We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Lamb”

Fandango Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Fandango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California. Featuring Mediterranean & European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops, and Fandango’s famous rack of lamb... all on our wood burning grill. In addition to our hearty pastas, paella, lamb shank, and osso bucco.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Food and service were both very good. Lamb chops were very nicely prepared and extremely tasty. Very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EccentricExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the warm ambience and so happy you enjoyed the lamb chops… The lamb is not to be missed at our restaurant! We sincerely hope you visit us again soon and thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 411 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

What can I even say about this place? Everything from the fresh made sand dab appetizers to the entrees were impeccable! We ordered a 14 ounce cold water lobster that was completely to die for! In fact every single entree ordered were hands down perfect!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Morgan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Wow! Thank you for the kind words and the wonderful review! We sincerely hope that you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This pace has been a favorite for at least 20 years. Everything works. Food and service are excellent. The staff is accommodating and one always leaves happy and contented.

1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for the awesome review! We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went to Fandango based on good Yelp reviews. We were there on a Monday and it was not busy. I felt like we were an inconvenience to our waiter. We were seated quickly in the back by the fireplace (and the restrooms). We had to ask for the wine list and then had to ask again what wines were served by the glass. Then we waited again for a taste, since we didn't want to order wine without a taste. The food came quickly, but was not "over the top" as we had had anticipated. I had the pasta roll ups and they were good, but kind of heavy with cheese. The hubby had veal Osso Bucco and it was OK. Then he ordered a 2nd glass of wine and had to wait until his meal was almost finished. Our waiter was a little curt and we felt like an afterthought. I would not go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

We are so sorry you did not receive better service on your visit with us. We sincerely want all of our guests to enjoy a wonderful, memorable meal with us and we will look into your comments. Thank you for taking the time to review and we hope you will consider dining with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We came here for Thanksgiving dinner. Our 5th visit to dine in the many years we owned a second home nearby. Familiar with restaurant. Disappointed each time. Food is really horrible. Had signature dish of Paella one time and was not edible. Sent back. All our 5 friends at table agreed.
Getting back to Thanksgiving. Wife insisted we do Thanksgiving at Fandango. Married 44 years but no longer together. I did not want her alone Thanksgiving. So off we went. Owner seemed more subdued than usual. We ordered traditional turkey dinner. I asked for dark meat. Waiter looked at us funny and went to kitchen. Returned to say no dark left. I went ahead with order. Turkey covered with what tasted like canned gravy. Turkey about not edible. Basically it was a processed turkey breast uniformly sliced. Tough and tasteless. Mashed potatoes seemed as if packaged. Really bad. I promised wife I would not make a scene or even complain. She could not eat her turkey and opted to leave it but then took it and threw away later. Highly unusual for her. Tab was $100 for two. No alcohol. I give two stars because ambiance is really nice. Just come for water or a drink. Stay away from the food. Big problem at this place. There are so many great places in PG and nearby Carmel and Monterey. Fandango does not care for their customers. I sensed the owner was embarrassed to serve processed turkey breast and preprocessed commercial side dishes . His cook could not even take time to roast a bird or two and carve. Disgraceful. Every dish was mediocre, poorly presented or even worse. There was not a huge crowd of people. Stay away!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reluctant_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fandango Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Fandango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing