We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish was Never This Good”
Review of Passionfish

Passionfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Passionfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress Ave
Description: Doing what we know, to save what we love! A sustainable seafood restaurant focused on saving our oceans. Awards: - Zagat rated #2 Best Seafood in Bay Area 2012 - Repeatedly named "Best Restaurant in Monterey County" by Monterey County Weekly readers. In 2012, Passionfish was voted Best Selection of Wines by the Glass, Best Restaurant in Monterey County, Best Restaurant in Pacific Grove, Best Seafood Restaurant, and Best Sustainable Restaurant (a record-breaker for the Weekly's 22nd annual Best of Monterey County poll). - Participant in the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch program. - Selected in April 2012 to be on the Ameriorganic list. - Certified green by the Monterey Bay Green Business Program. As the first officially green restaurant in Monterey County, Passionfish sets an example with a strict policy of sustainable and environmentally friendly purchasing.Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife, Cindy Walter. With an ever changing menu that features the freshest sustainable seafood, slow cooked meats, farm fresh organic greens and delectable house-made desserts, your experience is guaranteed to be unique EVERY time you dine with us. The chef’s simply inspired dishes reflect his philosophy of serving healthy, flavorful, and ecologically sound meal choices. All are complimented with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, priced well below what you might expect.Over the past eight years, Passionfish has earned a noteworthy reputation for Chef Walter’s unique California cuisine. His simple, inspired recipes have been published in:- Bon Appetit magazine - Ocean Friendly Cuisine: Sustainable Seafood Recipes from the World's Finest Chef's - The Food of Fisherman's Wharf: Cooking and Eating from San Francisco to Monterey Passionfish has also been featured on KRON TV's "Bay Cafe", Rachel Ray's "Tasty Travels" and the Discovery Channel's new healthy lifestyles program.Join us for dinner and experience the NEW good life!Our Passion - Be sure to check out these organizations and to support our ocean friends:Monterey Bay Aquarium Tag-A-GiantSeafood Watch Eco TrustFish WiseLeatherback Turtle TrustLiving Oceans Marine Fish Conservation Network Marine Stewardship Council NOAAOceana Oceans Alive Plastic Pollution CoalitionSea Turtle Restoration Project Sea Web Seafood Choices Tagging of Pacific Predators The Coastal Alliance for Aquaculture Reform The Institute for Fisheries Resources
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fish was Never This Good”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you are looking for fish chowder or fisherman's platter this is not the place.
If you want innovative delicious meals from start to finish then roll on up. best you have a reservation since the secret is out on how good this food is. To top it off they have great wait staff.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank brucect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    310
    91
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Finest Seafood Restaurant I've been to”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was a party of three. Two of us started with the crab cake, the other the crab and avocado salad. The crab cake was heaven. Almost solid crab with just enough binder to keep it together.

I had the salmon. The other two had the snapper. All the fish was cooked perfectly. All was excellent. Great flavors that supported the fish and not overwhelming it.

Lots of wine options.

As for their emphasis on sustainability, I would say it is appreciated. But I'm now getting to the point where I'm demanding it. Thank you Monterey Bay Aquarium for some solid guidelines.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennisBum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, CA
Level 6 Contributor
573 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Enjoyable birthday dinner”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Located on Congress and Lighthouse is this eating establishment that's been in Pacific Grove for 17 years.

Our reservations were at 7:30 and we were seated right away. In the reservations I commented it was a birthday celebration, and the restaurant gave us a menu with "Happy Birthday" on the top, with the date. Very cool!

Stephen and I split the Crab Cake, which was excellent. About 3 ounces of crab, and no fillers. The lime relish went very well.

He got the King Salmon and I got the Duck Confit. He really enjoyed his meal, but mine was a slight disappointment. The honey reduction sauce was perfect but whoever seared my duck did so where it was like cutting leather. I ended up tossing the seared side because it was overcooked. The other side of the duck was tender and it would have been amazing if the other side wasn't ruined.

For dessert we each had a cup of coffee, and shared the mint and espresso mud pie. That really was delicious, and complimented our dinner.

Overall, good service. Great atmosphere. When dessert was served, they added a candle to the mud pie. I was disappointed the dessert wasn't comp'd like other places, even though it was worth $8.

A great restaurant, and plenty of free 2 hour parking located outside the boulevard.
1 star taken out because of the disappointing ruined duck

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmemochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We enjoyed a delicious meal at Passionfish recently. A good half hour walk from our hotel in Monterey so certainly time to build up an appetite, but interesting houses to look at on the walk there. Walked back on the seafront. The food was tasty and well presented, great comprehensive wine list with knowledgeable staff. We only had starters and mains, too full for dessert, though they sounded delicious. Full for a Monday night, so obviously popular. Friendly service. Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trupti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gourmet seafood in Monterey Peninsula”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This restaurant provides a serene atmosphere to enjoy first rate seafood. Our meals had the freshest ingredients and were crafted with a level of sophistication we found lacking in the other restaurants we tried. All the dishes we tried were superb: fried oysters, sturgeon, 12 hour spoonable lamb breast, banana walnut bread pudding. Service was very polished-we asked that they space the dishes one at a time so we could share each-and they masterfully did so. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nsp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passionfish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Passionfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing