We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Childhood Memories Renewed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asilomar Conference Grounds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Childhood Memories Renewed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Went to Asliomar many summers with my family when I was young. Being the there again with my kids brought back wonderful memories. It is a simple yet comfortable lodge where you can get a sense of family and peace. Bring a good book to read and be prepared for no TV or other usual distractions. Instead open up the window and listen to the ocean and smell the forest. Take a walk and just enjoy everything around you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    245
    152
    69
    71
See reviews for
201
200
34
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading great reviews we booked a room at Asilomar for 1 night in planning our drive from San Francisco to San Diego. The most appropriate term I can use for these rooms are lodges. They are very basic accomodations.. quite dated but our room was clean. The facility is in a great location, just a short walk through the dunes and you are at the beach. I do believe some of these reviews are over rated. It's a nice place but I would say anything above "Good" is giving this place too much credit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kush33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a destination hotel with an excellent location right on the beach, historic (but with the right amount of modern convienences) buildings and plenty of on site and nearby attractions and activities. My husband and I stayed here for a family reunion at the end of July and truly enjoyed our stay. The older accommodation buildings, where we were lucky enough to be staying, were designed by noted architech Julia Morgan at the turn of the century, so obviously they will have that wonderful old craftsman style, rustic charm. There are newer buildings, if that is your preference, but they are more expensive.

For a one night stay on the way somewhere else, this is not the place and it doesn't want to be.

The only draw back is the requirement, at least as part of a large group, to eat meals in the common dining room, which are included in the cost.

Room Tip: The buildings that are part of the original "camp" are charming and comfortable and just f...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank grifjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,139 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,518 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have stayed at Asilomar Conference Grounds several times.

1) We have attended a wedding here. It was delightful that we could all books rooms at Asilomar and enjoy the wedding. The wedding was at Asilomar State Beach (lovely setting - and amazingly it was sunny not foggy). The reception was a catered affair with dancing in one of the large halls there. In the morning we all went to breakfast in a beautiful dining room that could be reserved just for our group. The breakfast was buffet style and quite nice. The room had lots of windows for a glorious out door view.

2) We have attended work functions here. First, they have a combination of small and larger conference rooms here. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the dining hall; they were able to reserve tables for us so we could all sit together. Our favorite thing however was the group marshmellow roast that we enjoyed outside. It was nice having pool tables, swimming pool, a nice outdoor deck for team building.

3) We have also just come by ourselves for several stays, such as on holiday week-ends. We consider it then a form of "glamping" where we have a marvelous room with a setting in the woods. One can watch deer walking through. Its an easy walk to the Asilomar State Beach. For these trips, we usually buy the breakfast package and choose to dine at one of the nicer restaurants in the Monterey Bay area for dinner. We like to sit outside on the large deck at the visitor center and also enjoy the scenery or enjoy a good book. One note for families is - there is No television in the rooms. That is OK with us, but did want to note.

Overall, its a nice lodge at a state park; but think rustic with a very nice beach state park area within easy walking distance. Its very nice peaceful surroundings. Parking is nearby the room one is staying at.

Please note that there are a variety of rooms and styles. There are various locations. There are rooms with wood views; there are a few rooms with partial ocean views, as an example. We have stayed in both types. In general, paying for a nicer room/breakfast package is worth it here if within one's budget. It is one of the reasons for the variability in reviews one might see regarding Asilomar.

Service is friendly.

Room Tip: Check the various options and type of room when booking; there are several different options with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

You couldn't ask for more of the California experience than this----bikes available to rent to explore this scenic area, great pool, and lounging areas available outdoors and in. Large fireplaces in common areas which would be great in cooler months. Relaxation is mandatory here. However, the site is not within walking distance of many restaurants at all and the times for dining----7-9am, 12-1pm and 6-7pm hardly allows a leisurely dining experience. Arrived at the coffee shop shortly after breakfast over and only 2 pastries left......The dining hall hardly an option if there is a group there so reserve early.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is located. We had to walk quite a distance to get coffee in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Grounds are located right by the ocean with excellent walking and biking paths, which will lead you to pristine sands.
Staff very accommodating and courteous
Our room attendant Sunena was soo sweet and helpful!!!
Will definitely return, as soon as I get over my fear of flying :(....

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GSS776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A recent conference - July 2014. Loved this location! Rooms are basic but the location and views make up for any perceived deficiency. I loved every part of this conference location and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have ocean views. The further from the beach you are the higher and better your chanc...
See more room tips
Green Features: The dining service does not employ a buffet system so those who eat less will end up wasting food.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DE-Touron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
4.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Property: Asilomar Conference Grounds
Address: 800 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refuge by the sea is a tranquil oceanfront retreat cradled by pine forests and white sand beaches. Situated along the shoreline of California's famed Monterey Bay, Asilomar offers historic lodging with views of the forest, surf and sand, plus unique conference spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing