We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice quiet lodgings”
Review of Olympia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olympia Lodge
FB, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice quiet lodgings”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

You are all the way out on the Peninsula, and only a couple of blocks from the ocean. It's lovely, and the rooms are generous and clean. It's very quiet, so you're not right on the Boulevard, but close to everything. The staff was warm and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisappointedDiner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    78
    61
    34
    19
See reviews for
68
99
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Olympia Lodge is an older property that has been completely refreshed. The plantation shutters on all the windows are a unique and attractive update. The upper-level rooms have sloped ceilings with exposed beams. The bathroom and television could be updated, but at least the TV has Comcast digital cable with on-screen guide and a working remote, which is more than I can say for some other hotels I stayed at during the same trip. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had a better than average variety of choices. Most rooms have a great balcony, and the location is a short walk to the ocean.

I happened to be back in PG about 10 days later for a family event (unrelated to this stay) and the whole family booked a block of rooms across the street at the Monarch Resort. While their Wi-Fi was far and away the best I've ever seen in any hotel (30 Mbps) and they had an elevator, in every other regard, the Olympia Lodge has them beat. After this opportunity for comparison, it's far more likely I'll stay at The Olympia Lodge on my next visit to PG.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have vaulted ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Olympia Lodge is a short walk to Asilomar Beach and Conference Center and a short drive to Pacific Groves' shops, restaurants & museums. Complimentary breakfast was not luxurious, but ample to get you started for the day. The people at the desk are helpful and full of information and room was clean and spacious. I would stay here again. We were with a group and had a group meeting room as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bay-Area-Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Left Coast CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Although outdated (TV, carpet, bathroom), it was clean, comfortable beds and a great winter value for a get-away! Reminded us of a ski lodge! Our initial room had no window/slider we could safely leave open at night so they pleasantly upgraded us to a balcony room. Easy walk to ocean...or into charming town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A little worn, but that made this place feel more authentic and not corporate. My stay was clean, quiet, comfortable and reasonably priced. I'd stay there again. The breakfast was minimal, but adequate, and the staff was friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony not overlooking the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I too booked a Travelzoo voucher. I stayed in 205 last year. I paid for an upgrade to 209 this year. The beds are comfortable. the rooms are nicely decorated but on a budget. Im giving this place 4 stars but it does have to do with the value and overall good experiences I've had here. It is a 4* resort and I don't think you should expect that with a $119 voucher for two nights. But it is a nice, clean room. Somewhat dated but nicely refurbished and redecorated. The bathrooms could be updated but again, youre getting more than what you are paying for. The hotel is in a nice area noit to far from the beach. The staff is helpful and polite. I recomend the hotel.

Room Tip: Both room 205 and 209 we nice and had a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Takemeanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I bought a Groupon last year, but couldn't take advantage of the special b/c everything was solidly booked. (We stayed at Wilkie's Inn instead - no comparison). So I used the paid value for a one-night stay this Christmas. I had originally booked the room for the Sunday before and called back after a week to see if there was a vacancy on Christmas. Fortunately, the ocean view room with the king-sized bed (215) was free for exactly one night. They gave us the upgrade without charging for the difference.

Calling the reservation line was a pleasure, with none of the runaround I've gotten with 3rd party reservation systems some family-owned motels use. The front desk manager on call on Christmas even thoughtfully called and left a voicemail explaining that she'd be away briefly, as we hadn't yet checked in.

The room was airy and tastefully furnished. Yes, the TV is old, but most of the programming is free. I think there was even a DVD player.

I enjoyed our stay, and would gladly go back, even without a Groupon or Travelzoo voucher.

Room Tip: 215 if it's free - at the end of the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waverlyroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#6 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#13 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#2 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Lodge

Property: Olympia Lodge
Address: 1140 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2398
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Olympia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing