We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - clean, but tired and dated rooms”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Location - clean, but tired and dated rooms”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

You can't beat the location - right across from the park and next to the ocean and trails.


The rooms are basic and dated. We had stayed here before and knew that what to expect.


The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.

If you need place to sleep for the night, then it will fit your needs. If you want a nicer place to stay around during the day, this is probably not a good choice.

The price is reasonable for what is provided.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend time in the room, think about upgrading to a room with a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    97
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
109
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We read the rave reviews on TripAdvisor and got a very different impression of the motel we arrived in this weekend.

First the good: the location is stunning, literally right across the street from Lover's Point and also just a block away from walking to Cannery Row. That's no small thing, particularly Lover's Point, although it was, on the weekend, overrun by people in the thousands. In terms of good things I can say about the rooms, they are clean and the furniture is new. The shower, which is small and has no bathtub, has good water pressure and nice hot water. Also, the front desk staff is pleasant. And most importantly -- Borg's was HALF the price of other area motels, some of which looked seedy, something Borg's was NOT. Otherwise, I've got no more positive things to say. So on to the "issues."

We entered into a very small room with zero sense of privacy at all where we could here every bodily function and conversation of the many other people staying in the hotel so that I had to wear ear plugs just to be IN the hotel. Mainly, I slept and left. There was no other reason to be in what looked like a tiny, clean submarine bunker. No frills is an understatement here. Borg's supplied soap, and in the morning, coffee in the lobby (if you can call it that). It wasn't located near any markets or inexpensive restaurants or the really obvious deli which might have been idyllic for a picnic at Lover's Point. Room Service? Hahahahahahaha, no. There was no shampoo, lotion, refrigerator, microwave, continental breakfast, bathtub, hair dryer large towels (ours were hand-towel sized and wouldn't cover my behind), or on premises vending machine. The bathroom was small and dark-tiled. The bed was uncomfortably hard and also cold, so we were lucky we had a wool blanket in the car or we would have frozen since I couldn't find the heater for this room (I'm not sure it had one). I think you're getting the picture. The bathrooms had zero counterspace, there were no pictures on the walls, and while there was a mirror, you had to stand on the bed to see it full-length.

My husband wasn't able to sleep due to road noise and the noise of neighbors' talking inside of their room. He said this was the worst hotel/motel we'd ever stayed at.

The problem is, where else can you stay for this price in Monterey? Nowhere. Most BUDGET hotels are twice as much and in farther-flung areas.

Monterey's lack of decent budget accomodations has convinced me to never stay here again: it's not worth it. I don't fault Borg's for this, but I must wonder why they don't just drop their prices to $60 a night OR renovate a little. There are no clocks in the rooms! That might help. A vending machine on premises or a continental breakfast, or a few pictures hung in the rooms MIGHT take the edge off the cramped feeling in the rooms and noise.

I'm just not able to recommend this hotel to others, especially those seeking romance OR with kids. I would stay here only if I were alone, had ear plugs, and just needed a place to crash for one night. Otherwise, no.

A last thought: maybe they don't want business? An online booking system, rather than a phone call-based one, would do wonders for them.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road and on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

Lafayette, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is not a four star hotel by any means, but it is an extremely good value. The room we had was small but clean, and located just across the road from the ocean. I loved hearing the waves crash at night! I wish the road weren't there, but I guess you can't have everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I like a rather flat pillow, and they found one for me no problem. Borg's is within walking distance of several good restaurants and we enjoyed a lovely weekend exploring the town and area. We'll visit again and stay here. One funny note - the shower was so small that if you dropped the soap you might not be able to pick it up without opening the door!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Been coming to borgs for over thirty years. Although we are used to staying in upscale hotels we Tay at borgs because of the location. There are only two hotels on the point of he peninsula. Although borgs has absolutely no comforts of fancier hotels, the walls re paper thin, rooms and bathroom small. We love it. You get up in the morning open the old curtains and behold...the rough rugged coast, otters and seals out the window gulls too. Weekday rates under 100 weekend rates 120 per night. Senior that is. Will be coming here for the next thirty years.

Room Tip: Expect clean. No fills. Location location location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pookeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Don't let the out dated decor, and basic amenities scare you away! Our Room didn't even have a hair dryer or Iron, but the bedding was comfortable. Need to update their TV's. At night no matter where your room is At, you can be guaranteed to hear the crashing surf. The road that separates the hotel from the ocean can get a bit busy and noisy, but at nightfall it quiets down. No pool or hot Tub, But Having Lover's Point Park across the road is a Plus! Not much for Breakfast, all hotel Offers is Coffee in the Lobby, But A few blocks up the Street in Pacific Grove on Lighthouse Ave., is an assortment of eating establishments. Desk Staff Very Friendly, Helpful. It all boils down to Location, Location! WE Would Stay Here Again!!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs can be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

While on a recent adventure exploring the Oregon/California coast, we stumbled upon this little place! We stayed two nights instead of the planned upon one, and loved it! Small but cozy room, clean, very friendly staff, close to everything, especially the ocean. We definitely would return.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My main reason for choosing Borg's is that they offer family rooms - a regular hotel room with a smaller room inside, with its own door. On this trip, I was traveling with a teenager, so we appreciated having a little separation while still not paying double for two rooms. The family rooms have a side ocean view, but we found it quite pleasant (I stayed here years earlier when the teenager was much younger and enjoyed it then too).

The other advantages - walking distance to Pacific Grove, right on the ocean, the lovely ocean side walking path.

We walked out onto the rocks at Lover's Point across the street from Borg's around sunset and saw several otters in the kelp, fishing and frolicking.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
798 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Property: Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing