We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
202
301
188
82
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
301
188
82
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining hall social hall julia morgan the main lodge historic rooms cafeteria style state park arts and crafts sand dunes conference grounds rustic charm family reunion rent bikes hearst castle ping pong heated pool the pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

I wanted to love this place. I had heard good things from others that have attended conferences here. But our experience was disappointing. The room was worn and aged, not in a “cute, historic” way, but in a “sad, neglected” way. (Creaky floors, roof beams rotting out, mismatched lampshades, tub drain stop that would not seal, etc...) The walls were paper thin, and the conversation from our next door neighbors kept us awake late into the night, even while wearing earplugs. The room had high windows that were not covered by curtains, so there was no way to block out the light from the outside corridors. The historic significance and proximity to the beach are lovely, but don’t make up for a poor nights sleep, IMHO. Also, basic services such as in-room coffee would be appreciated for a room that costs over $200/night.) If this property described itself as “rustic” and priced it accordingly, we wouldn’t have been quite so disappointed.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank WittyL8dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The grounds and the lodge are rustic. However, the rooms are not worth staying at this facility. I can understand no TV [rustic] and no telephone [everybody has a cell phone, but it makes it difficult to call the front desk], but no "in room" coffee machine or microwave ! That is not "user friendly. The towels were small and rough. The bed sagged.. The water in the shower and sink was warm, and could not be made hot. There was no reading lamp near the side chairs. The lamps all had three way switches, but the bulbs only offered one level of light, which was not enough to read. Finally, there was no make-up mirror for the women guests.

Room Tip: Travelers normally come for a seminar or convention
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ARNNIE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

And the food is very good... the staff accommodating and friendly. I stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the serenity of asilomar. If your looking for CNN in the morning and a free breakfast stick with the best western. Asilomar is a gem... a diamond in the rough. It's in dire need of some cosmetic updates in the rooms. But the rooms were clean and cozy. The grounds are amazing... sunsets over the pacific just stunning.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Martha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enosesquivel800, General Manager at Asilomar Conference Grounds, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear Martha,
Thank you for choosing to stay at our grounds. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We do our best to make the customer experience as pleasant as possible.

Warm regards,
Enos Esquivel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Perfect location; seems remote but is close to everything. No tv or phone promotes the feeling. Right on the ocean. Had not been here for years and I must say the rooms are the worse for wear. Rustic for sure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SherryT142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enosesquivel800, General Manager at Asilomar Conference Grounds, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Sherry,
Thank you for choosing to stay on our grounds. I apologize for not meeting your expectations. We are aware that the rooms are dated, and we are in communication with the CA State Parks to eventually renovate the rooms. I assure you we are doing our very best to refresh the rooms while preserving our historical artifacts. Again thank you for your business.


Warm regards,
Enos Esquivel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

I have been curious about this property, ever since I met some friends who had gone here and loved it. It is a popular conference center choice. And a State Park. It has a long history and famous CA architect who designed it. Also,it is right on the beach! So, needing a place for just one night, to attend an event the next day in Pebble Beach, we decided to give it a try. The check in went very smoothly, and we went to our room. There are many one-story buildings on the property, scattered about, with pathways connecting them all to a main building for meals and activities. The room was very basic, 20's decor, with hard wood floors and no carpets. No bedspreads and just very simple, translucent cotton curtains that you pulled closed by hand. It felt a little cold to us. We also needed to add blankets to the beds. The bathroom was adequate but very plain as well. Amenities and plenty of towels were provided. The windows can be opened by pushing then out, but no screens. No TV in the rooms. They do have wifi service. The property is right at the ocean, just a short walk down from the buildings to the beach, where you can enjoy a long walk along the beach, and splash in the surf. It is a public beach, so many locals use it, and bring dogs and children down to run about. Also, there were several bonfires going, so I guess it's allowed. Not sure about that..The hotel has one main dining room, and one seating for dinner, between 6-7. It is a hefty $ 40/pp, so we passed. It's all buffet style, self-service. Breakfast is 7:30-9 AM, @ $ 12/pp. We did go for breakfast, but it's nothing special. You share a big round table with other guests, which we didn't mind. Close to 9 AM, the clean up crew starts clearing tables, very noisily, banging dishes into tubs all over the room, disregarding whoever may still be trying to have a quiet? breakfast. Coffee and cream are on the table in thermos, so no table service is provided. Totally self-service, which is OK. Just didn't appreciate the very noisy end to our breakfast time, while trying to have a conversation. They could have waited, or started in the area not being occupied. In the evenings, the main building has a very large sitting area, and two pool tables for guests to use at will. Games are on shelves nearby. We observed many families sitting about, playing games together. Nice to see. The nearby deli sells wine and beer, you can order from the counter and take outside to sit on their verandas, where heaters are provided. It does cool down at night here. Everyone is very friendly and happy to have a casual chat. Would we come again? Probably not. But we can stills to down to the beach there. It's lovely. They do not have a swimming pool here. They have mother nature's pool!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews