We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Monterey”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stuffed up our booking for Monterey and inadvertantly booked the Seven Gables in St Louis! By the time we realised this it was after 10pm and we had to find alternative accommodation at late notice. Found the Borg's hotel just around the corner. Friendly staff member assisted and gave us room 129 which was on the second floor corner. The room was neat and clean and it wasnt until we woke up the next morning to look out the window that we saw the amazing views! The location is brilliant. Had views of seals lying around on the rocks directly outside the room. The value of this location was great and the room very comfortable.

Happy to recommend the Borg's hotel. Just when we were checking out another couple quizzed us about the hotel as they say mixed reviews online and we were more than happy to show them the room and they were sold! My suggestion is to pay a little extra ($20-30 I think) for the sea views on upper level. You wont be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Book room 129! Its on the upper south corner so you get a side window for extra light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pandy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great location. Good coffee and cocoa free in the morning. Met people from other countries staying here. Nice staff. Bring your own shampoo. Went here to tide pool and bike ride. Stunning views. Very basic rooms at a great price. No pool or fitness center. Walk to great restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2 bedroom suite if you have kids. It was perfect for the five of us. One kid slept on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dentistmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is not a fancy place to stay by any means, but you honestly can't beat the location, the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable...AND the price was right! We could literally hear the waves and see a picturesque view from our window.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank karlafromcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

You can't beat the location - right across from the park and next to the ocean and trails.


The rooms are basic and dated. We had stayed here before and knew that what to expect.


The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.

If you need place to sleep for the night, then it will fit your needs. If you want a nicer place to stay around during the day, this is probably not a good choice.

The price is reasonable for what is provided.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend time in the room, think about upgrading to a room with a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We read the rave reviews on TripAdvisor and got a very different impression of the motel we arrived in this weekend.

First the good: the location is stunning, literally right across the street from Lover's Point and also just a block away from walking to Cannery Row. That's no small thing, particularly Lover's Point, although it was, on the weekend, overrun by people in the thousands. In terms of good things I can say about the rooms, they are clean and the furniture is new. The shower, which is small and has no bathtub, has good water pressure and nice hot water. Also, the front desk staff is pleasant. And most importantly -- Borg's was HALF the price of other area motels, some of which looked seedy, something Borg's was NOT. Otherwise, I've got no more positive things to say. So on to the "issues."

We entered into a very small room with zero sense of privacy at all where we could here every bodily function and conversation of the many other people staying in the hotel so that I had to wear ear plugs just to be IN the hotel. Mainly, I slept and left. There was no other reason to be in what looked like a tiny, clean submarine bunker. No frills is an understatement here. Borg's supplied soap, and in the morning, coffee in the lobby (if you can call it that). It wasn't located near any markets or inexpensive restaurants or the really obvious deli which might have been idyllic for a picnic at Lover's Point. Room Service? Hahahahahahaha, no. There was no shampoo, lotion, refrigerator, microwave, continental breakfast, bathtub, hair dryer large towels (ours were hand-towel sized and wouldn't cover my behind), or on premises vending machine. The bathroom was small and dark-tiled. The bed was uncomfortably hard and also cold, so we were lucky we had a wool blanket in the car or we would have frozen since I couldn't find the heater for this room (I'm not sure it had one). I think you're getting the picture. The bathrooms had zero counterspace, there were no pictures on the walls, and while there was a mirror, you had to stand on the bed to see it full-length.

My husband wasn't able to sleep due to road noise and the noise of neighbors' talking inside of their room. He said this was the worst hotel/motel we'd ever stayed at.

The problem is, where else can you stay for this price in Monterey? Nowhere. Most BUDGET hotels are twice as much and in farther-flung areas.

Monterey's lack of decent budget accomodations has convinced me to never stay here again: it's not worth it. I don't fault Borg's for this, but I must wonder why they don't just drop their prices to $60 a night OR renovate a little. There are no clocks in the rooms! That might help. A vending machine on premises or a continental breakfast, or a few pictures hung in the rooms MIGHT take the edge off the cramped feeling in the rooms and noise.

I'm just not able to recommend this hotel to others, especially those seeking romance OR with kids. I would stay here only if I were alone, had ear plugs, and just needed a place to crash for one night. Otherwise, no.

A last thought: maybe they don't want business? An online booking system, rather than a phone call-based one, would do wonders for them.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road and on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is not a four star hotel by any means, but it is an extremely good value. The room we had was small but clean, and located just across the road from the ocean. I loved hearing the waves crash at night! I wish the road weren't there, but I guess you can't have everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I like a rather flat pillow, and they found one for me no problem. Borg's is within walking distance of several good restaurants and we enjoyed a lovely weekend exploring the town and area. We'll visit again and stay here. One funny note - the shower was so small that if you dropped the soap you might not be able to pick it up without opening the door!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Been coming to borgs for over thirty years. Although we are used to staying in upscale hotels we Tay at borgs because of the location. There are only two hotels on the point of he peninsula. Although borgs has absolutely no comforts of fancier hotels, the walls re paper thin, rooms and bathroom small. We love it. You get up in the morning open the old curtains and behold...the rough rugged coast, otters and seals out the window gulls too. Weekday rates under 100 weekend rates 120 per night. Senior that is. Will be coming here for the next thirty years.

Room Tip: Expect clean. No fills. Location location location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pookeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
934 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing