We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but NOT like the pictures'”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean but NOT like the pictures'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The pictures of the rooms are not what we stayed in. Our room looked like it was from the 70's. The room was clean though. Biggest problem was the noise. Our room was stuffy had to leave windows open. Lots of traffic on the street and people walking by.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Kerri B,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm glad you found our rooms to be clean. We take pride in ensuring our rooms are clean and comfortable. Every room type has an accurate photo on our reservations page - you may have been looking at a different accommodation. I will look into ensuring our rooms are easily identifiable online. Thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    273
    140
    68
    38
See reviews for
165
449
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great location, but the online pics make this place look nicer than it really is. I feel like the inn management does the best they can with the place without spending extra money for a full remodel.
Pros: great location right across from the ocean & ocean walking trail. Comfy bed, bedding, pillows. Room was clean & staff was friendly. Good continental breakfast.
Cons: small rooms, tiny bathrooms. Updates to bathrooms, fixtures, carpet, some paint could make this inn a lot nicer. No a/c. We paid extra for a 3rd floor king with partial ocean view. Because of the exterior corridor, we had no privacy if we opened our drapes or windows, so not much ventilation and the ocean view was nonexistent if you want any privacy. There was some noise in the exterior corridor from other guests & road noise but it wasn't too bad.
*We had family staying on floors 1 & 2. Our 3rd floor room seemed to be a little more updated than the other floors (newer carpet, some fresh paint, and a fluffier comforter).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juxtapoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Juxtapoze,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm so glad you enjoyed our location, beds, and clean rooms. We are continuously updating and upgrading our rooms and hopefully all of our rooms will be fully upgraded soon. Thanks again for your review, comments like yours will allow us to ensure the best guest experience possible.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This location worked for us for a couple of days as we hiked all day and had dinner out late and passed out when we got to the room. It's all about the location at this motel. The Aquarium is 2 miles away not 1/2 mile away. Not really walking distance but in a pinch you could. Bikes would be fine. The park is pretty and the water is lovely. Some sketchy people in the area. The room had badly stained carpet, bed was not too comfortable. Cramped. Not a fun place to hang out but it's okay for one night. Could be more cleaner

Room Tip: asked for a quiet room and they gave me one across from the elevator, quite noisey and could here ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear CherylB64,

Thank you for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'm so glad you enjoyed our location. We will definitely look into some of the concerns you had. Comments like yours mean a lot to us and help us ensure the best guest experience. If you're in the area again, I recommend taking the recreation trail to walk to the Aquarium as it's a pretty quick walk.

Sincerely,

Thomas Watson
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Diane was great in helping us. Our reservation had a mix up and she was very accommodating to resolve the situation. This could have been a big problem but Diane came through for us. Raymond was also great in working with us. The rest of the staff was very good work with also. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to come back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the balcony ocean view room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Holly Y,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. I'll be sure to relay your positive comments to both Diane & Raymond, they'll be elated to hear you had a great experience. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We made made a choice to stay here when coming to town for our daughter's graduation. This place is centrally located with great views of the bay right across the street as well as a beautiful park across the street. ( see my pics). Monterey Aquarium & Cannery Row is a mere 1/2 mile away)Front desk staff is an assert to this company : friendly , helpful & a wealth of information about the area and in giving driving directions. Our beautiful room was ready so we were able to check in an hour early. ( try to get a 3rd room floor with balcony, the views are amazing). Nicely decorated rooms with with plantation shutters and included a microwave & small fridge in closet. They gave a nice continental breakfast on juices, coffee, assorted breads, bagels, sweet rolls, hard booked eggs, yogurt & cereals. You can enjoy it on the sunny patio out front or take it on a test up to your room to enjoy on your balcony to enjoy the view ( as we did). Check out was a snap - we pre paid so all we had to do was leave our keys on room. ( they do have an underground parking garage accessible by elevator). We enjoyed our stay so much that this will be our go to place when visiting the Monterey area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear m0welsh,

Thanks so much for your positive review of Lovers Point Inn. We're so glad you chose to stay with us for your daughter's graduation (congratulations!). We've been working really hard on ensuring the best possible guest experience and comments like yours show that we're doing a great job. We can't wait to have you back, see you soon!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Adorable little hotel/motel at the tip of lovers point! Park, beach & restaurant all across the street! Beautiful trail along the cliff takes about 10min walking into Monterey. Continental breakfast included & a cute little patio to enjoy.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvystew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear savvystew,

Thanks so much for your positive review of Lovers Point Inn. We're elated to hear that you enjoyed our location and continental breakfast. It sounds like you made great use of the recreational trail! We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is an adequate motel with a wonderful location. It stands across the street from a beautiful little park on the ocean. The park has both rocky shores and a cute little beach, but the beach area has been overly commercialized. The view of famous wind swept Monterey Cypress is available best from the park, but also from the motel. I enjoyed a third floor double queen room. All the third floor rooms seemed to have a nice view of the ocean, although it was partly blocked by another motel. They do offer "ocean view" rooms, but I'm not convince that the view is better.

The room itself was clean and decent sized. The bath/toilet area was tiny and claustrophobic. The sink was in an open area in the main room. Amenities included a large refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, and small flat screen TV. There was a small table with two chairs. Several times I drug one of the chairs out to the outside hallway to enjoy the ocean view and fresh air. There was no A/C, and this was a security problem, since the windows opened onto the outside hallway. On a warm evening you must choose between being cool or safe.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the continental breakfast was better than most. It even included boiled, shelled eggs. There is a nice restaurant across the street, in the park area. Its called "The Beach House" q.v. Street level parking was inadequate, but there was underground parking which I didn't explore.

Although I would be willing to stay here again, I would probably look around for something better first.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an "Ocean View" room without checking it first. All rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffCanlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear BiffCanlett,

Thanks for taking the time to review Lovers Point Inn. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and your stay in our third floor double queen room. I'll be sure to pass on your positive comments about our staff as well. Please come back soon, we'd love to have you again!

Sincerely,

Thomas W.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Property: Lovers Point Inn
Address: 625 Ocean View Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovers Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing