We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of our trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jeninni Kitchen + Wine Bar

Jeninni Kitchen + Wine Bar
Ranked #20 of 79 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I found this place via Yelp reviews. We were staying along Cannery Row in Monterey and wanted to find a decent place to eat away from of all the touristy places by the water.

We arrived for an early (6pm) dinner and aside from some women in the bar, had the place to ourselves. Many things on the menu looked good, so we ordered a bunch of small plates to share.

We had:

Deviled egg (green harissa & jamon). Very good. I like the bit of crunch from the jamon on top.

Warm bread plate: both the hummus and the feta dip were very nice. The house prepared olives were fresh and tangy tasting.

Chicken wings (tahini, garlic, & chile) Probably my favorite thing on the menu, and one of my all time favorite wing experiences.

Chicken liver pate (pickled onions & px sherry): very nice.

Crispy octopus: this was also a big hit and it the presentation was beautiful.

Catalan salad w/romesco dressing: It was good, but way over-dressed.

Yogurt Cake (citrus & pistachio): fantastic dessert. Not too sweet, not too heavy.

Service was excellent. Our waiter was awesome. The owner even offered us a small glass of wine he felt would go well with a few of the items we ordered. I don't drink, so I cannot comment on the wine, but my husband agreed with the selection.

My only regret is that we didn't have room to try other items. The eggplant fries get a lot of mention, but we were just too stuffed. The chicarones (maple & pimenton) were not on the menu the day we went or else those would've been nice to try.

This was definitely the best meal of our trip, and next time we are in the area, Jennini will be our go-to place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Remgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tuscan chicken a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Jeninni's is doing so many wonderful things and one of them I was finally able to attend. Chef
Weiss' Tuesday Tuscan Chicken is a real treat. It is a prix fix starting with a delicious green salad, then comes the sides of brocolini and mashed potatoes with a wonderful addition of tomato. The chicken is cooked perfectly, flash fried, with a light coating of spices and on top of that is grated lemon rind along with flash fried rosemary. No gravy needed. Of course there is a lovely chocolate dessert. We decided on a Roar Pinot Noir that matched perfectly. We begged for a side of his eggplant fries and we were graciously accommodated. These are a must have when dining at Jeninni's, even eggplant haters love them. Cheers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaNPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Wow, I had heard good things about this place and it sure met my expectations. It’s one of the best places in PG and even the greater area. They have a unique, simple menu and a great wine list. We loved it! We got Brussels sprouts, chicken liver pate, rabbit + bacon butifarra, and lamb burger with eggplant fries, all of which were superb! Everything was very tasty and well prepared and the eggplant fries were amazing! I can’t wait to go back. I hope the quality stays the same.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BkPker1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jeninni Kitchen and Wie Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

One of the newest restaurants in Pacific Grove, a community with many fine restaurants. The small plates and large one are for the most part unusual. All are excellent. The bar area is charming. All one would ask for is a full bar menu, although there is a good choice of wines and brews.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh Simple Creative local pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We get to eat at the best restaurants in the world. It's easy these days to spend a great deal on mediocre food. What's becoming less so is having truly great tasting food at affordable prices. When one dines as much as we do it's a pleasure to have relatively simple food that's world class in ingredients taste preparation and service.
Food here ranges from small plates to "sharing size" portions of seasonal variety locally sourced produce. Enjoy a glass of wine with a snack or go for a bottle with a more substantial entree.
You can't go wrong!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jeninni Kitchen + Wine Bar also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Been to Jeninni Kitchen + Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing