We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Great Location”
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deer Haven Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Affordable, Great Location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The amenities are standard and very basic, but the prices are affordable. The location is near the Asilomar gate and is about a 7-10 minute walk to the state beach which was very nice. The Deer Haven Inn is tucked away and off the main streets so the traffic noise is minimal. There is one restaurant within walking distance if you don't feel like driving into downtown Pacific Grove or into the Cannery Row area. The north entrance to 17-mile drive is nearby which makes it nice if you spend a day in Carmel; be aware that this drive is only open to residents after sunset. The staff was great. Parking is very limited on the weekends if you arrive late; rooms usually fill up quickly so book early.

If you require a lot of attention and assistance, this might not be the best place for you. If you just need a place to rest from all of your adventures then this place is a perfect fit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    103
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
86
109
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A very pet friendly motel with a quiet location. One block from Asilomar entrance gate so it's easy to take the pooch for a decent walk. Nothing fancy, but has what you need for a good night's rest.

They use DirecTV so the tv guide is rather scattered and convoluted. You have to skip thru lots of PPV and junk channels you have no interest in or even receive to get to basic staples like CNN, ABC, FOX, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aridon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Friendly staff, nice room, walk to the beach. Great for the canine member of your family.
Quiet and quaint. Will be back and will recommend to others, especially with dogs.
Can't say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: Call Deer Haven Inn directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We happened on the Deer Haven a couple of years ago and have been returning ever since. We love the area- the Monterey Peninsula is the perfect weekend getaway. The Deer Haven is perfectly situated to enjoy everything the area has to offer. It is right across the street from Asilomar and the beach is easily accessible. If you feel like having cocktails on the patio at the Inn at Spanish Bay it is a fairly short walk along the dunes.
The rooms at the Deer Haven have been recently refurbished and they have done a great job. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and every room has a little refrigerator which I find very convenient. We have stayed in rooms on both the second and first floors and find them to be equally quiet. The last time we were there they had added a fire pit and benches outside the office which would be a great place to hang out after a day at the beach. The rates fluctuate depending on the season but are very reasonable for what you get. Coffee and pastries are included in the morning as well.
The Deer Haven is our home away from home on the Monterey Peninsula!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elkhorn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there with our teenagers, and though it was a bit tight, the rooms were comfortable. They were very clean as well. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We walked to Asilomar and enjoyed the Lodge there as well. The close proximity to Pacific Grove, Carmel and Monterey make this a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Originally considered only Monterrey, but the prices are exorbitant! Reluctantly, I checked Pacific Grove and did I find a Gem! Right outside the main entrance of the Asilomar State Beach! The outside may turn you off as well as the reception area (a 3x2 area serves as a desk and a slightly larger area serves as the breakfast serving area). Don't pay attention to the outside, Large suite like rooms, Interiors are renovated, brand new bathrooms, fixtures, beds, bedding, flat screen TV, working fireplace, refrigerator and unlimited coffee supplies, plus microwave. Not that you will eat in your room with so many outstanding restaurants in the area.....Free Wifi, extremely clean and very professional staff. The grounds very well taken care off, go for your daily morning walk to the pristine Asilomar beach and see all the flowers but do not forget to visit the Museum near by....or Monterrey only a 10 min car ride!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duck, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was a wonderful stay at Deerhaven Inn, Pacific Grove. Management has done a great job of refurbishing the rooms and beautifying the gardens at the Inn. We find the Inn to be perfectly located between Monterey and Carmel and we can drive just a short distance to shop or visit both places while still enjoying a quiet stay at Pacific Grove. Thanks again Rashad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andril Fireplace Cottages
Andril Fireplace Cottages
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
823 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Property: Deer Haven Inn
Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3727
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing