We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a quiet and relaxing time at this place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Butterfly Grove Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a quiet and relaxing time at this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This little motel was very quaint and somewhat retro. It had very high ceilings and was a nice size room. Loved the cozy comfort it displayed and wasn't like other motels. No one was above us and it had only one connecting wall to another room. The room was clean and the ambience was quite relaxing. Loved the fireplace and bed. Would stay again definitely!

Room Tip: Stay in the duplex cottage it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ButterflyGroveInn, Guest Relations Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very excited about 2014! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    155
    62
    32
    15
See reviews for
140
160
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
So. Calif.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I don't understand the negative reviews. The motel is quaint looking on the outside, painted pink and at night they turned on little lights in the trees. We were surprised how large our room was when we opened the door. It was clean, and inviting with a very comfortable king size bed, a small table with two chairs. Another reviewer said the the bedding wasn't in good condition. Our bedding was in very good, condition, comfortable and warm. The bathroom tub had jets which we didn't make use of so I can't comment on that. The sink and cabinet looked newer. The TV was a smaller, older type but we got all the channels we usually watch so it was fine. We liked the room heater which was an electric fireplace that had a fan switch to force the warm air out into the room and heated the room very well. The continental breakfast was muffins, very fresh and delicious, bananas, cold cereal, toast, orange juice and coffee although there was a coffee pot in the room. The people who work here were very helpful and nice. The really great thing about the hotel's location is that it is right next to the Monarch Butterfly Grove. The butterflies migrate from October to March so it's very convenient to be right next to it and walk over to watch them flying around in the trees. If we come back to Pacific Grove we've decided this is the place we'll stay again. If you're looking for a modern, generic chain type hotel this isn't it. But if you're looking for a place to stay that is quiet and feels homey and comfortable you might want to try staying at the Butterfly Grove Inn. .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The motel has had no improvements for years except perhaps the beds. If you like no upgrades and want to pay top dollar, this is for you. We were amazed at the good reviews. Perhaps these folks have not stayed in other places in Pacific Grove and Carmel. It could be very charming if the owners replaced the TV,and upgraded the bathrooms.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tomriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the room close to the office. It has a high cleiling and is a large room. Very clean. Has Jacuzii tub in the bathroom. Has a nice pool area with hot tub too.

Lots of good resturants on Lighthouse Ave, the same romanic street as the hotel....

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

After the hussle and lack of sleep in San Francisco we were happy to check into this quiet, friendly, clean motel. The young Fijian/American man at reception directed us to Peppers for dinner which was a fantastic Mexican restaurant down the road. The continental breakfast was sufficient and the boys said the pool was nice. Sadly we only stayed one night. We are so glad we choose this location over Carmel or Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here one night and wish it would have been for more. The room was spacious and clean. Always appreciate a coffeemaker, fridge & microwave. The breakfast was limited, but that's fine with us - a good muffin and a piece of fruit do the trick thanks. The front desk clerk was friendly and knowledgeable with restaurant tips (and coupons!). The location is in a quiet neighborhood just a short walk from the beach. It's not a brand new chain hotel, but in my world, that's a good thing. Great stay and would love to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garblefritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a lovely stay here while stopping in Pacific Grove on the way to San Francisco. The inn is next door to the butterfly sanctuary - very pretty even though there were no butterflies around during our visit. We were warmly welcomed by the chap at the front desk who was more than happy to help us with directions and suggestions. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a car and found it easy to get to the major Monterey attractions such as the aquarium and Cannery Row. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Property: Butterfly Grove Inn
Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2357
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing