We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view ....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Newland, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic view ....”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The rooms were clean through some furniture was dated. Mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. Bathrooms in main building facing the water have been updated and are nice. Street noise was minimal after the day-trippers went home and the street pretty much cleared. In-room coffee would be a plus as would small refrigerators. Also hairdryers for the ladies. Try an upstairs waterfront room for one of the best views on the coast! Good value for a waterfront room.

Room Tip: Check to be sure the bathroom has been updated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy B, General Manager at Borg's Ocean Front Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please know for next time that we have hair dryers on loan at the Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    97
    53
    19
    16
See reviews for
59
109
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We were in a crunch for a one night stay during our drive from San Fran to Santa Monica along the coast, and Borgs came to the rescue. A bit dated, but for the price and location (and one night) it was perfect. The rooms are big, and clean, but again dated. Free wifi was a plus (considering the Hyatt in Santa Barbara charged for use for 24hrs). Free coffee and tea in the am too. We'd definitely recommend it for a night on a PCH drive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSueNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Borgs hotel is a clean, no frills place to stay right on the lovely coast of the Pacific across from Lover's Point. The office staff is friendly and welcoming. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the AM. Beds are seem comfortable. You can hear the television through the walls but it is not something to keep one up at night. Televisions are antiquated but after a week with no TV at the Alsimore up the street it was perfect. Free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I've seen this motel for years, but this is the first time that I've stayed there. It's a small motel, it is kept up, but certainly not modern. They have the office with staff that are helpful, free coffee in the morning, and an ice machine...not much more. We had a room for 4 that was upstairs. The room was a good size for us, it was clean, with two comfortable queen beds, a table, no frig, no microwave, no pool, no fitness center, but best of all was the picture window. This is why you have to stay here...the view from the window was amazing!!! We were able to watch Otters an Seals play, and then several times we were able to see whales breach, and spotted quite a few spouts! I've never been able to sit in my room and watch such amazing creatures!!!

You can walk across the street to a pretty park and the ocean. You can walk to several restaurants. Pacific Grove is a beautiful town, and you are right around the corner from Monterey.

I would rather stay at Mom and Pop's motels, rather than the chains. They don't offer all of the amenities that the chains can, but what they do offer out weighs those things! Will I come back again??? Without a doubt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HrComsTrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at Borgs for 3 nights, it is right across the street from the beach! It was clean and simple. Grounds were kept nice, well worth saving the extra money for a fancy hotel and have more spending cash to do other fun stuff ;) Staff was friendly, no complaints, we'll be back!

Room Tip: I wish I would have made earlier reses to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balilight_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Okay, so back in April of 2012 I paid for a room, Room 126, one of my favorites. I had to cancel my reservation many many times. Frank honored my payment and this coming weekend I will be using that reservation, I know many may think this is an old school place but who cares, the rooms are clean, the staff is wonderful and caring, plus you can not beat the location. Room 126 was not available, but room 128 was, I can't wait to have a cocktail while looking down into the ocean and enjoy my coffee in the morning. Pacific Grove .... here I come.

Room Tip: Upstairs facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed at the Borg for a week for a conference, and was very pleased. The room was very clean, and the location was great. I took a nice walk up the coast each day to the conference at Asilomar. It was a long walk, but I enjoyed the peace and fresh air, and it's a gorgeous coastline there. A breakfast would have been nice, but it's a motel after all. It was also quite cheap for the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
793 reviews
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Property: Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Address: 635 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2232
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing