We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally wonderful!!!!”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although one normally associates a B & B as a place for romance, such wasn't the case with our trip. We were two childhood girlfriends escaping for a girls'/mom getaway and treating ourselves for our upcoming birthdays (just about a week apart). Seven Gables was more than we expected, even with the rave reviews on Trip Advisor! We LOVED the property (Victorian EVERYTHING) which was fantasy-like (so tired of the modern decor at most places now....cold and uninviting). We LOVED the staff~ so friendly, positive, helpful. We LOVED all of the wonderful 'perks'....the delicious morning breakfast, the afternoon wine tasting with appetizers, and the evening fresh-baked cookies. Our room was fabulous with a view of the ocean and a comfortable sitting area. We are both well-traveled from Northern California staycations, to traveling abroad. Seven Gables was a very pleasant surprise and now we can't wait to go again, only next time we'll bring our husbands! :)

Room Tip: They seemed to have several great options. We chose the Carriage House because it had quick and eas...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
There are newer reviews for Seven Gables Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have always talked about staying here and finally got a chance to when my husband and I stayed here mid-week for our anniversary celebration. Although it was only one night, we had the best service and attention given to us by the friendly staff. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time and Donna helped us clear the paperwork and gave us ideas on what to do while waiting for the room to be ready. When we returned it was time for the wine and cheese hour where Donna and another staff chatted with us, inquiring about day and offering advise on dinner choices to us and other guest. The wine were from local wineries (my hubby loved them) and I enjoyed the cheeses and spread.
The room was lovely with a heavenly bed - so comfortable. The main feature of the room is the ocean view. I could relax by the window and scan for whales. My efforts paid off and I did see some whales. There's milk and cookies at night before retiring for the night. Of course all B&Bs are judge by the breakfast and here the breakfast was simply delicious. Great spread from fruits, breads, oatmeal to eggs and bacon and quiches. Nothing beats having breakfast with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and seeing lazy seals on the rocks on the foggy morning.
Check out was quick and simple. We now wished we had stayed two nights. Pacific Grove is a wonderful quiet town to visit and Seven Gables Inn is a wonderful relaxing place to spend the night. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on the street level - that would be the ones with the most noise. Rooms on t...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dsjohuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Clearly not many reviewers have visited decent inns worldwide because this is not one...rooms are tiny (we stayed in the Lover's Point room advertised with a view if you get up on a chair perhaps and ignore the street and traffic and watch overhead towards the sea) and comfortable once in bed...that's it. Beds are on the small side. Bathroom OK but nothing to shout home about. Not much pressure in the shower and no bath. Now breakfast is near appalling with brown juice masquerading as coffee and everything you cannot name or place as every artificial foodstuff in the book...but the best is yet to come when paying the bill: this is the worst quality/price ratio we experienced on our trip down the west coast. A treat for those with more money than taste (everyone has their own bad taste but here they have just more!). Best avoided especially given the abundance of competition next door.

Room Tip: Avoid the place altogether!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We want to thank this UK guest for the time he took to write a review of Seven Gables Inn shortly after he stayed with us this week on Monday, July 21.

We do need to respond to his statements to provide some additional information and make some corrections and clarifications.

This guest booked 1 day in advance of his arrival and spoke with our Front Desk Manager, Rosalie, who described the 2 rooms that were available in great detail before he selected the Lover’s Point Room which is a mid-size single room of approximately 220 sq. feet with a king bed, large full bathroom with shower only, high ceilings, state of the art electric fireplace and a view looking directly out at the ocean through a window 4’X5’. He was traveling with his adult son and requested a room with 2 beds. We had our large, 1100+ sq.ft. Sea View Cottage available with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room area with special amenities that are not found in our single room accommodations. This was available for $270 more than the room he chose but he stated he did not want to pay any more and decided to take the Lover’s Point room, instead.

Our guest was probably not aware that California is suffering through a severe multi-year drought. In the Monterey area we are mandated by our water board to conserve water and at Seven Gables Inn we have implemented many procedural changes to conserve water in our non-guest area to minimize the impact on our guests. The Monterey area water management district requires all users to have low flow showerheads and low flow toilets that provide excellent water pressure with a minimum use of water resources.

We realize that European and English tastes in coffee and food are different than in the U.S. but this is what makes it fun to travel and experience new places and new food. Our coffee is from Peerless which makes a high quality and consistent product which is very much to the taste of U.S. coffee drinkers and is very popular with our guests. Our breakfast food is prepared from scratch daily from high quality locally sourced fresh ingredients. The morning these guests had breakfast we served Peach Pancakes, Grits, Aidell’s chicken apple sausage along with our standard items of fresh fruit, yogurts, Odwalla juice selections, several kinds of cereals made in house and other items that we offer daily.

Again, we thank this guest for expressing his opinion about his stay. We are confident that we offer very high value and quality for the price we charge. There are many options for accommodations and prices in the Monterey area and we appreciate the many guests who come and stay with us, the consistently excellent ratings that we receive on Trip Advisor and the high percentage of guests who return over and over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We only spent one night....but would gladly have spent several more! From the warm welcome, the Wine happy hours, sumptuous breakfast, the beautiful accomdations, friendly guests and to the outstanding view, every minute was well spent and worth every penny. There is a nice park and walk way across the street and only a 3 block walk up to down town for multiple dining choices. Quick drive to the 17 Mile Drive and most beaches.

The only concern, not really a complaint, would be the lack of secure parking...expect to park on the street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria room, nice views. Rooms in the Main and Beach house probably have better...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menace03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is one of the best country inns we have visited through our travels in Canada, USA, Europe and Asia. The location is simply amazing with spectacular view of Monterey Bay. This half an acre, 25-room property sits in a quiet residential neighbourhood by the waterfront. The coastal walking trail is just across the street and it leads up to Monterey Bay Aquarium in a leisurely 20-minute walk. Along the trail, you can easily spot sea otters, seals, sea lions and sea birds along the coast. The Inn is also very close to the scenic 17-Mile Drive and the charming European-style village of Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Seven Gables Inn consists of several historic buildings, some as far back as 1880's. The owners spare no expense in restoring and maintaining the property in an immaculate condition. The gardens, the landscaping, the furnishings all show a lot of detailed attention. As soon as we arrived here, we felt like entering a timeless world of serenity and romance.

Our family of four stayed in the 1,200 sq. ft. Sea View Cottage which has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, living room with fireplace, dining table, and a private deck and garden accessible from both bedrooms. This building dates back to 1900 but it looks like it's just been renovated. Everything is clean and looks brand new. The free WiFi worked well in the cottage. There's no air conditioning, and honestly, you won't need that. We were there late June and at night we had to close all the windows because it was chilly. Binoculars were provided for our use during the stay. They proved to be very helpful in our search for sea otters in the kelp forests along the coast.

Breakfast (included in the room rate) was another enjoyable part of our stay. It's served buffet style in the Oceanfront Dining Room and included fresh seasonal fruits, home made breads (YUMMY!) and pastries, and different hot entrees every day. The recipes are unique (you can buy their cookbook). The servers took time to talk to us about our travels and offered suggestions on what to do/where to visit in the area. We also enjoyed the complimentary afternoon wine and cheese served in the Main House.

The staff here was very welcoming, professional and efficient. After I received confirmation for my on-line booking, the staff contacted me by email a few times offering help with dining reservation, and asking if I have any special requests. Two weeks prior to our arrival, I received a welcoming message along with detailed arrival instructions (eg. driving directions, parking arrangements, where to check in, restaurant guides, etc.) We were given a tour of the property upon check in and were directed to our cottage. The hostess showed us the facilities inside our cottage and explained the breakfast arrangements. We were looking for laundry facility (which they don't have on site) and she referred us to a coin laundry 5 minutes' drive away.

There are 5-6 spots in their on-site parking, available on a first come first serve basis. Two of the spots are handicapped parking and can be reserved upon request. There are lots of free parking on the streets around the Inn. Depending on the building you're staying at, it may be more convenient to park on the street than the on-site parking.

This is a perfect place for a couple's romantic getaway, or for families with older children. Our 18-year old daughter enjoyed this place very much. Their rooms are not child proof, and the quiet atmosphere doesn't work with young children.

I am very pleased that I picked the Seven Gables Inn instead of the hotels around Cannery Row in Monterey, even though Seven Gables is more expensive. It's worth it!

Hats off to the owners and staff for a job well done! Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. They have a strict policy on maximum number of guests allowed in each room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JobeeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I first saw this Inn when I was driving around Monterey with a girl friend and I made her stop so we could get a better look. We were graciously offered a tour by the owners when we stopped in to ask more about this beautiful destination, and I knew then that I would be returning with my husband for a romantic special occasion weekend. Unbelievable is the word I often use to describe every aspect of our stay. From the moment you walk in, to the moment you unwillingly have to return home it is a magical time of gracious and relaxing elegance. Every room has a view, and the common rooms are just as special with the sweeping views of the ocean combined with the warm conversation of other guests as you share the sumptuous breakfasts, wine and cheese offerings in the afternoons, or the milk and cookies in the evenings.
Even after we moved from California twenty years ago, this has remained our most desired destination for vacations and special celebrations and I think it always will. It never disappoints!!!

Room Tip: Every room has a view, there is not a bad one to be had.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank freshstart54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I have been meaning to drive up the California coast from Orange County to see Big Sur and the Monterey Peninsula for some time, and I finally decided that her birthday was the perfect excuse to get away and to do it right. I was originally considering hotels in Big Sur itself, but they didn't seem to fit the bill for us. Most aren't actually on the coast (no sea views), or are too rustic, or are too isolated from the rest of civilization. So I moved my search into the Monterey / Carmel area, and encountered some of the same problems. Many of the wonderful Inns and Hotels in Carmel and Monterey don't actually sit on or near the shore. For me, the whole point of a weekend at the coast is to see and experience the ocean as much as possible.

Which brought me to the Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove. I am not typically a "Bed & Breakfast" type. I don't want to become best friends with the innkeeper, or chat with the other guests at breakfast. But the location of the Seven Gables, right on the water, won me over.

We booked the Rocky Shores Room for the weekend and enjoyed panoramic views of the ocean from two different windows. We fell asleep each night, and woke up in the mornings, to the sounds of the waves gently washing over the rocks at the shoreline just a few yards from the Inn. That is true luxury. The King-size bed was amazingly comfortable, and everything about the rooms (including the notable absence of a television) seems designed to enhance a quality romantic getaway for two.

We did enjoy the nightly cheese & wine reception, and the excellent breakfast. And we chatted at breakfast with another couple who told us more than we ever wanted to know about the history of the Porsche automobile. Oh well.

The Inn is within walking distance of Cannery Row in Monterey (about 1 mile away along a gorgeous seaside pathway), and a short drive to Carmel.

I don't always go high-end with our lodging. I'll stay in a Motel 6 if it fits my lodging needs, and more often than not end up in a Courtyard by Marriott or the Embassy Suites. But for a special occasion, I am willing to spend what it takes. The Seven Gables Inn certainly made our occasion special, and it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: The website lets you reserve specific rooms, and has pictures that do an excellent job showing you w...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Earl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £259 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing