We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey but delicious”
Review of Fishwife

Fishwife
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The sister restaurant is in Seaside, CA
Vallejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pricey but delicious”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was traveling alone on business, and appreciated that they gave me a table where I felt comfortable. Food was very good, and the service excellent. Everyone seemed to be enjoying their visit, some seemed like regulars.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosamundLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    244
    88
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very dependable”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

You can count on good seafood and friendly competent service without the big crowds at the wharf. The Fishwife is in an unassuming building at the curve of the road just off the ocean. You can walk a few blocks down from the many motels by Asilomar and have a top quality lunch or dinner. The calamari fixed abalone-style was fresh and tender; the barrmundi was very flavorful with a spicy salsa. Prices are very reasonable for the Carmel/Monterey area. Lunch for two with a glass of wine was filling and satisfying for $50.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianaW44_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If You Like Seafood. . .”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

. . .You must try Fishwife. Reservations are recommended due to local popularity. I go to Pacific Grove two to four times each year and Fishwife is a must visit each time. An excellent martini and dinner is a great way to end the day.

Helpful?
Thank dokepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great view on the nearby beach, excellent prices”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We did this on our final night of a 5 night stay in Monterey and it was a great treat. I had heard about it from locals on previous trips, and this place definitely seemed more local than touristy, which was a great find on a long trip. Great variety of fish and creative presentations. Price was very good for being near the beach. The only negative comment is that we were budget conscious and detected a little rudeness from the waiter when declining a drink order. It didn't take away from the meal but we could tell we were added to the "cheap patron" list, which is a shame because I did tip well despite it so probably worked out the same for the waiter regardless. Advanced pointer: time your meal so that you can still catch the sunset from the beach - you could easily walk there from the street parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Near our hotel, but some way out of Pacific Grove, this place was a nice find. The staff were very friendly and the food very good. Bit of a mixed menu but mainly fish. Good portions, well cooked and good selection of ale & wine to wash it down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishwife also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Fishwife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing