We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for the location; 3 stars for the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5 stars for the location; 3 stars for the room”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spend the memorial day weekend here and overall it was a good experience.

Positives: The location and the beach is breathtaking and that's the PSP of this place. The architecture of the resort is great and has an old world charm to it. Even though the rooms do not have a beach view, there is an easy access to the Asilomar beach and the trail is well maintained. Rooms have a balcony with lots of trees around and wild deers roaming around which is very pleasing to your eyes. Also, It is centrally located in pacific coast highway and just 30 miles to the 'must see' Big Sur Coast. Access to the scenic 17-mile drive is hardly a mile away

Negatives: Room facilities are very basic with no coffee maker, refrigerator or oven. Bathrooms are large but ours did not have a tub. Food is expensive and I would recommend to drive/walk to Pacific grove downtown (1 mile) where there are much more options

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ratheesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    265
    161
    73
    77
See reviews for
224
208
34
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Unless you are part of a conference group, the room you are given is a gamble. Last time we were lucky and got a modern room with a balcony; this time the room, while advertised as "modern", was, in fact, a lot less than modern and , being on the first floor, did not have a balcony, but did have access to chairs on a patio outside the room.
The room was dated and primitive, and dingy . No coffee maker, no side tables at beds.The wall heater sounded like a power generator. Wall sockets were loose, allowing connectors to fall out. There was a sign in the bathroom exhorting us to save water---you could save 20 gal shaving by filling the basin and not running the tap ; however, there was no stopper for the basin!
The WiFi worked well.
The shower , which drained slowly the first day, blocked on the second day and flooded the floor.
The housekeeper left the front door ajar after cleaning the first day, but nothing was stolen.
Front desk had made a note of the foregoing problems and , as compensation, made a deduction on our bill, much appreciated!
The full breakfast at $17 had become expensive, and we used the cafe in the reception building. since our last visit the cafe has fewer choices ; no fruit , no yoghurt. Service was good the first day with two people behind the counter, but chaotic the second day when there was only one person until about 8:30, when the second arrived.
All that negative stuff said, Asilomar has a great location, with lovely grounds, trees, deer wandering around, and easy access to a lovely beach.

Room Tip: Try to get Embers or similar in the same area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not terribly impressed when no stopper for wash basin! They overdo the sanctity of trees, allowing them to grow directly in front of the cafe terrace views of the ocean.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is very inefficient and poorly run. Toilet in room did not work and was not fixed next day in spite of our asking, Then they over charged on several items and failed to refund an incidentals charge. Front desk staff are really incompetent. I recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Be careful they will give you the poorest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EMH214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The check in was excruciatingly slow but we got a twin room for two nights in May for $292 which compared well to motel rates on our way up the coast from LA. The room was comfortable with a small shower cubicle. Enjoyed hiring bikes to cycle down the dedicated coastal path to Monterey. Played Pacific Grove public course too - good value for a twilight round. The pool so currently closed for repair. Lovely beach within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is a great place. My family has been using it for 40 years now - it doesn't change much at all and that is a good thing. This is a place filled with good memories for us.

The State of California runs Asilomar and they do a very nice job. Accommodations are definitely on the rustic side, but the low prices make complaints inappropriate. The food service here is also somewhat rudimentary and the food itself leaves room for improvement. But who's complaining. OK, I'll make one complaint: internet service is atrocious. No excuse for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ready314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Asilomar definitely has some rustic charm. The history of the building coupled with their efforts to support sustainability really hooked me... then I had the food! Wow! I left each day filled to the brim with delicious, local fare. It was so good. The staff were all super friendly and very helpful. I really appreciated our housekeeper, Hope. We stayed in the Shores building which was away from the construction and had decent rooms. However, some of my friends stayed on the other side of the conference ground and had to deal with the noise and tiny rooms. However, my review just reflects my stay. I would love to come back one day for fun. My stay was related to a conference.

Room Tip: The Sand building had great rooms. Ours in Shores was okay, but it was weird having the toilet, show...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel was fabulous with their environmentally-friendly practices. All of their food is from local farms, and they are very clear about ways they promote sustainability.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeGirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

How fortunate we are that the historic Asilomar buildings and fabulous grounds have been saved for us and for future generations to enjoy! Asilomar is truly a treasure. Considering the variety of groups and sheer numbers of people they accommodate, Aramark does a great job keeping this conference center running smoothly. It works well for people of all ages - wonderful especially for families and reunions! It was exciting to run into people from many countries, too - Italy, France, Japan, etc. The walk through the dunes to the beach is priceless! Asilomar is very special!

Personally, we were very pleased by the helpfulness of the staff - the front desk receptionist(thanks, Josev!) went out of his way to offer us the room that would be best for us!

Green Features: Asilomar clearly makes every effort to be environmentally-friendly, providing gentle lessons on water conservation, "green" products, easy recycling, etc.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
798 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Property: Asilomar Conference Grounds
Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing