We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful attention to detail”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I loved this place. It was our honeymoon and the staff recognized our occasion by having balloons and a lovely personal note in our room. We loved the afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres as well as the turn down service and the fresh cookies. The breakfast was really good and the staff were so nice and personable. The town of Pacific Grove was one of our most favorite places we visited and the Gosby House was our favorite accommodation. I highly recommend this lovely place!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 403ameliap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    133
    46
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
346
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Gosby house is one of those gems that come your way now and again,situated in a quiet part of town,but with everything close by.Service is great,rooms clean,attractive and comfortable,the afternoon tea and wine is superb,as is the later Sherry and cake,a nice way to meet and talk to fellow guests.Find it hard to pick faults with the hotel,a great place to stay.

Room Tip: It seems that all rooms were fine,the one we stayed in was at the side of the hotel and was maybe qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazzer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich/Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Gosby House Inn and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Due to a special offer (2nd night free) we were able to stay in one of the bigger rooms (with a very comfortable bed, flatscreen TV, fireplace and jacuzzi tub). All the staff members were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated the complimentary snacks, drinks & goodies and a plentiful breakfast. Gosby House Inn is conveniently located in central Pacific Grove, a nice little town within walking distance to Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetCountryWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We spent 2 nights in this B & B at the beginning of our PCH trip. I would definitely have been happy to stay longer. We arrived just after they had cleared away the afternoon drinks and snacks but the guy on reception was very kind and brought us a plate of raw vegetables with a dip and a carafe of wine - both very welcome after the long drive.

The room was quaintly old-fashioned - on the ground floor right next to reception but with 2 doors between us and the main hall so we didn't hear any noise, which I was a bit concerned about at first. In fact, it proved to be very convenient as we were still jet-lagged and waking early so it was ideal for putting on a dressing gown (provided) and going out to make ourselves a cup of tea in the early morning, as there was constantly a supply of hot water and tea,coffee and hot chocolate in the reception area. The other aspect of the room that I really liked was that it had a colonial-style private porch with a swing and other seating on it. A door opened from the room directly onto this. It directly overlooked the main street but I still quite enjoyed sitting on it with a glass of wine or cup of coffee.

In the evenings sherry and cookies were provided in the reception area. The breakfasts were excellent - not a lot of choice but perfectly adequate and had a definite home-cooked appeal. In the afternoons, as previously referred to, there were some quite substantial snacks and local wine.

The location was ideal for our early morning walks along the coastal path where we saw seals, sea-lions, dolphins, sea otters and loads of sea-birds. You could also walk in about 20-30 minutes to the Cannery Row area and the Aquarium. The only think we found lacking in the location was that it would have been nice to have found a local bar for an evening drink. There were some in Cannery Row but we were very tired by evening so would have preferred to find something more locally for a nightcap. We searched but could only find restaurants and tearooms.

On one of the days, we borrowed the bikes belonging to the B & B. It has to be said that these are a bit of a challenge to ride as they are not the most modern! - no gears and only a back-pedal brake, but good exercise nonetheless, and there was no charge for using them.

All in all, this B & B was a cut above B & Bs I've stayed in in the UK and was excellent value for the price we paid (a 'special' for midweek nights) Pacific Grove suited us as we enjoyed the walks, but it might prove to be a bit too quiet for some and we would also consider the Cannery Row area for a longer stay. I also would not want to pay double the rates we paid, which I understand is the usual price. But I did love the quirkiness of it and would happily return for another short stay at similar rates.

Room Tip: Look at the photos - all rooms are illustrated on the website. Most people seem to prefer the upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mocampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a couple of days here on a golf outing to the Monterey Peninsula. It is everything and even more than advertised. Lots of little amenities and a great attentive staff. Our room was on the small size but the building was built in the late 1800's and I guess people were a lot smaller back then.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, USA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this lovely B&B, room. Our room was located in one of the cottage type buildings and was quaint, comfortable, clean and roomy. There are several amenities including turn-down service and wine and appetizers at cocktail hour. The breakfast is simple but very good. The inn is located in a safe, quiet, convenient location. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 which faced the side street. It had a queen bed and a small patio. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed one night in the Judge Langford room- cozy, clean and comfortable. The Gosby House is an amazing B&B with all the little extra touches (a personalized welcome note in our room, the turndown service with a rose and chocolates on the pillow) that really made it special. We loved the wine and appetizers when we arrived, and the cookies and sherry before bed. Breakfast the next morning was excellent in the cozy dining room. Friendly staff rounded out our perfect stay. Pacific Grove is a cute little town outside Monterey, and we can't wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KaChHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Martine Inn
Martine Inn
#2 of 8 in Pacific Grove
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#1 of 8 in Pacific Grove
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 643 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing