We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Grove Gem”

Favaloro's Big Night Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Favaloro's Big Night Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Fountain Avenue
Transit: Monterey Salinas Transit about 12 steps away.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pacific Grove Gem”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Outstanding Italian/Seafood restaurant. The owner/chef prepared nine over-the-top gourmet dinners for our group. The service was impeccable, attention to every detail was obvious, outstanding bread & dipping trays with virgin olive oil, balsamic & an olive remoulade were constantly refreshed without asking and we were made to feel like long time customers.

They have an incredibly deep & complex as you want wine selection from the budget priced all the way to stand out vintages in every type of wine you wish.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CABarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    44
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Somehow, we must be the exception to the crowd. Not sure what everyone is raving about - our meals were good, but not exceptional. We've eaten at the top restaurants in Pacific Grove; this was our first visit to Favaloro's...definitely does not displace our favorite restaurants in the area. Service was very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank C-S-TravelersFromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Excellent Service”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were a large group (9 people) and the service was excellent. Everyone's entree came at the same time and the servers made sure the meal progressed smoothly. The food was also quite good, I enjoyed the special Lasagna and my wife very much enjoyed the Big Night Ciopinot. Only problem was not allowing separate checks. We managed to get the bill divided correctly amongst everyone, but separate checks would have made life a lot more simpler.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and wonderful service”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We arrived just as they were opening for the evening, 5PM. We were warmly greeted and felt welcomed immediately. This is a small restaurant, so would be a nice choice for a special meal. They serve beer and wine, no liquor. The wine list is nice and reasonably priced. There is a corkage fee if you bring your own wine. The server also offered two bottles of wine that were not on the wine list. Expect to pay around $20 - $25 per entree. We had oysters on the half shell and calamari to start. Entrees were a cheese ravioli dish, clam entree and a salad and soup. We all loved our meals. Everything was perfectly cooked. We were able to ask our waiter for recommendations, and he was able to help. The wait staff are required to have tasted everything on the menu, so they are able to answer questions. We topped it all off with a yummy chocolate cake. Meal for three, appetizers, salads, entrees and dessert, along with a couple of glasses of wine each was around $140. We highly recommend this restaurant. Our daughter, 11 years old, loved this place. Younger children may not find this quite the right place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca
1 review
“A lovely meal”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were looking for something local, but not part of the tourist offerings. Loved this place. Only one person did not clean their plate,( including 2 preteens). We had 2 items from the special list. A beet salad, delicious and the lobster ravioli, yum! Baked oysters, clam linguine, a seafood combo linguini, and ravioli tre formaggie. Yum yum yum!! The food was fresh and Hot! Great service. Will definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank sosuzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Favaloro's Big Night Bistro also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Favaloro's Big Night Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing