We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food I've ever had”
Review of Mando's Restaurant

Mando's Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food I've ever had”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We recently stumbled onto Mandos on a Sunday night when they normally aren't open. Right away the waiter had authentic salsa and chips on the table. Really flavorful salsa. My husband had the chili rellanos which was also great. I had the chicken vegetable soup small size. Portion size was huge for a small. It was served with authentic corn tortillas. Not the store bought ones. Prices were very reasonable. Service was fantastic!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were looking for good Mexican and reading other reviews. Planned on going to Peppers but so glad it was closed! This place is delicious and I highly recommend it. My father had the fajitas, and I had some steak for tacos - both were great. Chips & salsa were also excellent. Reasonably priced at about $45 including tip for two people with drinks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home made tortillas, guys!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Mando's is a frequent for me and my friends. The Mexican food is fresh, delicious, authentic. Going there today!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchirishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had lunch. We shared a chicken burrito with rice and beans. The burrito had a good amount of chicken with beans and rice inside. The chips and salsa were tasty. The beans on the side were a little bland but overall the meal was delicious. We will go back when we are in PG.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good spot for quality Mexican food in Pacific Grove”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This is a simple but very good Mexican restaurant in Pacific Grove, which dosen't have very many decent spots for quality Mexican. The tortillas are homemade along with the salsas out of fresh ingrediants and the quality comes thru. Tacos are outstanding. Pricing is ok for Pacific Grove which is generally on the high side. Service is prompt and friendly. This might be a 3 star in Salinas, where there are more choices, but in the PG market it is 4 star if you just have to have your Mexican food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbko231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mando's Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Mando's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing