We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Gardens Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed here towards the end of a 3 week driving holiday of CA for 2 nights. Our route took us from Santa Monica staying over night in Cambria along the stunning highway stopping in PG before heading back to SF. There are quite a few places within close proximity on the Monterey Peninsula (Carmel, Monterey etc) so it quite difficult to make the initial decision on where to stay. We’re glad we chose PG but spent time most of the other towns in the area. PG itself I found to be a sleepy little town with plenty to keep us entertained for a couple of nights.

The Pacific Gardens Inn is located sort of on the outskirts of the town just over the road from the beach, to get to the beach you need to walk for about 5 mins through another hotel and conference place which is pretty sizeable. The Inn itself was great for the price we paid, although in my opinion although the rooms were clean and very spacious they could do with being redecorated as our room was looking a tad dated and tired, the fire is a nice feature with wooden logs provided and easy to get going as gas is also piped in. The staff were very pleasant and the cheese and wine in the evening was a nice touch and a chance to mingle with other guests. The breakfast was adequate and inline with other places we stayed in CA that included breakfast in the rate however the American style breakfasts of sweet pastries etc is way too sweet for me early in the morning, and at many time during our trip would have killed just for some none sweetened bread to have some toast!!!

Excluding the beach and the near by seafood restaurant there isn’t anything else to my mind that is within easy walking distance of the Inn but the town centre is only aprox 5 minutes away in the car where there is a selection of restaurants, cinema etc.

On balance Pacific Gardens Inn is a great place to base yourself to explore the Monterey Peninsula or chill out on the beach for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    114
    43
    8
    5
See reviews for
125
111
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

this place gives u the warmth expected from an inn. Its a nice cosy place to unwind and very close to 17 mile drive and carmel by the sea. maintained well and the staff were very attentive to the requirements.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indranuhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Great room layout - plenty of space, fireplace, table, chairs, refrigerator, desk, Great greeting by Kiley on arrival - like concierge service at a top hotel, Great accommodations by Robert for my elderly parents, Great access for walking to Asilomar Beach; Great continental breakfast and daily wine/ cheese reception, Great lobby with fireplace and chairs for mixing with guests, Great garden layout for privacy in the two hot tub areas. We had an overall GREAT time! Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This was our second trip to Pacific Grove this year and our first stay at Pacific Gardens. We stayed for a week and couldn't have picked a better spot. The staff (Robert & Annette) made us feel at home from the moment we walked through the door until the day we left. They were friendly and helpful and made our stay more enjoyable.

The complimentary wine and cheese each evening was a nice way to meet other travelers and relax after a day of bicycling and hiking. A deluxe barbecue available for use by guests is also a great bonus.

The location is perfect. You are minutes from the beach yet feel far from the madding crowd, in a restful and wooded setting. Deer and blue jays are commonly seen on the grounds.

We would recommend the Pacific Garden Inn to any traveler to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go-bicycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Very nice inn, kind of a combination inn/bed and breakfast. Fabulous wine and cheese reception each night. Rooms are fairly basic but have wood burning fireplaces and really give you a cottage feel. Last year we stayed in a chain hotel about the same distance from Cannery Row and paid about the same price. That was fine but was nothing like the experience of being 5 min. from ocean by foot and staying in this unique location. Would also like to pay special thanks to the clerk/manager Annette who made us feel as if we were the only guest upon arrival. She also kept things going at the wine and cheese reception and was very good at listening and talking to guests without being too intrusive. She is very good at her job and we appreciated it. We met up with 2 great folks from Vancouver, Dex & Rilla (thanks to Annette for introducing) and are sorry we did not have more time to chat. If you are in this area and do not want to pay Cannery Row prices this is a fabulouse alternative with a lot of charm and charactor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bflojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Good location - completely different from our previous stop - San Francisco. Drive to the many good restaurants in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_and_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I expected less for what we spent, what a nice surprise! The desk clerk were super nice, the wine and cheese hour was a plus. The room was clean and the air popper for the popcorn was a trip! Breakfast was more than decent. Good coffee. Only down side was I did hear the people in the next room at one point, but all said and done I am pleased!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bccwolfe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Property: Pacific Gardens Inn
Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#3 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing