We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a let-down”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a let-down”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I consider myself very low maintenance so I figured with the great reviews that this motel must something great for people who normally stay at hotels but want to try this for the view.

Umm, no. The busy street between the motel and beach almost completely canceled out the view, the walls were super thin and everything about it screamed old motel.

Nothing special. Would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank amyskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    95
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
57
107
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I decided to book a weekend stay at this motel. We stayed in room 150, corner unit with ocean views. I couldn't have been happier with the spectacular view of the ocean and Lover's Point. The room does need some updating but it is very, very clean. The bed was comfortable but it's the location that will keep us coming back. There is quite a bit of traffic during the day but by 9:00 pm, it was pretty quiet. I could hear the ocean waves all night long. We walked to the Beach House Restaurant for excellent food. Staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room 150, king size bed, two windows that open and face the ocean and corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Settles1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong / Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The Borg is undoubtedly the best value and location you can get around pacific grove, close to Monterey Bay. Falling asleep and waking up to waves is amazing; you can't get any closer to the shore than this!! There are a few downfalls, but you get what you pay for in this area!

Pros: proximity to the shore, lover's point, shopping, and dining. Cleanliness of the facilities and price for the view!

Cons: close to the attraction means tourists and maybe some riff raff; phone connection is poir in this area; the buses can get loud too during the day - but why are you in the room!?!?!

Pacific grove is very family friendly with great dining in the area... Might be hard to find a pub though if you're looking for one... The closest is at Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank izuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Clean and tidy rooms, large free car park with rooms starting at $89 a night.
Found this motel via tourist information office who was really helpful and made the booking for us. Really lovely walk from here into town centre, but the views from the hotel were amazing!!!! Yes you can probably get a more modern room at another hotel but what you will not get are the views and it will cost you 3 times the price, Best Western $249 a night plus $13 to park your car and a view of the holiday in across the street!! No breakfast facilities but offer coffee in the lobby every morning, you can even hear the seals! really glad we found this place for our road trip

Room Tip: Room with a partial view gives you a great view into town, out to sea and over the bay $109
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Have stayed here twice. Always enjoy it not a great motel but the location is awesome. The people are great and Pacific Grove is great. Motel is clean and comfortable but basic would give it 2 stars if just off the freeway but its location is 5 stars. Its clean and the people are nice hence 4 stars....... for the price can't be beat

Room Tip: Get a bay view or probably won' t be happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venturawino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I have enjoyed four stays at the Borg's Motel. The price is very reasonable and we have always enjoyed a clean comfortable room. This is an older motel, so don't expect a lot of frills. For us, the sound of waves crashing right across the street makes this the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: If available, choose an Ocean view on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We needed a place for only one night so that we could tour Cal State Monterey Bay and Borg's prices were better than any of the other places out there plus it was on the ocean. The location is very nice and the motel itself is clean, yes it's dated and older but that sort of adds to the charm. The room was decent in size and the shower was small but clean. Many reviews say that they do not provide shampoo- they actually do- you need to ask for it in the office and they will happily give you some- they also have hair dryers available. The only complaint I can think of is cell service/free wifi- very hard to keep my calls, they kept dropping and the wifi was extremely slow and I wasn't doing anything fancy, just checking emails. When we head that way again, I will stay at Borg's again- from the office window we saw an otter and a seal- what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamamarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Property: Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing