We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Gosby House Inn!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Loved the Gosby House Inn!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed one night in the Judge Langford room- cozy, clean and comfortable. The Gosby House is an amazing B&B with all the little extra touches (a personalized welcome note in our room, the turndown service with a rose and chocolates on the pillow) that really made it special. We loved the wine and appetizers when we arrived, and the cookies and sherry before bed. Breakfast the next morning was excellent in the cozy dining room. Friendly staff rounded out our perfect stay. Pacific Grove is a cute little town outside Monterey, and we can't wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    133
    46
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
345
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We celebrated my birthday at Gosby House two years in a row. We love the ambiance, friendliness of the staff, comfort of our room and comfortable bed, the ability to walk to restaurants, a book store, good shopping, and movies. We loved the breakfasts, coffee all day, and the wine/snacks in the afternoon. We will be returning to Gosby House any time we want to be in the Monterey area.

Room Tip: We had Room #1, which was right in the front, second floor. Very quiet and peaceful room. We have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We did a family trip to the Monterey area and decided to stay here in Pacific Grove. We have stayed at other Four Sisters Inns and really like them. This one was no exception. It's a very cute B&B in a great location. We were able to easily walk to dinner every night and walk around the town and along the beach walk. It's about a mile from the aquarium so you could walk there too.

The breakfast was nice and happy hour and late night desserts were great. Our room, Trimmer Hill, was also pretty nice. The bed was comfortable and it had a fireplace. Our only complaint about the room is that there was no tub in the bathroom. For this price, you should really have a tub. We also brought our child and it was a tight fit to have him in there too but doable. The room also opens right into one of the main rooms so that might be an issue for some although it worked well for us.

Another family member stayed in the Gassy Alec room, upstairs in the main house. This room was teeny so would probably only work well for a single person. A couple could do it but it would be a tight fit. We didn't need TVs but I'm not sure why this room didn't have one. The one room for a single person is the one room that should have a TV!

We really liked staying in the main house so that we didn't have to walk around outside to get to breakfast, happy hour, and late night desserts.

Our only complaint was that the decor of the hotel was a bit much. It was really pretty fussy and cluttered. It had the kind of decor that people make fun of B&Bs for having. It would be great to simplify some of the patterns and get rid of some of the knick knacks.

Room Tip: Trimmer Hill was excellent if you have a kid. The entrance is right into one of the main room, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent last weekend here for a family vacation. The B and B was lovely with charming rooms, fireplace and awesome breakfast. We were in Flora's room which had a super comfortable bed and deep seated jacuzzi bathtub to die for. The B and B sells 2 day Monterey Bay Aquarium passes for the price of 1 day which was a perk. Its also a great location. 1 block from the passion fish resturant( which is fantastic) 2 blocks from the ocean and a long biking path. Its also in walking distance to the aquarium which can save you the hassel of parking downtown. The staff was super hepful including finding me a toothbrush which naturally since I packed at 1am the night before leaving I forgot. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundance22583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice room with a fireplace, but could use some updating. Homemade breakfast served in the morning. Friendly helpful staff. Inside the Inn seems rather drab. No bright colors or interesting artifacts to look at. Probably because staff leaves the premises at night, so nothing of value is displayed.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 602travelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spent one night at the Gosby House Inn. Loved the style of the Inn with "Laura Ashley"-style tapestries and very nice afternoon wine and dip. Breakfast was plentiful and of really good quality with an aspargus omelette, granola, english muffins, toast, OJ etc. Very small bathroom though and minimal basin in the room.
Do visit the beautiful Lovers Point park! Can also really recommend the nearby restaurant Passionfish two blocks down - we had one of our best meals during a two-week vacation at this restaurant (try the lobster)! Reservation necessary!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
390 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Our second time staying here and so much to return to....this visit we were in the Farley room 19...great outside entrance on the main floor. Perfect fireplace, comfy bed and truly the best, quietest spa tub ever! True, it is literally a stretch to get into without hitting yourself on the metal tub enclosure...but worth the care!! Soothing and delightful! We did have a bit of a problem with the outside lighting...hard to remember to switch it off since they have lovely turn-down service that leaves it on for you. Perhaps management can leave a reminder on those outside rooms:). Lovely staff. We weren't impressed with the hot breakfast either day...underdone egg dishes and difficult to keep warm, even if they were done well. Again, being picky here...especially for the mid-week stay a night, get a night free offer! Next time, I'd probably just skip the breakfast, although my husband enjoyed the oatmeal:). Lovely location...a few blocks to the incredible Pacific Grove path along Monterey Bay.

Room Tip: Check the great web site...very large selection with excellent details about the room size, bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.4 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing