We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always clean, always friendly”
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our recent trip did not start off well. With unexpected delays, we left nearly 6 hours behind schedule and forgot our confirmation print out with the hotel number. I was relieved when Lisa called around 5 to make sure everything was alright and that we were coming. She checked us in later that evening and made sure we had everything we needed to make our anniversary trip enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Deer Haven. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and professional. The Inn is very close to the ocean and you can easily hear the waves crashing on Asilomar Beach which is a block away. The Inn is off the beaten track enough to have a pleasant neighborhood feel, and close enough to be easily assessable to restaurants and attractions. We stayed a week and found the Inn to be a very quiet and pleasant place to stay. Seeing the deer wandering the grounds were an added treat especially for my daughter. You can go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: If you have smokers in your party, a room at the far end is closest to the patio where smoking is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turnkey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have stayed at the Deer Haven before, but this time found a great surprise. They have new management, along with redone rooms, new furniture, and very friendly service. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful, the room updated and clean, with a nice fireplace, and beds were super comfortable. All this and probley the best price in the area. Will certainly stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorandRP, Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind review! It's always great to hear from guests that enjoyed themselves here! We hope to see you back really soon!

Sincerely,
Roshan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

after a long drive from Arizona and arriving hours later than we expected.. it was a wonderful place to Land! personable friendly professional and kind individual answer the phone in person take care of us and feel like we were the most important people they had ever had! agh I mean fireplace room we did for us housekeeping was not intrusive the breakfast with simple and lovely and the fireplace outside of the office was beautiful place to have breakfast & coffee. we both lived on the coast for years and having moved away found that this was the perfect place for us to stay when visiting family etc our dog was able to run unless you mean field surrounding the property and we were only a block from the beach! simply wonderful the best value going to find anywhere with the kind of people you could ask for! write

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilymcelyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictorandRP, Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! All of the staff at the hotel strive to ensure that each and every guest has a wonderful stay and it is very rewarding when we have a review like this to share with the team. Thank you!

We hope you get a chance to visit us again very soon!

Kind regards,
Shayna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My son and I and his friend stayed at the Deer Haven Inn recently for 2 nights. It was pouring most of the time we were there but the room was just lovely, now that it has been renovated. We had a fireplace, small refrigerator, microwave and a coffee pot ! It was very quite at night so you were able to sleep. The front desk lady Lisa, I think was her name, was very nice and helpful.
Can't wait to stay here again, very close to the beach as well !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenaJordan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This place lived up to its name. Just walking down the road we say a family of Deer. It was so sweet. The newly remodeled rooms made me feel at home. I didn't feel the need to wear my slippers or check for dirty sheets as I have done in EVERY hotel in my 30+ years of travel. My son and I fell in love with the fireplace. Only thing missing was a Hot Tub.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xandreaisinspired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We just live a little over an hour away but needed a day away. I chose the Deer Haven Inn from a list of properties because of it's charm, location, and price (not to mention it was dog friendly!)
The room had everything we needed and the fireplace was definitely an added bonus. It's a short and easy walk to the beach on a nice boardwalk and again, location...location...location. Pacific Grove is nestled just minutes between Carmel and Monterey but isn't ruined with crowded and bustling streets and major traffic congestion. And the staff at the Inn were AWESOME! They were all very friendly and super accommodating...and nice...Yep...Really nice. We'll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Gardens Inn
Pacific Gardens Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.8 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £63 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing