We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place for breakfast”

Archie's American Diner
Ranked #62 of 80 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very nice place for breakfast”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

While vacationing in the area we stopped here for breakfast and we really enjoyed it. They have a nice selection of food for all meals but we only tried the breakfast. It was a nice walk in the morning from our hotel. On one visit we ordered breakfast sandwiches to go. It is in a great location for taking our food and enjoying it at the nearby park (Lovers Point) by the ocean. We will always eat here while visiting the area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    34
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pebble Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Place for a Burger”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The burgers are big and delicious and the fries that go with them are extra special too! Fun spot - retro 50s with a Monterey Bay view! Always a fun place to take out of town friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hankman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahwahnee, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great diner”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wonderful for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Really reasonable prices and excellent food. You go up and order and they bring it out to you. Very cute Americana atmosphere! We had breakfast and lunch there and both were perfect! Definitely a really good family restaurant, definitely really good food. Very good value for your dollar when you don't want the full on seafood restaurant experience (and cost!).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas, nv
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really close to Aquarium, great value, great food”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you're visiting the aquarium and want somewhere to eat that's really close (and you don't want to eat that the overpriced/overpacked/nowhere to sit eatery in the aquarium), I would definitely recommend Archie's American Diner. It's not even a block into Pacific Grove from the aquarium, and the food was delicious . . . or maybe we were just starving after spending most of the day walking around the aquarium. Either way, my husband and I thought the food was really good! I had the sourdough cheeseburger - I do grilled sandwiches with sourdough at home and it has really good flavor, so I couldn't pass this up. Really good burger! My husband had the Archie's Giant burger with bacon and cheese - both burgers were hot, greasy messes, which tasted really yummy that day.

If you're looking to avoid the crowd at the eatery at the aquarium, I would definitely recommend this place. If you're looking to eat hot, yummy meal, I would definitely go to Archie's. Great food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NVTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a great Cheeseburger for an in between meal away from the wonderful seafood that Monterey has to offer this is your spot. We have hit Archie's every time we come to Monterey, it is a great american burger with very tasty fry's. Archie's and the food they offer is a nice simple but great place to eat. O yes....... they have a great breakfast also!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank UATravelerHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Archie's American Diner also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Archie's American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing