We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delicious surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra Restaurant

Petra Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

When we walked into Petra, it was not at all crowded, and after we finished, we couldn't understand why not. The prices for food and wine are quite reasonable, and the food is absolutely delicious. We ordered falafel (very fresh), and a fantastic appetizer platter that had a lamb kabob (perfectly grilled), chicken gyro, hummus, and dolmades. We would have ordered more but that was completely satisfying. This restaurant is a great alternative to disappointing and overpriced fancy restaurants. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheblockwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    21
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Odd atmosphere, but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stopped in almost by accident as we were looking for somewhere to eat. This mediterranean restaurant had dated decor and played Indian music, but had delicious hummus and chicken gyros. Our waitress was very helpful and ensured my lactose intolerant friend had a dairy free meal. While we didn't order them, we heard later that they have the best burgers in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable international friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Really good humus. Beyond that my picky eater, who only orders cheeseburgers these days, loved the chicken soup, my chicken kabob, and rice from my kabob plate. The Baklava was not overwhelmingly dripping with honey. Nice murals on the walls. Great prices on gyros. Lamb on kabob plate very tender

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston salem
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We ate there in August and had a wonderful dinner with great service. Meal was flavorful and fresh. Room was quaint and crowd seemed mostly local. I'd go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

So, look, I'm spoiled by two AMAZING Lebanese joints in my hometown, having spent some time in the Levant, etc. But really, people, there's no excuse for laziness.

1) Sour cream instead of lebnah. My lactose-intolerant family couldn't eat half their gyro because of this. Just strain the yogurt, ok? Or warn us that you're taking a shortcut.
2) SOGGY phyllo dough on the obviously pre-frozen spinach pie. OK, so you aren't Greek, fine--at least get the phyllo crispy.
3) "Turkish" coffee coming out of a large coffee thermos, rather than coming in a cezve...or at least having been made on the spot, come ON.
4) Having to ask for extra frizzled onions on the mujadara, which was served with some sort of odd "salsa," what? Waitress was nice about getting them, though.
5) An otherwise decent red served in a tiny, dessert wine-sized glass (why?).
6) poor, POOR quality olive oil topping the hummus and baba ganouj. Seriously, I don't even think it was extra virgin, or perhaps half canola? I don't know. Blah. No paprika or pine nuts on the hummus, either.

The service was decent and nice, although she didn't know the Arabic names listed for the dishes on the menu (it's "ful," it's phonetic, ok?), so ordering was a little awkward. The food was fine, not inedible. Just...lazy. We were glad we didn't spring for the more expensive mains and stuck to sandwiches and apps.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stara0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petra Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Petra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing