We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is not posh, nor fancy but we knew this when we booked. Whilst generally run down, it was immaculately clean, and the beds huge and comfortable. And whilst we had an ocean view room, the only window in the room looked onto the public walkway balcony, so as other reviewers have said, you cannot keep the blinds open if you want any privacy. Plus you had to lean over the balcony to see the sea, but it was pretty when you could see it.
Check in was fairly easy, free wifi and the breakfast, whilst simple was pretty good, nice coffee and orange juice, and lovely setting outside with a sea view.

If you just want somewhere to stay and sleep, then this is a great choice, good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear bikegirl,

As a small family owned hotel, positive reviews like yours really help us out. We are so happy to have had you as our guest and we hope you choose us for your next trip to Pacific Grove.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here with my family for two days. January 1 and 2. It's not the fanciest hotels but it's very clean. I booked two rooms which I requested to get by each other which I did. The location it's great right next to lovers point park. There's a trail that you could take walking if you don't mind a good walk to the aquarium. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone that's on a budget Thank you to Diane, awesome personality

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandravrodrigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear sandrarodrigue,

We appreciate the very nice review! it was a pleasure to have you as out guest and are extremely pleased that you chose our hotel. We are looking forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

stayed the night there over the weekend (1/4) and was overall greatly disappointed. prior to registering there were two other parties ahead of me so i was being patient awaiting my turn. i noticed that the registration person had a very canned speech when registering i.e. breakfast is available at such and such a time, parking down below, internet access, beach is across the street, etc. etc. so when it came to be my turn i heard the same thing, except for.... "and by the way there are security cameras all over the place". didn't think too much of this at the time, but i did wonder, "why did he mention that to me and not the others in his canned speech". finally after the registration was complete he was giving me the cardkey and i suggested that he only issue me one for both my wife and i (i guess standard issue is two). well lo and behold the cardkey didn't work after several attempts. so i went back to the front office, and yes there were others in the middle of registration. and yes i got to hear the canned speech again as he gave it to the new registrants. but i noticed again that the "security camera" portion was yet missing from his speech. was it because i look and happen to be hispanic? i don't know but it was strange that it felt that way.

oh and the toilet backed up. so i called the front desk to have someone unplug the toilet. i didn't realize that i was both the plumber and the guest:( all he did (same guy at the registration desk) was hand me the plunger and in a bag and said "you can just keep it in the room" and turned around and walked away. i suppose that i could have said allot of things but didn't want to make a big deal about it. i suppose my response is writing the review and vowing to NEVER go back or suggest to anyone they stay at this location.

also, my wife who loves taking a bath chose not to after she removed a glob of hair from the drain. and the outside noise can be very distracting. at one point i asked my wife to close the window because i could hear the cars and people outside...the window was already securely closed!

yes the price is very affordable and the location is awesome (across from the beach) but the view both in the room and from the room lack a great deal. sorry but on a scale of 1-10 i would give it 2-3.

Room Tip: pay a little extra and stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear David S,

We sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property. As a small family owned and operated hotel, we take our customer service extremely seriously and it appears in this case we did not meet your, or our usually high standards. While we were having issues with our electronic card key system, we do apologize that our front desk staff was not more service oriented regarding your toilet.

It is unfortunate that you felt that due to your heritage you received less than outstanding service. Many of our front desk employees are "minorities" with a large percentage of Hispanic descent and the Lovers Point Inn enthusiastically welcomes guests of all races and nationalities.

Again, we are sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had the bad luck of booking too early (april 2013). They changed their "system" and our paid reservation got lost. Thankfully the receptionist was helpful and called hotels.com. Hotels.com promptly rebooked us into another nearby property which was a great choice... Can't tell you much about the hotel other than it would have been an awesome location, and receptionist was helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank colleens941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear colleens941,

Thanks for originally booking with our hotel and we apologize that your reservation was lost. Yes, we did upgrade our entire reservation system and there were some lost reservations. We regret that this happened to you but are glad we could rebook you at another local hotel.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed there for New Year's Eve celebration. We checked in at 7PM to room #218. The room locates at the end of the hallway with no view whatsoever of the ocean. We checked in and staff gave us key cards for us to enter to our room. We went up there, both of our key cards did not work. My husband went down there again for the second time and get new cards. He went back up and tried it again but it did not work. They staff used the lame excuse that "we had it ready for you guys prior to check in," The third time, my husband went down and they gave him new set of card which again DID NOT WORK. I was livid and went down stair to send of the staff up to correct the problem. The staff went up and again used the excuse "ooh, the lock did not work and we can't give you guys the master key card." They recommend whenever we come back to our room, we can gave them a call and a staff can help us open the door to our room.
Another thing that I do not like lay out of the room, you can't barely open the door because of the nightstand behind the door. Our window's view is a wall and some trees.
I would like to recommended to the staff that they should fix the door to a room prior to renting it out for the night. My husband overheard one of the staff telling another staff that room #218 always have trouble with guest key card.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trinnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear trinnie L

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that your visit did not go as smoothly as anticipated. We researched your information and we were having some issues with our electronic key card system. We have also reviewed our staff's procedures regarding guest complaints such as these and have instituted additional training. We do apologize that this issue repeated itself during your stay and want to assure you that we have taken every possible measure to ensure that this will not happen again.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was there with my daughter for 4 days & three nights during thanksgiving & we are in love with pacific grove. Satisfied with our room & lucky to get the one with the ocean view . It's a very cute place & has it's beauty except of course for the noise of the people passing by from our room but it's not an issue! I am actually going back this February & I can't wait to do more outdoors & paddle boarding ! It's a great location ! Close to the park , good restaurant across the street & jog early morning right at the coast! Definitely will keep coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherylfernandez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear cherylfernandez3,

Thanks for the wonderful review. We are so glad you chose our hotel and are looking forward to your return in February!

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Very clean rooms and details taken care off. Rooms were better than expected from the outside. Staff was nice. Nice ocean view with a small park between the hotel and the ocean. Right next door restaurant was out of bussiness. Breakfast included. Stayed just one night though.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pablo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear BIAP P,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. Comments and feedback are critical to a small business like ours and so we appreciate your review very much. We are glad your stay was enjoyable and while the restaurant you mentioned is closed, the Beach House at Lovers Point is open for Happy Hour and Dinner directly across the street. We hope that you had a chance to enjoy it and we are looking forward to serving you on your next visit to Pacific Grove!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
310 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: £59 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing