We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well, it was okay?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well, it was okay?”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I just moved to CA from FL 10/2013. We didn't have the funds to fly back to FL for Christmas (over 2K), so we decided to take a road trip over the holidays and SEE California! Our last stop was Pacific Grove. I chose this hotel for its location, pet policy & price.

Pros:
-This hotel allows pets - it almost seemed like the only one around as everyone else there had a dog with them (we had our rat terrier, Fancy)
-From the hotel, it's just a short walk to the ocean; we watched the sunset both nights we were there - it was breathtaking
-They offer complimentary wine and cheese every night - it was nice
-The folks in the office were pretty nice.
-They have cable. It was so cold after the sunset we watch Bar Rescue for a couple of hours!

Cons:
-This hotel is SERIOUSLY outdated and falling apart - literally. They need to invest in the property and give it a make-over, ASAP. They still use physical keys - no cards.
-The beds are so old and terrible - did not sleep well either night
-Strange old/musty smell in the room
-Lights in the bathroom don't reach the shower - that's right, hardly any light while showering
-The floor and linens in the room did look or seem clean - I slept in long pj pants and my hoodie & didn't walk around with my shoes off
-The walls are paper thin - we heard dogs barking, conversations, walking, giggling - you name it.

Overall, I would not stay here again unless it had been renovated. I'll pay extra to feel comfortable in a clean room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tkwillms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    109
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
106
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've just returned from a most relaxing stay at the Pacific Gardens Inn. First off, the inn has a stellar location on quiet and rustic Asilomar Boulevard, an easy five minute walk to a very scenic segment of the Pacific coast. Secondly, the staff is extremely attentive to your every need.

Each day at 5 p.m., a savory spread of California wine and cheeses is offered beside a roaring fire in the common room. This is followed in the morning with a filling breakfast that includes a choice of fresh locally prepared pastries, cereal, toast, fruit and hard boiled eggs.

Many of the lodging rooms also have fireplaces. Our room was quite clean, had a very comfortable bed, and provided a wide choice of television stations.

I've saved the best for last -- Pacific Gardens Inn has the most welcoming and reasonable pet policy I've ever encountered. There are no add-on fees, deposits, or draconian rules. The staff only expect the guests to show good judgement and respect when caring for their dog.

Pacific Grove is a wonderful destination, and the Pacific Gardens Inn is a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoliageSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

When we first arrived for a 3-night stay, my daughter and I were happy with the wooded atmosphere, small intimate feel, and location. We settled in for a relaxing evening in our room after walking around all day, and things were going well at first. HOWEVER, a large dog started barking in a yard immediately behind our room and KEPT BARKING on and off for more than 4 hours and then again in the early morning, waking us up. A call to the front desk elicited the comment that, "It's a rescue dog." The clerk stated she called the owners to quiet their dog, but nothing changed. Second night was a little better so we decided to stay (we had prepaid). The third night, however, was the worst ever and that poor unhappy dog barked almost constantly for more than 5 hours. Same story the next morning. Despite the positive aspects of the hotel, I will NEVER stay here again.

At one point, I spoke with a gentleman who seemed to be the manager, and he stated that I should let the front desk know and they would be sure the owners kept the dog quiet. Apparently that doesn't work, since I spoke with desk clerks at least 2 times a night for the 3 nights. The young woman on our third night said, "Well, I asked them to quiet the dog but I can't make them do it."

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Second visit, will return again if possible. Great location, close to asilomar beach where you can watch the surfers. We also saw a whale this time. Owner/manager and staff very friendly and welcoming. Great closet this time and shower. Plenty of hot water but be conservative. I really like this cozy lodge-like atmosphere over larger hotels. Wifi, kitchenettes. Great visit.

Room Tip: Entire location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We had a 2 BR room at the Pacific Gardens Inn and found it absolutely delightful. We have stayed at other places in the same area. We like the Asilomar area, which is very quiet and close to Asilomar Beach and the start of 17 Mile Drive, and not heavily trafficked at all, yet somehow only a short drive away from PG's main drag, Monterey, and Carmel. Our first impression was very welcoming, with Robert the owner greeting us, and the lobby with lit fireplace, comfy chairs and tables. If you are a grown up, you will love the wine and cheese they serve here every evening, perfectly timed for a little relaxing nosh and downtime in between a day spent outdoors and dinnertime. The staff and owner have great recommendations for the area, and there is even a computer for guests' use. You will also appreciate the coffee and continental breakfast served here mornings, so you can stop by before heading out for an incredible morning walk on Asilomar Beach and the trail that leads along the dunes to Spanish Bay and 17 Mile Drive. If you are a kid, you will love that you are able to bring your dog with you, that there is a kitchen where snacks can be kept, the hot tubs, the popcorn makers in the rooms, and the free wifi and cable television for when you are pooped after a day of digging in the sand and sightseeing in the area with your parents and ready to flop on the sofa. If you are the family dog you will appreciate not being left at home without your people, and running around on Asilomar Beach. Pluses are: the management and staff, large rooms, a great price (for the area), offstreet parking, comfortable beds, multiple TV sets in the 1 BR and 2 BR suites, and genuine family and pet friendliness. We actually travelled with two other families and the only complaints I heard were that the showers were a bit low and weak pressured, and taps in the bathroom stiff. Also not all of the rooms had dvd players which was a bummer when we wanted to put on a movie for the kids. But they can always watch Netflix on the laptop.... since the wifi is free. Décor is slightly dated, but no more than I'm sure you would find at vacation rentals in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

What other say is true, it's rustic, comfy and location, location, location. Rooms are clean, staff are amazing and the price and service make this the place you want to be.
Robert the owner, if friendly, hands on, gets to know people. You can see he is proud of his business and takes pride. Yes this is not 5 star, but we are not looking for 5 star in this area. 3 minutes from ocean, many nice places to walk and enjoy the fresh air. The breakfast, is simple but good we enjoyed it both days. This was our second visit to Pacific Gardens Inn and we already cannot wait to come back.
Wanted to make a special thank you to Annette. She is an absolute PRO! While carrying on with her front desk duties she overseas the wine and cheese get together, she makes people feel comortable, encourages conversation between guests and for those that do not want to chat she respects that as well. We remembered Annette from our first stay. Bottom line is we feel like family when we stay there and are very happy we found this hidden gem.

Thanks Robert, keep up the good work.

Jim and Liesma - Mississauga, Ontario.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bflojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at the Pacific Gardens Inn for a conference that was taking place across the road at Asilomar. The accommodations are on par with the area....rustic and well maintained. The room was quite comfortable. There were minimal signs of wear and tear. The bed was soft and the bathroom was quite clean. I'm ranking it a 3 because I have stayed in fancier hotels but I would definitely return to Pacific Gardens Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExploreOurUniverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing