We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireplace in Every Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fireplace in Every Room”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Quiet Pacific Grove. Nothing fancy. Warm and cozy. Has a small spa. Deer stroll through most days. 10 minute walk to the beach. Fireplace stocked with wood and gas starter. We have stayed here many times Sometimes with kids, other family members, and just the two of us. Worked every time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    108
    41
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
105
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time visiting Pacific Grove and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was clean and quiet and the afternoon wine and cheese was a nice way to meet other travelers. It is pet friendly and several guests had their dogs along and there are trails very near by that are perfect for walking dogs and the beach is just around the corner. The owners are the real plus, they are super friendly and very helpful, they made our stay very pleasant and we look forward to next time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted0797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I wanted a place central to the activities that we would be doing for our anniversary get-away. This hotel was a great fit.
**Pros-close to Monterey without the high tourist price and close to Big Sur. Walking distance to the beach and a nice boardwalk. Warm, friendly staff that recommended local places to eat with coupons and other area attractions. Quiet and secluded because the units are in smaller pods of rooms. Two small hot tubs. Popcorn and popcorn popper in the room was a fun addition.
**Cons-Extremely hard bed. No AC and the windows don't provide a cross-breeze. Small mostly carb breakfast. Carpets are worn, but we didn't spend much time in the room, so it didn't matter to us.
We will return and stay with our family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribbean
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our third stay here. This place is awesome. Given a choice we wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area. I actually don't feel good about reviewing this place, because it does get busy, and it's one of those places that you want to keep all to yourself. We stayed in a 2 bedroom with two young boys. The only thing that you could say is that maybe the rooms could use an upgrade, having said that, they are fully equipped, kitchen fire place etc and every thing works. Besides with you kids or pets you don't want it to be too fancy. We absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caliroadtrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob b, Owner at Pacific Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our first stay at the Pacific Grove Inn and were thoroughly impressed with the warm, inviting welcome by the staff. Customary check-in times are at 3 p.m. but we arrived earlier than expected and our room was ready which was quite comfortable and in a quiet location that we requested. Location can't be beat if you wish to walk to Asilomar Beach. The Inn is well kept and efficiently run by Robert and his staff. We highly recommend the Inn for its overall customer service and competitive pricing for the area. It can't be beat!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the back tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonaCasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob b, Owner at Pacific Gardens Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great place, nothing fancy but the location is fantastic! Just 3 minute walk to the beautiful Asilomar beach. The Inn is located on a quiet , woodsy street- very pretty and quiet. Robert was super friendly and helpful. Easy access to Carmel, downtown Pacific Grove and 17 mile drive. Would stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovemaps247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We've stayed here several times, in fact we find it perfectly located to the ocean, Carmel, Monterey and it's pet friendly. The evening happy hour is a nice touch with wine and goodies. It's a great base for biking the area. They also offer a nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing