We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Springs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Clean and comfortable. Our room was recently remodeled and there were no rooms above us. The motel laundry was next door but very quiet. Staff was friendly and very accomodating for extra needs. Great location away from the crowds yet withn walking distance of the beach. We reserved the room at the last minute and the price was very reasonable for the area.
There were two disappointments but not complaints. First, the dressing and basin area are cramped because of the bathroom door. Two adults cannot pass. Secondly, the continental breakfast was not even close to the photo shown on their website. In addition to the photo, the fruit had been there awhile. The refrigerator, microwave, and fireplace were an added plus. Since there was no A/C don't know if we would stay there in mid-summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Deer Haven Inn, it our goal to make ensure each guest has an exceptional stay. After intense renovation and change, our breakfast and rooms have vastly improved. I will be sure to leave word with management in regards to the dressing door not having enough space. Also, since we are located in Pacific Grove, we get the ocean breeze and A/C is not needed. Fans are always available upon request.
Thanks again and we look forward to having you back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    100
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
83
104
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Reasonable decor. Probably decorated within last few years. Coffee machine. Clean fridge and microwave. 10 mins walk to beach. Free trolley bus into town. Check in was pleasant. Coffee, orange juice, toast, cereal and muffins are available on a morning from reception. Paid $124 per night. Worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanF99Fos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! The team is glad that your stay was more than exceptional. We welcome you back so you get an opportunity to check our updated rooms and breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This place is a worn down motel. We arrived after 4:00 pm and were handed our keys by the surly man at the front desk. No friendly greetings here. The rooms were still being cleaned, though he didn't mention that, so we had to wait around for another 45 minutes. We were on the first floor next to a dumping ground with old toilets and other motel trash. The walls are paper thin and we could hear every footstep above us. The "breakfast" is basically froot loops and the coffee wasn't ready. We paid way too much to stay at this dump but there was nothing else available in the area. Try very hard to find something else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Let us thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide outstanding service and to welcome each guest warmly upon arrival. On behalf of the staff, we deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. After intense renovation , our rooms and breakfast have vastly improved. We hope that we can be given another opportunity to showcase our newly renovated Inn and that your stay with us will be more than satisfactory. We are confident that all of your concerns and complaints will have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale,CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Snagged a few days here on the final week of the historic car races and the Pebble Beach Auto show,This is a bad time to be looking for rooms in the area When we got here I was not sure it was the same place from web site picture,it's not what you see as you drive in .I had read the reviews here and wondered what to expect, we usually stay up in Marina at a higher end place with cottages on the beach. We got here about an hour early, but check in was smooth and very friendly, They mentioned that if the staff had not gotten to the room yet give them a little time, but it was done so we were able to settle in a bit early. Having booked the room through Expideia, you usually end up with the rooms that are a bit less desirable and true to form this room was right next to the laundry. We were a bit worried but noise from the staff was very low and the dryers and washers were nearly silent, so I have no complaint, The room was very clean, Shower water pressure is a bit low if your used to pump pressure, but also no complaint as water is rare in this area. The shower has a dispenser for shampoo,body wash and conditioner, which was handy. There are flat screen Tv's in the room with cable. WiFi was also in the room via password. The room has a fridge,a microwave, for snacks, also a gas fireplace for a bit of ambience but prepare to open the windows as it warms up quickly. Over all I like the Deer Haven and would not hesitate to come back, we paid about 120-160 per night and I don't feel to bad about that............Oh also not to far to walk from the FishWife restaurant.......a bonus So in closing i'm giving the Deer Haven 4 stars in the price range it fits in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FutureCustoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for letting us get the privilege to have you as our guest. The team is very grateful for your feedback. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to make sure we exceed expectations. We are also glad that your room was met with a positive experience. Our renovations are only getting better. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

When you pay $300/night, you have every right to expect a high level of amenities and service. Extremely disappointed with lack of all of the above. We were 1st c/in into a ground floor room, which felt like we were in a cave with one tiny window. The 2nd room was better - but when you read on their website "newly remodeled" it is mainly cosmetic. There is no fan, no AC. Mismatch cloths hangers, terrible coffee. At $300/night it is expected to find one or the other. I get it that the nights are cool but for security reasons, if you leave the window close, well it get warm very quickly. Breakfast is included. What breakfast? At $300/night I have every right to expect a proper breakfast with a choice of breads, fruits, yogourt. Do you think the owners have the customer in mind when they only offer breakfast starting at 8AM?
If you happen to read this review after shopping online this hotel in hopes to confirm your choice of accommodations; and the price offered is $300 - go somewhere else. It Is NOT worth it. At the most, this place is worth $100/night. My husband and I got a goodnight sleep but NOT worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MTLEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
First and foremost let me thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay was not met with the best standards. Deer Haven Inn was undergoing intense renovation. During our busy months, hotels in the area increase their rates based on community events. Since we are located in Pacific grove, we get the ocean breeze and A/C is not needed. Fans are always available upon request. We wish you the best and hope that we have an opportunity to show you an outstanding experience next time. Since our renovations are complete, our rooms and breakfast have vastly improved. We are confident that all of your concerns and complaints will have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Clean double room worked great for our 4 buddy golf outing. Fairly quiet. Early risers are treated with coffee, cinnamon rolls, cereal & bananas. Also nice little block and half stroll for dinner to the Fishwife eatery.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobullSouthernCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Let us thank you for your feedback. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to ensure a exceptional experience. We are glad you were able to navigate through the area and try Fishwife. Awesome place I might add. We hope we get another chance to have you as our guest. Our rooms and breakfast have vastly improved!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have been to this area a number of times. We knew the location of the hotel would be good to all the attractions in the area. However, it was very warm and there is no air conditioner. We had to ask for a fan to be provided. We were on the first level with windows facing the street and did not like the fact the windows were the only air for the room especially during the night. We heard a lot of traffic around 2 am every night. Our room was not clean when we returned from a day of adventure (4 pm) and had to leave again for another 1 1/2 before it was cleaned. We were paying a good price for the room and questions the management about this, and they said that they were one cleaning lady short both times...and it was not their fault for the delay....and offered no offset for the inconvenience The breakfast consists of cereal and frozen bread. Finally, one night a spider crossed over my husbands face, and another night spider crawled up my son's arm. Management was not pleasant to deal with.

Room Tip: select a second floor and a room with windows away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
First and foremost let us thank you for your critical feedback. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to provide outstanding service and accommodation. Since we are located in pacific Grove, we get the ocean breeze, and A/C is not needed in the area. We also would like to apologize if your room was not to your standards. Your comments on the room being unclean will be reviewed by management. Pest control has not been an issue at this Inn, and we will do our absolute best to make sure it is not a problem. On behalf of management we offer our apologies and we hope we can get another opportunity to have you as our guest. Our rooms and breakfast have vastly improved. Our renovations have been quite intense and we are happy with the outcome.
A tip-- Rates for hotels and inns tend to increase based on community events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Property: Deer Haven Inn
Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing