We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I splurged on a three day getaway at the the Seven Gables. It is beautifully furnished and decorated and immaculate -- we even saw someone dusting the outside of the building. The location is ideal, overlooking Monterey Bay with beautiful views from our room and the lovely breakfast room. And it's only a short walk to downtown, with lots of shops and good restaurants. Staff were gracious and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of flowers and several areas where one could sit, either overlooking the bay or the gardens. It was quiet and peaceful. The breakfasts were bountiful, with lots of choices, and a very good variety, but the entrees were not cooked to order, as we would have expected at such an expensive B & B. Instead, they were prepared ahead and kept warm in chafing dishes, and though they were good, they were not as fresh and piping hot as we would have liked. The fresh fruit included some that were not in season, such as canteloupe, honeydew and strawberries, and they were tough and had little flavor. We found the bread from Paris Bakery to be dull and flavorless. We like to sit quietly and read the newspaper while we have our breakfast, but there was only one table for two, and it has no voew. We usually had to sit at a larger table with other people, some of whom were quite chatty.

Our room was beautifully furnished and had a spectacular view of the bay, and two comfortable chairs that were on wheels, so could easily be turned to face into the room or outward for the view. Linens and towels were excellent. But we found the room just a bit too small, so that if someone were sitting in a chair, there wasn't enough room for the other to walk by.

There is so much to love about The Seven Gables Inn, and if we had paid $225 or $250, we would have been satisified, but at an average nightly rate of $317, we felt it was not a good enough value, and wouldn't return..

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

We just love this place. It's right on the ocean with remarkable views, a wonderful gourmet breakfast, wine tasting in the afternoon and even cookies at night. The staff are exceptional and each room is quite distinct. We are partial to one that is on the third floor, almost attic like, but wonderfully cozy and private. We have never heard anyone from another room in our several visits.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We planned our stay here based solely on TripAdvisor reviews and it didn't disappoint. Unfortunately we didn't plan enough time here to really enjoy it. We arrived during the wine & cheese reception but were starving so we headed into town for a bite to eat. LaNormandie was a good recommendation from the front desk. Since we were still on East Coast time, we were asleep early and up in time to catch the sunrise and see some sea lions. Breakfast was the best of our trip served in a quaint sitting room. We headed to Pebble Beach wishing we would have spend more time at Seven Gables.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letmbkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed here for our 16th Wedding Anniversary and we truly enjoyed our stay. We love the little things they provide for your like the binoculars, the flashlight(if you want to walk by the water at night) and the chocolates and breakfast menu they leave on your bed at bedtime. Also they have free internet. They really know how to treat you well. Our room was very clean and actually the whole place is well maintained. They really try to be attentive to the needs of their guests. We love the breakfast and the breakfast room is just so beautifully decorated. They greet you and attend to your needs. The cook even came out and greeted us all. The food selection is great. We are vegetarians but they had enough selections for us to choose from so we didn't go hungry. (I did make a suggestion to provide Soymilk for those who are lactose intolerant like me) We had a very restful and delightful time and would definitely go back and even recommend it to our friends. Thank you to all the staff and keep up the great job!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvetotrvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Our stay at Seven Gables was charming and comfortable. The May Fair room was large, very clean and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and very friendly service by the breakfast staff. One note, the inn is by a very busy road next to the ocean, but the inside of the inn is quiet and peaceful. It's a fantastic place to stay for a getaway in the Monterey area. We will definitely return again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shinywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at The Sevens Gables in late September 2010. We were on a road trip, alternating between visiting friends and staying in hotels. The inn's location is perfect. Every room has a view of Monterey Bay. The wine and cheese hour offered a nice spread with great cheese and some decent local wine. The bedtime cookies were a nice touch and the breakfast was great. The bedding and bathroom amenities were wonderful. My only complaint was that the exhaust fan in our bathroom was too loud. Other than that, the Seven Gables offers perfection by the sea!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eakNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Had a wonderful time at the Seven Gables Inn. From the welcome wine and cheese gathering to our last breakfast, our time at the Inn was very relaxing and we certainly felt pampered. The Inn is located right on the bay and provides easy access to all of the main sites on the peninsula.

Staff were very attentive and the rooms were immaculately maintained. We would certainly recommend the Inn to our friends. We enjoyed our time so much, we are already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rammer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
910 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2653
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £233 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Gables Inn overlooks beautiful Monterey Bay and offers dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and coastal mountains from all directions. ALL OCEAN VIEW ROOMS with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary bountiful breakfast served in the oceanfront dining room overlooking Lover's Point cove. Complimentary afternoon wine and cheese pouring only Monterey County wines. Complimentary evening housemade cookies and milk to finish your day. Complimentary high speed WIFI. Free parking. Close to Monterey Aquarium, Cannery Row, 17 Mile Drive, Carmel, Big Sur and other scenic sights. View our website for additional information on rooms and special rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing