We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
SoCal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at Lover's Point Inn. We have stayed in the Monterey area several times, and because of the price and location, I have thought about staying here many times, but it never worked out until our last visit. I always do a lot of research before booking a room, and for the location and price, IMO there is no better option.
We had planned on 1 night in Monterey and then a drive down the coast to stay 1 night in Cambria. The weather when we arrived was so warm and beautiful, so I asked the guy at the front desk if there was anything available for the next night, just in case. There was and my husband said "It's perfect here. Let's stay". The front desk guy who helped us (wish I got his name; he was new) was so nice and helpful. Our room for the first night was toward the front (I think 203) and had a very nice view. It was a queen bed, spacious enough and very comfortable. Our second night, we were on the 3rd floor with a king bed, toward the back (maybe room 312) and we had a different, but almost better view. This place isn't fancy, but for the price, it is really nice. All of the other hotels in the area (with the exception of Borgs) are priced several hundred dollars a night higher than this one. We area always looking for the best value for our travel dollars, and for our needs, this is it. Limited, but good and filling breakfast with toast, muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs, apples, cereal, juice and coffee. In addition to the first front desk guy, there was another man and woman who might be the owners and they we also very nice. We had such a great visit that I was reluctant to leave. Lover's Point Inn will always be my first choice on our future visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear SoCalGirl27,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and your comments mean a lot to us. I'll be sure to pass along your positive comments to our front desk staff. Thanks for choosing to stay with Lovers Point Inn and we hope to see you very soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    271
    140
    68
    38
See reviews for
164
448
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband and I recently returned to Lover’s Point Inn in Pacific Grove and enjoyed an amazingly relaxing and pampering retreat! The location is great and the hotel always surpasses our expectations. To begin our outstanding visit, the check-in experience was easy and enhanced by a friendly, helpful clerk. We grabbed some complimentary delicious cookies and coffee and went up to see our spacious, well-appointed room. With its refrigerator and microwave, we were all set to store our favorite beverages and snacks. An unexpected treat was the box of incredibly delicious homemade assorted chocolates from Carousel Candies that was left for us. We loved the large comfortable bed with an amazingly soft but supportive mattress. As we relaxed, we enjoyed the large flat screen TV when we weren’t gazing at the gorgeous view of the Monterey Bay and cypress trees. We left the room and strolled on the adjacent recreation trail and enjoyed the beautiful waves up close and personal and Lover’s Point Park. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the new restaurant across the street, too. The next morning, we went down to the lobby and filled up a tray of breakfast items that included my favorite hard boiled eggs,toast and muffins, several juices, great coffee and cereal- which we loved eating leisurely at our table in the room. Parking was convenient and we easily loaded up the car to go back home, reluctantly leaving our beautiful retreat!

Room Tip: The view from the upper floors is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbmonterey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear wbmonterey,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn! We are so happy you had a great stay and decided to visit us again. We've been working hard to ensure our guests are completely satisfied and your comments let us know we're doing a great job. We await your return and hope we can provide another spectacular retreat for you and your husband.

Sincerely,

Thomas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Cute,cute,cute! Location is ideal!
Sweet room with a mini-fridge and a microwave. I could have stayed longer. Simple breakfast (add some boiled eggs please) and wi-Fi included. Lovely patio area outside to eat. The bed and pillows were the best that I have found on my trip so far! Ask for a room away from the stairs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Faithtraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Faithtraveler3,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We are so glad you found our beds to be comfortable and enjoyed our Continental Breakfast as well. We hope that you stay with us again when you're ready for another getaway!

Sincerely,

Thomas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

second time staying there in 10 years, first time it was ok this time we had really nice room,218. no ocean view but really quiet and romantic. breakfast was realy good,bagels,toast yogurts ,oatmeal,cereals,milk,juices, and i ate them all LOL.

Room Tip: MIDDLE 3rd floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thanks for your positive review. We are so happy to hear that you decided to stay with us again and found our rooms to be quiet and romantic. We work hard to ensure our breakfast is fresh and it's great to hear that you enjoyed it! Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Thomas
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Having seen it many times, we decided to give the Lovers Point Inn a try on our recent visit to the Monterey area. Having read many of the reviews, I was hesitant but...what the heck, right? The Inn has tried to make upgrades to the rooms and have somewhat succeeded in the cosmetic sense and colors are restful and well chosen. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean (although it did take time to have it serviced). I would agree with other reviewers about the noise, however, and the outdated fixtures. Certainly, it is in a great location. We walked the shoreline, walked down to Cannery Row, and walked in to breakfast in Pacific Grove. It doesn't hurt my opinion that we had incredibly great weather!! I had the recurring thought, though, that for the price we paid, I would rather have spent the extra $20-25 night for a most upscale experience. Don't know that we'll try it again, but maybe!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear katyscat,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We are so glad you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, that means a lot to us. We are working hard on ensuring the best guest experience and are constantly making upgrades to our rooms as well. Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Loved our stay at the Lovers Point Inn. Very clean and quiet space. Not fancy, but everything we could want. Loved the path down by the water. (The steps into the office and up into the breakfast room and into even the lower level rooms could be a little difficult for some people to navigate if they are older or using aids for walking.) There is an elevator to 2nd and 3rd floor.

Room Tip: We had a room down at the end of the hall away from the office and on the 3rd floor and it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear SCUParent,

Thanks for your positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, found our rooms to be clean, and had a nice walk on the recreational trail! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I have a bad experience booking a hotel in an unfamiliar area but was so satisfied with this little inn. I had my kids and my husband with me on out stay and I loved it! It was across the street from Lover's Point and Lover's Point beach. Perfect small area for families not looking for the state beach scene. I didn't know what to expect since the Lobby set up is small and different. I had booked on Orbitz a better deal than the hotel itself was offering and it included "oceanview" When checking it that was not specified via Orbitz but I wasn't bothered I wasn't going to sit in my room anyway. We stayed in room 315, third floor and it was ocean view to me. There might be Borg's motel in front but all ocean from the sides and front. I thought it was amazing. It was ocean view enough for me. I walked in to our room and it was very clean and with very roomie. We had two queens and room for my boys to play. Large vanity sink area, table, biggest refrigerator ever, and the bathroom was a bit small but sufficient.Shower was hot and we didn't need the heater so not sure if it worked. Its only a mile walk on a beautiful stretch of the ocean view to the aquarium. I walked with my 3 yr old twins, 8 yr son and my husband. They made it back and forth. So the walk is doable for any family. We ate at First Awakenings prior to aquarium so nice way to end our walk. I really, really liked this inn and will stay here again. My only complaint would be it was dusty. The coffee maker, etc. I think it has alot to do with the nice weather and windows open. Other than that I loved it! Pacific Grove is a beautiful area and this inn is a nice and good value find.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kimmirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear kimmirae,

Thanks for your positive review of Lovers Point Inn. We are so glad you and your family had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We take guest feedback seriously and your review lets us know we're doing a great job. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Property: Lovers Point Inn
Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing