We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a ton of TLC and a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Reviewed 15 September 2005

Driving up the coast, we chose lodgings based on tripadvisor reviews. The Bide-A-Wee did not live up to the reviews. We chose the queen cottage over the queen room. The outside of the cottage looked cute enough, but inside was a tiny bedroom, a living area/kitchenette and a bathroom all with bare white walls. The best parts: the living area had a gas fireplace, the bathroom was clean and bright, it's walking distance to the beach. The worst parts: the living area had a nasty looking loveseat and an old bedroom end table as furniture, the bedroom was tiny and cold, there was no wireless internet service. We moved the mattress to the living area and slept in front of the fireplace. We discovered an empty vodka bottle tucked between the mattress and boxsprings. This place was not worth the money. Next time we'd consider the Victorian Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nygirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 228 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Southern Ca.
211
Reviewed 19 August 2005

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. We chose this hotel not only for the location and price but also because they are pet-friendly. We like to travel with our dog, and sometimes we get a room that is a little worse for the wear because of all the pets who have stayed there.

We were very satisfied with our stay here! You'd never have known that there had been pets in the room, it was that clean! Very nice, large, and our room had a kitchenette (I don't know if all rooms have one). We were able to shop for three days worth of groceries at an Albertson's not far away and had some delicious meals in our room. We had a small porch outside the sliding glass door in the living area and sat on a bench after dinner while sipping wine, listening to the waves and watching a glorious sunset! Just what we had in mind.. a lot of R&R and walks on the nearby beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2005

We stayed here with our 22 month old son. Nice, clean rooms, dishes served 2 people, so you may need to bring extra's if you have more. The location awesome!! Just a 5 minute walk to the beach in one direction and to the lighthouse the other direction. You could even see deer grazing near the houses on the way to the beach. They offer free juice and danishes in the office, and very helpful staff. WARNING: if you have a toddler or preschooler, do not use the gas fireplace, as it gets very HOT. Our son was so wired from the long drive, that he was running around in the living room/kitchenette area and touched the fireplace briefly. He sustained 3rd degree burns on his palm and finger pads. This was our first night there, which did put a bit of a damper on things, as we couldn't go to the beach due to avoiding getting sand in his wounds. Luckily there is an Urgent Care facility right in Pacific Grove and the staff was able to direct us there. There is a heater in the bedroom, look down toward the floor. There really should be a guard in front of the fireplace, or a sign indicating where the REAL heater is. We were also lucky to have a cottage that wasn't connected to anyone else, handy with a fussy toddler, and no noise from the neighbors!!! Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Longmont, CO
13
Reviewed 2 July 2004

Very nice facility!! Everything was neat, clean, well-taken-care-of! The room was flat-out huge. Nice big TV too! Bathroom was modern and very comfortable. Good room appointments - but the bedframe seemed a little unsteady. The open area between the buildings was well-groomed and clean, plants obviously treated with care. Some great specimens - the trees were trimmed very artfully. Less than five minute walk to beach, downhill no less! Great beach walks. Scenery is to die for. Pix on site do NOT do it justice. Staff is friendly and efficient. Costs a chunk, but it's worth every single penny. Pacific Grove is a quiet little town with lots of good restaurants and minutes from Monterey and Carmel. The 17-mile drive was breathtaking - so was the $8 park pass; but the road was immaculate and the area a different world worth seeing.

If you're honeymooning, I'd recommend the BAW, good solid walls. We didn't hear a thing from our neighbors. *grin*

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Luis Obispo, CA
12
Reviewed 15 May 2004

Motel is located in a quiet area close to the beautiful Asilomar State Beach. Rooms were nice and clean of the 2 star AAA rating, but reasonably price for Pacific Grove. Grounds are pleasant with grassy areas.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2004

If you want a memorable vacation definently stay at this inn and cottages. Great service and reasonable rates. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was my favorite place yet! It definently met my expectations and more! Had a great time staying there!

2  Thank nos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, Nevada
12
Reviewed 16 July 2003

My husband and I spent a memorable honeymoon at the Bide A Wee twenty-nine years ago. One morning we woke up to a dear grazing outside our window. We rode bikes in Monterey, ate clam chowder at Cannery Row, and had a special dinner at a french resturant, Maison Bergerac. Our inlaws told us about it. In fact they came and stayed in the same upstairs room we did right after we left. We are thinking about staying at Bide A Wee on our 30th Anniversary!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Address: 221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2005
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £60 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint and Quiet Lodging in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe Bide-A-Wee Inn and Cottages is a quaint and quiet rustic inn on the tip of the Monterey Peninsula offering pet friendly lodging accommodations. Nestled in a beautifully wooded area on Asilomar Blvd., in Pacific Grove CA, the Bide-A-Wee is just a 3 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy miles of beautiful walk and bike paths, or experience the "17 Mile Drive", one of the most famous and magnificent stretches of road in the country, which showcases the spectacular Pacific shoreline and vast ocean view. Just minutes away are the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row, as well as the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.The Bide-A-Wee Inn & Cottages is just a 10 minute drive away from Carmel and all Monterey tourist attractions, and many of the finest restaurants and shops are just a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bide-a-Wee-Inn And Cottages
Bide-a-Wee-Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing