We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lovers Point Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sunset Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Deer Haven Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Gardens Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butterfly Grove Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Lighthouse Lodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosedale Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Peninsula Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
299
303
155
82
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
303
155
82
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovers pointacross the streetthird floorocean viewgreat locationcannery rowcontinental breakfastbeautiful parkfloor roomhard boiled eggspoint parkthe beach house restaurantan older hotelcoffee machinerooms are smallfisherman's wharfflat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Quite naturally,the more you pay for the room the better the room is! Third floor is usually a lot better than the lower floors, you always want to try not to be in front of stairs nor elevators, for the price and location, there is not a better accommodations in the Monterey area, you are either in short driving distance or walking distance to Monterey's best, Aquarium, Famous restaurants, Great breakfast places, Movie theaters........Breath taking bay views and not to mention, The 17 miles drive starts right outside your room! All of this for the price of what most motels would charge without the surroundings amenities, we have paid a lot more and received a lot less, We try to return to LP as often as possible.
Guy & Daisy Parrish

Room Tip: Please read our review.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guy & Daisy,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you choose to stay with us as often as possible and enjoy our location and accommodations. We take pride in ensuring the best guest experience and are so happy to hear that you both had a wonderful stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Looking at the pictures on line lured me to believe it's quite nice...I guess it is if you had a room on the very top floor. Upon arrival I cringed seeing the dull beige/tan color of the building. The inn is next to another motel (Borg's motel) and shared an alley with other houses down the street. They do have an underground parking lot which looked very dim. Check in was fast and the reception was very small. An elevated level, or nook, was where the breakfast items were kept. We were given the very last room at the end of the 1st floor. On its website it does indicate that 1st floor rooms were for budget traveler. But I thought since this is Pacific Grove, how bad could it be? Well, our room was right by the stairs. And right by the stairs were where the garbage/recycling bins were kept!! The room was small. When I opened the curtain, I saw the garbage bins & the metal stairs. A microwave & fridge, iron & ironing board, blow dryer were all provided, even an extra blanket. There were only 2 bath towels that were thin. There were stains on the sheets!! Yes, the walls were paper thin. At 11pm when people started coming back to their rooms, we could hear everyone talking, walking, opening/closing all the doors, footsteps upstairs. Right above our room someone kept pounding something on the floor for a good few minutes !!! When they used the bathroom, we could hear it too. I couldn't wait till the morning so I could check out. Breakfast was coffee/tea, juices, cereals, yogurt which was kept in a fridge. If someone didn't open it, I wouldn't even know there was yogurt !!! There were 2 different kinds of bread & mini muffins, hard boiled eggs. You could sit outside on the sidewalk. There were about 6 patio tables but birds & seagulls kept coming !!!
Anyways, I think if you had a room on the 3rd floor, you will be ok but it would be very pricey. I believe if you were willing to pay that much, you could find another place with cleaner rooms.
I will not return to or recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear hotelbum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so sorry our rooms did not meet your expectations and I regret to hear that you were unhappy with the location of your room. If you give us the opportunity in the future, we will be more than happy to change your room. We take your comments very seriously and will address all of the issues you mentioned to ensure the best possible customer experience. Thanks for choosing to stay with Lovers Point Inn.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great location!!! great price, BUT, paper thin walls; we heard footsteps above our head. Staircase was outside our room; heard everyone talking/walking up/down the steps. Basic room. extra blanket had a stain on it; had to exchange it for another.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmguam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear filmguam,

Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location, however, I regret to hear that our rooms did not meet your expectations. We are constantly working on ensuring the best guest experience and your comments mean a lot to us. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at LPI last year, so when we needed a room for our return trip this year we visited again. Both times, check in was quick and they were helpful. The room we had last year was on the second floor and was bigger than the room we had this trip, however it was just fine for a basic motel room. I've read complaints about the chairs being under the TV- just move them if you need to.

Breakfast was nice in the morning- basic, but I they do offer choices (hard boiled eggs, single serve cereals, yogurt, breads for toast, bagels, fruit). Seating is outside so bring a sweatshirt if it's cool, but the road is pretty quiet and it's nice to sit on the patio by the ocean, or bring a tray back to your room. When using the WIFI make sure you choose the LPI "guest" option rather than LPI, or the password won't work! The man checking us out in the morning was especially nice and friendly. The only complaint is the bed feels like you are sleeping on a diving board, it is hard and bouncy- though I prefer a very soft bed so maybe others are fine.

If you are looking to stay in Monterey, this is the next town over but is as close to most of the sights in Monterey as many other hotels- take the 1 mile path overlooking the ocean to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Laura,

Thanks so much for your review and it's great to hear that you continue to stay with us. We're so happy to hear that your check in was quick and our staff was helpful, I'll be sure to pass along your positive review. Thanks for choosing to stay with Lovers Point Inn and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed there on our trip to Monterey. Room was very clean and comfortable. They even let us check in early. It was across the street from the beach. It was also within walking distance of a restaurant and park. We had an upstairs room which had a partial view of the beach. The mattress in the room was one of the most comfortable I ever slept on. Would definately recommend it if you are in Monterey.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor which had a partial ocean view - was a nice room. Wish it had a DVD though.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Cathy Z,

Thanks so much for your positive review. We are constantly striving for the best guest experience and we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed our beds and would recommend us to other travelers, it means a lot to us!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews