We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Pacific Grove”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
A TripAdvisor Member
Hamburg, Germany
13
Reviewed 23 April 2004

We had booked our stay before we discovered the reviews on this site. We decided to keep the reservation and see how it's turned out.
It's turned out very nice. Our guest got a room we did not aspect it. The bath room is very nice remodeled and we got a Jacuzzi tub and a kitchenette also.The manager was very helpful and we enjoyed it. We will stay again at the Wilkie's Inn and can recommend it. We know the region and the properties well. The Wilkie's Inn is defiantly a very good choice.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 144 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sacramento, CA
112
Reviewed 23 September 2003

My wife and I had already booked our stay at the Wilkie's Inn before we discovered the negative reviews on this site. A little apprehensive, we decided to keep our reservations and see what happened. As it turned out, the Wilkie's Inn is a good place to stay in Pacific Grove, no more, no less.

Like most of the motels along Lighthouse Drive, the Wilkie's Inn was probably built in the fifties. It's been remodeled, but one shouldn't expect luxury, especially at the bargain prices they offer. We reserved a king room with a view the night before our arrival, and when we got there, a king room with a view was waiting for us. There was no construction going on, no unpleasant noises, etc. Returning from dinner on Friday night, we noticed a family of deer crossing Lighthouse Drive right in front of the Wilkie's Inn.

Most people who stay in Pacific Grove for a day or two spend their time seeing the sights, not hanging out in their motel room. The Wilkie's Inn parking lot is empty during the day, but packed at night. The management is friendly, and while the breakfast was minimal, it was more than enough for us.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to the Wilkie's Inn. Provided you don't require luxury accomodations, don't let the previous negative reviews on this website influence you too much.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 15 August 2003

These people charged me $150 for a "no show" and I had never heard of
them before in my life. I called the manager who was a liar and said I
agreed to their terms by rsvp'ing at another, nicer hotel down the
street. He refused to credit me my money and lied saying they were full
- we drove past, and they had one car out of 20 spots taken.WARNING:
Stay awai!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 September 2003

When a credit card is used to make a reservation, we agree not to re-sell the room pending a guest's anticipated arrival.It's a form of contractual guarantee that requires us to set aside a room for the reservation holder until 7:00 a.m. the following morning.In this particular case,the client's guaranteed room was held throughout the night,and we were unable to offer it for sale to other guests.Had we failed to uphold our guarantee,we would have liable for relocating the client and paying for that night room and tax.Anytime a guest reserves a room with a credit card,he/she is guaranteeing that reservation.In essence,it's an agreement between the hotel and the guest.The hotel agrees to hold the guest's room and not to re-sell it if the guest doesn't arrive on time.This gives the guest more flexibility.In return the guest agrees to cancel the reservation and release the room if travel plans change.If a reservation is not canceled,the industry standard is for the guest's credit card to be charged for the first night's room plus tax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
115
Reviewed 1 April 2003

I have just come back from California, where I spent one night at the Wilkies Inn in Pacific Grove. When I booked I was not told that there was construction work going on, but by the time we arrived we had no option but to stay. The toilet flushed non stop all night long, we had to have breakfast standing up and they only gave us a $10 discount. The manager was extremely rude and their customer service was appalling. I hope this is useful feedback. Fiona

15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RamonSchumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank fric84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Francien d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
909 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monarch Resort
Monarch Resort
#15 of 17 in Pacific Grove
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection

Address: 1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £62 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilkie`s Inn (Clarion Collection) Hotel Pacific Grove
Clarion Collection Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing