles from the Inn. Our bread selection is from a local bakery which delivers daily. Just a note: the plastic bag from the bakery is kept on the bread for sanitary reasons and to keep each slice fresh. The one exception to the local bakery selections is that we offer a national brand of raisin bread because the quality is not something we are able to find locally for this popular flavor.

Again, we appreciate the positive comments from this guest and sincerely hope he enjoyed his visit to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My title is because this beautiful B&B can be a perfect romantic get away as well as for "just" friends or even for those traveling solo. With a variety of beautiful rooms/suites there is something for everyone. We were traveling with another couple as well as a friend from Australia. Four of us stayed in the Sea View Cottage which has two beautiful bedrooms that open into a private garden complete with a fountain, a central area with a table for 4, fireplace, TV and an entry with built in benches to enjoy the ocean view. Our friend stayed in a single with a spectacular view though it is on the main path to the main house so can be a bit busy. The breakfast was yummy with family style seating making it easy to meet other guests. Happy hour served up excellent light eats and wine and another opportunity to meet and greet. The staff was helpful, the beds, sheets and pillows heavenly. Less than a mile to the Monterey Bay aquarium and the 17-mile drive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinlife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Seven Gables Inn is sublime. We splurged and stayed in the Sea View Cottage, which afforded us privacy and ocean views. The room was beautifully decorated with exquisite artwork, spacious, and in pristine condition. It featured a small sunlit entry with window seats and a gorgeous water view. The master bedroom opened to a private patio with a fountain and mural of Monterey Bay. The bed was divine. The bed sheets were so comfortable that we ordered a set..

The public areas of the inn had plentiful seating with stunning views of the bay. Even the beautifully landscaped gardens had seating overlooking the bay. At breakfast we watched pods of dolphins and playful otters in the ocean through the large windows What a treat.

The staff and location were superb. It's a few blocks to restaurants, shops, and a movie theater. Seven Gables is our new favorite luxury inn. The Seven Gables Inn is peaceful, stunningly gorgeous, and romantic. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Beach House features unobstructed water views, but the ground level affords less privacy due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SierraMadretravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Fabulous location. Our room didn't have a full view, but we opted not to be on the ground
floor with people walking by. There are restaurants you can walk to that are wonderful
and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annagoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just stayed at the Seven Gables Inn, for one night, a week ago. We stayed in the Ocean Mist room, which is an incredibly huge room, with a breath-taking ocean view. There is a street that runs in front of the inn between the ocean and the property. You could hear the ocean with the windows open but with the street noise (it is not a busy road) we were unable to keep the windows open while we slept. There is no AC, TV or phone, which I knew and was not a problem for us. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts are gracious. We did have one problem: my husband has a severe feather allergy and I had requested a feather-free room. Upon our arrival, no less than three people assured us that they had removed the feather bedding, including the woman that showed us the room. I took their word for it and didn't check until bedtime and was disappointed to find out that there were feather pillows and a feather comforter on the bed. We have experienced this problem before at many hotels but I think a small inn at these prices should have done a better job of following up on their maids. I put the comforter and pillows in the armoire and my husband slept with towels rolled up. I mentioned this when I checked out and the woman at the desk apologized but that was all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We appreciate all the time and effort that this guest took to give such a detailed review and express her opinion about Seven Gables Inn’s accommodations and customer service. We are happy to hear that they enjoyed the lovely Ocean Mist room and how much they enjoyed their breakfast which we serve overlooking scenic Lover’s Point.

We do want to apologize to these guests who experienced a rare glitch in our customer service follow through. The down comforter and 2 down pillows (of the 5 pillows in the room) were not removed from the room as they requested. For that we are truly sorry. Our front desk staff and housekeeping staff did not follow through as was requested by these guests and scheduled to be done prior to their arrival.

There is somebody on site easily accessible 24 hours a day both directly and by phone. The contact phone numbers, day and night, are prominently displayed in each room so that our guests can contact us for assistance at all times. We sincerely wish that these guests had notified us and we would have changed the comforter to a non-down comforter immediately, no matter the time of day. There are 5 pillows on each bed: 2 large down pillows and 3 fiberfill pillows which we point out during the check-in tour. Also, in each room is a large, king-size, fluffy extra blanket which could have been used as an alternative bed covering if they did not want to contact anyone to make the change in comforters.

We do not have air conditioning in any of our rooms, nor do any houses and very few hotels in the entire Monterey area. We are blessed with temperatures in Pacific Grove that do not vary much more than 20 degrees any time of the year. 60-65 is our typical high in summer or winter. In fact, the day that they stayed in mid-February the high was 59 and the low was 46.

Pacific Grove is a very quiet town. Along Ocean View Blvd, our front street and on the side street that the Ocean Mist overlooks there are very, very few cars at night on either of the streets so we are amazed that they refer to “traffic noise” as a problem unless they retired early in the evening before 7pm. In addition, the day they stayed with us was the Monday of the Presidents' Day Weekend and the majority of tourists visiting for this weekend had left the area.

Again, our sincere apologies for not delivering the level of service that these guests expected and deserved. I can personally assure them that if they were to stay with us on their next trip to California, they will have a seamless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Absolutely beautiful location with a grand view of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. The Inn is a glorious Victorian with greats rooms that each offer a different feel. We state there on our honeymoon in 1993 and returned last in 2013. We truly wish we could go every year, but it's a big world. The Breakers Room is the crown jewel and we planned far enough ahead to get it for our most recent stay. Beautiful front porch for the morning sun and a back porch that allowed us to watch the long lovely sunset at night with many other guests. Everyone is friendly and relaxed. Who wouldn't be? It's the Super Bowl of B&Bs with a terrific breakfast, pleasant accommodating staff and an ambiance that has to be experienced. Can't say enough about the Inn and the area. Go before you die!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the place, but the first floor provides the nicest views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimConnecticut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Property: Seven Gables Inn
Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing