We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Le Normandie”
Review of Le Normandie - CLOSED

Le Normandie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dinner at Le Normandie”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This French cusine restaurant is located at the corner of Grand and Lighthouse Avenue and has nice window views of the victorian style shops across the street. Our local hotel made the reservation for us and we were very pleased with the reserved prime table waiting for us. I noticed that they held another table with a reservation tag for another party for a good hour, while several prospective diners without reservations were given wait times. Very dedicated management. Another restaurant in the immediate area was not as reliable with reserved seating in a past experience.

The menu was nicely varied with choices of beef, pork, chicken, duck, and scallops creations. We loved our dinners, a perfectly cooked tender roast pork tenderloin Normamdie, and the earthy Boeuf Bowiguignon. The sevice was friendly and gracious.

We felt fortunate to be there on a Friday evening when they were playing live smooth jazz music. I recall them playing the theme song from A Man and a Woman, and Moon River. The man playing live flute was friendly and took requests.The music really added to the ambiance and the dinner experience. We definitely enjoyed our total dinner experience there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
monterey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price for the big night out”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is an excellent, upper end restaurant over in Pacific Grove with a steadily changing menu. They put it on a hand written sheet daily. It's rather romantic, with live quality music at night. It's best to go during the week, as it can be hard to get in on the weekend, particularly during tourist season. I had the duck, which was perfect, well cooked but not dried out. He had lobster, which was also excellent, and served with the butter on the side, not drowning the lobster like you see sometimes. Service is just right, attentive without being pushy. Wine glass pourings are generous. If you remember any French from college, you can practice on the friendly owners. All in all, worth the $ for the big night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit of France in PG”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We had a wonderful dinner. The food and service were excellent. The music was a nice touch, but sometimes a bit loud

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic French Provencial”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

With Max's and Passionfish the best restaurants on Monterey Bay. Excellent service and delicious food. The bœuf bourguignon will make you want to leave for France immediately. Family run, great and unobtrusive live jazz on some nights. A "must do" if you come to Pacific Grove or its environs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ElParaguayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soquel, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The food is great, but the warm, friendly ambience is what brings us back. Christine makes her guests feel comfortable and at home. The French onion soup is always good, but this time I had the lobster bisque which was even better, if that's possible. And the bread is wonderful. No one here is in a hurry, so plan to spend some time and enjoy your evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Normandie also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing