We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Grove Golf Course”

Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course, the Peninsula's only municipal golf course, is often called the "poor man's Pebble Beach."
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pacific Grove Golf Course”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I have played this course over 20 times and everytime we play we are amazed at it's beauty. The front nine offers a journey thru montery pine trees and hundred year old eucalyptus trees. The long winding fairways and the eucalyptus smell make for a outdoor spa experience. It's no wonder the wildlife (Deer,Geese) stay year after year and show no fear of humans or golf carts. The only animal you have to watch are the CROWS! You maybe only two feet away and they will over take your cart and search for any type of food. Now the back nine, what can I say. Every hole is an ocean view. You will find yourself standing and taking in the view from every tee box. And an added bouns; a working light house on the course. A must play for any golfer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HBGolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    61
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west of Washington, DC
Level Contributor
211 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great public course, minutes from Pebble Beach!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This course is laid out in two distinct styles - the front nine resembles many public courses - in nice shape and very playable. The back nine is a different story - playable as well, but with incredible ocean views from most holes! More open course design and wildlife throughout! All that and golf, too! (We even saw whales from the 17th tee!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nyr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best course for the money!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a great fine. Will definitely be back with friends. The back 9 has spectacular views if there is no fog. The marshalls, especially John & his sidekick Angus, are friendly and enthusiastic! Love love love this course!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WillTravel4Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course is in great shape and beautiful!!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I had taken a trip to Monterey California and stumbled across a beautiful Golf Course, Pacific Grove. A very fun place to play, and the back 9 is on the Pacific Ocean. The views are so beautiful, there are deer everywhere who keep eating the grass while you play around them. An amazing experience!!! We played there 4 days in a row. From the women's tees it was 5300 yards of nicely kept fairways and greens. Reasonably priced, very friendly staff and, while we didn't eat there, the food smelled delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Mans Pebble Beach”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This golf course has 18 scenic holes and is challenging for a duffer. The first nine holes take you through Monterey pine tree lined links; while the second nine holes take you along the beautiful coast line. Make your reservations on-line as far in advance as possible before your visit, and be ready to have the Marshalls push you through the course. Bring some extra balls.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course also viewed

Pebble Beach, Monterey County
 

Been to Pacific Grove Municipal Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing