We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wilkie's Inn - Clarion Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Butterfly Grove Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Peninsula Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Resort(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosedale Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Gardens Inn(Pacific Grove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
25
46
40
12
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
46
40
12
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastwall heaterclose to townno elevatorocean viewsaw deershort drivecerealwilkeslighthousemicrowavesfgas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived in Pacific Grove late in the day on a Saturday and this was the only hotel/ motel we could find with availability in Pacific Grove. The rooms were dated and marginal cleanliness. While the staff was easy to deal with there are plenty of other options with better ambience in the area, as we stayed another two nights in a more favorable place.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

pro: great location. near beach. near town. near stores (we walked). maids are nice. parking in front. the inn keeper very nice, he told us the history of the deer that greet us, and when the butterflies come back into town. remodel, small but cute. breakfast: waffle machine, coffee, fruit, juice, cereal, oatmeal (instant).

con: no dresser, used the extra twin bed for a dresser, room smell, pizza box on top of tv had rotten food (maids are short cant be seen easily), air the place out, walls are thin, no elevator, have to eat outside in patio no swimming pool or spa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel_needlotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I found Wilkie's Inn for a one-night getaway from the Bay Area. The price was right for a weeknight stay in January, and I was not disappointed. The room was nice and clean, the motel was quiet and the desk staff were all helpful and friendly. It is possible to walk to the beach or downtown from the inn. During the winter months it is worth a (very short) walk to the monarch butterfly sanctuary practically across the street. I'll be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at Wilkie's Clarion Hotel (WCH) October 12-14, 2013, Columbus Day Weekend.

RATE: We had made reservations using the Comfortinn web site, and the AAA discount, paying $105 Saturday, and $63 Sunday, before 10% taxes. The rate was low with a 30% off Advance purchase special for Choice Priviledges members, noncancellable and nonrefundable.

RACK RATE: The manager later told me that the 'system rate' or rack rate for walk-ins for our room could be as high as $200 for a Friday or Saturday night. We charge our stays at Comfort inns on our Comfort inn credit card to accumulate points toward free stays.

PHONE ONLY: Note that the comfortinn web site will not allow you to reserve certain rooms such as room 202, a king bed room near the top of the stairs, and next to the outdoor communal sun room at the top of the stairs. And you cannot choose your exact room over the internet. Such rooms have to be reserved by phone only, at the much higher system rate.

LOCATION: WCH is located in a quiet residential neighborhood about 0.8 miles from downtown Pacific Grove. It is the first of a series of hotels along Lighthouse Ave, stretching to the ocean at Asilomar Beach.

MOTEL: The hotel is a two story motel, where you park your car right next to the front door of your room. External corridors, with no balconies.

PARKING: There are at least 18 on site parking spots, plus 1 handicap parking spot. And there are some half dozen parking spots on the street adjacent to the hotel. We never had a problem finding parking.

ROOM 106: Our room 106 had brightly painted walls, with an attractive, almost new, dark green patterned carpet. Room features include a 60" wide queen bed, dresser/stand with 33" flat screen TV with HD cable channels including HBO on a rotating stand, 18" refrigerator, microwave, 2 night stands with lamps and lampshades, luminescent large digital clock, double door mirror closet, ottomon, and small phone table with phone.

SLEEP: Quality of the bed was excellent, with a firm mattress, clean linens, and blanket, comforter, and multiple fluffy pillows for each sleeper. Modern sliding windows with screens and rubber weatherstripping around the edges to minimize noise from the outside. While we could hear footfalls from our upstair neighbors, they were considerate and only made noise when arriving and unpacking. The windows had both sheer and blackout curtains.

LOVESEAT: There was also a loveseat next to the window, where I could read with the afternoon sun shining through the first floor window. The loveseat had seen better days and was lumpy, with shot springs and torn cushion top. I sat on a couple of pillows to alleviate the lumpiness of the bottom cushions.

BATHROOM: Bathroom was remodeled with a beautiful granite countertop, bathtub/shower combination, and a low toilet at the bathroom door entrance. There was even a bathroom window, with a view of the duplex behind the hotel. Very clean. Front desk provides free toothbrush and toothpaste if you forget yours.

HEATER: Wall heater was in the back of the room next to the double mirror door closet. There is no AC, but it is not needed in Pacific Grove due to its close proximity to the ocean.

CONFIGURATION: Rooms 101-111 on 1st floor, and rooms 201-214 on 2nd floor. No room number 213. No elevators, only stairs, to 2nd floor. Rooms 102 and 111 are cheaper than the other rooms, as they are directly underneath the carpeted outdoor stairs, and 102 also closest to the ice machine and $1 soft drink machine.

ROOMS: Rooms 102-110 and rooms 202-210 directly face the parking lot in the west. Room 101 has a view of the side street north of the hotel, and room 201 at the top of the stairs, has a distant view of Monterey Bay to the east and north. Rooms 212 and 214 are rooms with two queen beds apiece, and closest to Lighthouse Ave. Room 214 would have views to the south, west and north, but no ocean view.

QUEENS: We almost always get a room with a single queen bed, which is about $10 cheaper than a king bed room. 102, 103, 106, 107 are queens, while 108 is a two bed room. All the other rooms are king beds or two bed configuration rooms. No single queen bed room on the second floor

SUN ROOM: Next to room 202 at the top of the stairs is a communal sun room, with 3 padded chairs around a table, surrounded by plexiglass. You can see Monterey Bay in the distance from here.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is provided in the lobby of the hotel. There are only two chairs and a low coffee table so most people eat standing up watching TV news, or take their food to their rooms. Directly outside the lobby is a sitting area with a few chairs, but nobody is going to eat outdoors in the cold mornings. The only hot food is the waffle maker, and toast -wheat bread or english muffins. Waits for the waffle maker can be lengthy, as one party may have three or four waffles to make, each taking 2.5 minutes to cook. Other foods include oatmeal, cereal, pastries, apples and oranges. No bagels, no eggs, and no sausages.

WALKING: This part of Pacific Grove is walkable to the main tourist spots. We walked multiple times to downtown Pacific Grove in about 16 minutes, with no sidewalks for the first 2 blocks, and then sidewalks for the remainder of the way -usually on the opposite side of Lighthouse Ave with the street lights. We also walked to the Asilomar Beach in 12 minutes -no sidewalks, Lovers Point in 18 minutes, and the Aquarium in about 34 minutes, along Ocean Ave. The An Choy Vietnamese restaurant is 2 blocks north along Lighthouse Ave.

KNOCKS: My only knocks against this place are 1. lengthy walk to the main tourist spots and restaurants of Pacific Grove, 2. no pool, 3. no on site restaurant, 4. no balcony, 5. no place to sit for breakfast, 6. too much furniture for the small space of the room -I would get rid of the lamp next to the door, the phone and phone table, and the ottoman. 7. torn top of loveseat. I don't think they can do anything about the first 4 points, but 5, 6 and 7 are fixable.

Room Tip: Rooms 102-111 front the parking lot, with 102 and 111 next to the stairs. 201 has a distant ocean view. All queen rooms are on the 1st floor. 212, 214 are the most spacious and next to Lighthouse Ave. Reserve through comfortinn web site with AAA discount. You can only reserve a specific room by phone with the much higher rack rate, compared to the internet rate.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Cheap motel, but the room was clean, and good space for two people, the motel is closed to the downtown, and close to the Lighthouse.
Staff at the lobby was not very friendly, and if you want to take breakfast, no table except two outside, no one in the bedroom!

Room Tip: room 107 was ok
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beetle4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews